We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and vehicle parking close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Palomino Motel

Save Saved
You added El Palomino Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Palomino Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2400 North Avenue, Grand Junction, CO 81501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Grand Junction
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, friendly and vehicle parking close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had been on the road all icy winter day, on arrival we were pleasantly greeted and rewarded with a nice clean,comfortable, thoughtfully appointed room. Hot water is right there quick.
- Look forward to returning for summer stay. For classic car or Motorcycle ride this place is about as good as it gets where you can have your rides right out front of your room and in sight of the swimming pool that sets in middle of the horshoe shaped property,,,
-Classic nostalgia,, "the sixties" revisited in real time at El Palomino.
-I travel alot , I know first hand the good, bad and the ugly...
-Superior value here at El Palomino, which for the uninformed is a Motel, and an original solid built quality one at that, it is NOT a Hotel, thankyou very much!. If you want a Hotel ,,, go there.
-Worthy to note: Short walk to "Tequila's" for superb Mexican cuisine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    73
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
45
75
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you ever stayed in a small motel as a kid during the 60s (ok, I'm dating myself), you'll have a good idea of the layout and size of the El Palomino. We chose the motel based on other TripAdvisor reviews. The owners are redoing the property as time and $$$ allow, and our room was nicely done with both a small sofa and chair for sitting. Only downside: The bed was a bit dippy in the middle (but unless brand-new, I think king-sized beds in hotels/motels tend to do that). However, the room was clean, free from funky smells and any sign of bugs, the TV was great (large flat-screen with Dish channels), free wi-fi, and even though the property is close to a well-traveled street, it was quiet. The room also had a small microwave (which we didn't use), a compact fridge/freezer, and coffee-maker. There is a basic Continental breakfast (cereal, packaged pastries, coffee, fresh fruit--we didn't try because we had other plans). All rooms are non-smoking and no pets allowed. The owners are friendly/accommodating. The price of our stay was very reasonable--comparable to a bargain chain but much better quality. I think we'd stay here again and try a double-queen room next time. (P.S. Bring removable towel hooks like 3M Command--bath was lacking ways to hang towels, etc.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a refreshing place to stay. It was clean, roomy and the bed was very comfortable. It was worth the short drive off the freeway. It was also refreshing to see the sign saying no pets. Some of us still like don't like to share our sleeping quarters with animals.

Room Tip: I took a corner room but they all seemed very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock, Oklahoma
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The only reason I'm giving one star is because it is required. The quality matches the price. The manager is rude and facilities are not comfortable. I was am on a business trip and am worn out. i just wanted to make a hotpocket, watch some tv and get a good nights sleep. When i entered my room everything seemed fine. But after the first 15 minutes the reality was revealed. First of all the headboard fell off the wall and almost knocked me out. Then the wifi stopped working and didn't work for about an hour. i just decided to eat and take a rest, but the microwave didnt work. the manager yelled at me when I asked her to fix the malfunctioning microwave because it was almost 10pm! I just went to the taco place across the street. After i ate i went to sleep but the bed was so uncomfortable and the "heater" didnt even kick out warm air, i was freezing. to top off my stay the milk at breakfast was expired and the cereal had little bugs at the bottom of the clear containers. And don't use the ice because they leave the scoop inside the ice machine with a chain attached to it and the scoop and chain are full of mold!!!! I think that's a health code violation. I WOULD NOT recommend this motel to my worst enemy

Room Tip: Spend the extra $10 and go to Hamden on 708 horizon drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was my third time staying at the El Palomino and like the other times, a positive stay. This time around I noticed they upgraded the TV's to flat screens. And like always, a clean room at an affordable price. The owners not only manage the business but clean the rooms, your classic small family run business with pride in ownership. Many small businesses struggle to compete with corporate run facilities but this is a case where the small business has the edge. They deliver a cleaner room at a cheaper price without sacrificing amenities. And like the corporates they offer a continental breakfast. For those wanting something more there are restaurants closeby. I will be returning to Grand Junction in the Spring and my motel choice: El Palomino.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very clean! And so quaint! On the main drag in Grand Junction. Close to all sorts of stores and eateries. Plenty of parking for oversized vehicles. Wide flat screen TV, comfy beds, plenty of closet room and the shower was great! Plenty of hot water. This hotel actually circles the pool so all rooms have access to watch the activities. Lady at the front desk was super nice! I give it 10 stars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Service is great, the rooms are very clean ande confortable. Only complaint that if two share a bed expect some sagging. If you are a light sleeper this could be a problem. For the price recommend this motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Palomino Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palomino Motel

Address: 2400 North Avenue, Grand Junction, CO 81501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Palomino Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Palomino Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Palomino Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.