We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, lacks attention to detail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown / Historic Main St

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown / Historic Main St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown / Historic Main St
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   236 Main St, Grand Junction, CO 81501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Grand Junction
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice property, lacks attention to detail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed one night in late December during a quick turnaround to Grand Junction. We normally stay near the airport but decided to give this property a try.
Although overall we had an enjoyable stay, with better attention to details it could have been much better and possibly be our hotel of choice in GJ.
Pros: modern, clean, friendly, nice location. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. We arrived late in evening and they had us up in our room quickly. The property is situated in the quaint downtown area, with shopping and restaurants in walking distance. Indoor pool, decent fitness center, and a nice lobby bar.
Cons: although we liked the modern feel of the rooms, some of it just doesn't work well..the bathrooms have the shower and commode split up but they're about 3 feet from the edge of the bed. The door to the commode area slides and is quite heavy and noisy. Doesn't make for convenient, quiet use. The bathroom towels are poor quality, and when we got into our room there had been no heat turned on. Very uncomfortable on a December night. It took quite awhile to get the room to reasonable temperature. The property also charges a daily rate for parking. In Grand Junction??
Overall, a nice property with good value. Just a little shy of really good, but with management's eye on detail, it may get there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    68
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
69
73
2
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Pro: Front desk was very friendly. We appreciated the fact that they were able to accommodate us in a room that was on the lowest floor. We have 3 small children and didn't want to bother anyone below us with all the patter patter of the children's feet. Breakfast was decent and had a good selection of choices. Con: We arrived on January 1. There were not many places in the area surrounding the hotel that were open to eat. Also, when we got our bill there were so many taxes (occupancy tax, state occupancy tax, city tax, county tax, downtown development fee) and a parking fee. It seemed a little excessive and will definitely make me think twice about staying in this area again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

When my boyfriend booked two nights for New Years I was a little bummed because I typically stay across the street at another hotel which I was always pleased with. But when I checked in at SpringHill I was blown away. It feels like a little bit of New York city in the middle of Grand Junction. Everything was bright, modern, hip and comfortable. Randy at the front desk greeted me with a giant smile and he was professional, kind and welcoming. Our room was spottless, quiet and the separate bathroom and living room areas were perfect. My boyfriend is a Marriott Elite traveler for work and stays in hotels over 150 nights a year. He LOVES SpringHill because of the ease in check in, perfect location and professional staff (especially Randy). They allowed our trained 6 month old puttpy and we were very pleased the at fee was a fair, $25 extra. I will not stay anywhere else now when in Grand Junction.
We felt at home and we even had some New Years Eve cocktails at their nice bar after dinner in town afterwards because it was such a perfect spot. The bartender was great and the mood/other customers set the right tone. Thank you.

Room Tip: They all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I've been staying here a few times a year for the last several years and the staff is always very friendly/helpful/competent. Dry cleaning is picked up at 0800 and was returned by about 1500. $5 parking fee along with "downtown development tax" are each a little ridiculous. Don't pay an extra $5 a day. There is plenty of free parking nearby.
Fridge and microwave in each room.
Breakfast is included but not really worth mentioning.
The location is great - right downtown and stumbling distance to several bars and many good places to eat. Grocery store also a block away.
This is a good place to stay when I go home to visit family and friends.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent a quick night here in December of 2012. We arrived very late and check-in was a piece of cake and the staff was prepared and friendly.
This hotel has many pros and cons that may or may not bring us back as we frequent Grand Junction often. First the pros: friendly, competent staff, modern decor, clean, decent gym, nice little bar, comfortable bed, separate commode area from shower, great desk area for working. Cons: It's the middle of winter, freezing cold and the heat was not on in our room at check-in. It was 4 am before I could feel my feet. Not sure if I've missed something in all my travel or is it common to put the flat sheet on top of the comforter? No cover over the light fixture over the bed. The sliding door to the commode area is 2 feet from the bed and VERY noisy. The towels are thin and worn. Yet, I liked this hotel.... Depending on my plans in town I would stay there again unless I need to be by the airport. There are nicer hotels in that area.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada oklahoma
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

very nice hotel, friendly staff, good selection for breakfast, nice bar, comfy beds.
this hotel on main street is a winner, walk to shopping, grocery, a short drive to sight seeing at the monument. I will be back again and again. parking is 5 bones but its secure and safe.its everything a Marriott should be. a suite with private bathroom area and great shower. I love this hotel.

Room Tip: a room looking over main street is the nicest view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Polite staff and comfortable beds. Very noisy rooms regarding hallway noise. Elevator failed; had to walk up 5 flights (not good if arthritic) There is a hidden $5 "Daily parking fee." Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown / Historic Main St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown / Historic Main St

Address: 236 Main St, Grand Junction, CO 81501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown / Historic Main St 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SpringHill Suites by Marriott®, located in Historic Downtown Grand Junction, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk, free high-speed internet access, and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool, fitness center and free WiFi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. Located within walking distance to multiple locally owned restaurants, boutiques and salons. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown / Historic Main St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown / Historic Main St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.