We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Junction Palomino Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Junction Palomino Inn to your Saves list
Grand Junction Palomino Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2400 North Avenue, Grand Junction, CO 81501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Berthoud
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value and clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

El Palomino is one of the old-style highway motels that were common in the 50's and 60's. Thankfully, the owners (a family) have done a great job of caring for the property. Our room was comfortable, nicely decorated, and clean. The only issue we had were with the neon lights outside of our window at night. The room was missing the kind of blinds that block out light. I noticed that some rooms had them and others didn't. But, we managed to sleep well after a vigorous day of exercise nonetheless. The highway in front of the hotel doesn't have a divider in the median, and you have to drive a short distance and flip around in an adjacent parking lot to get to the hotel if you are coming from the west, which wasn't a big issue for us. The pool looked sparkling clean, but we didn't have a chance to enjoy it.

I recommend this motel if you are looking for great value and a clean, quiet room.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, check the windows of your room to make sure you have light-blocking blin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    81
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
96
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I guess we were expecting a little better, given all the stellar reviews the El Palomino has gotten.

First the negatives:

1. We were expecting squeaky clean--it's clean, but not squeaky. Upon entering the bathroom, we found that the window blinds were noticeably dusty. This lead to an inspection of the bathroom window, which needed a good cleaning.
2. As others have noted, the bathroom is not set up well. At the very least, a hook to hang a towel or wash cloth would be nice.
3. Not much of a breakfast and no breakfast room. Be prepared to carry everything back to your room--a full bowl of cereal, a banana, a juice and a coffee can be a balancing act.
4. The airport shuttle only runs until 9:30 PM. We got around that by moving our flight ahead and picking up our rental car early-cost was the same, so no big deal.

The Positives:

1. THE PRICE--Our king room was under $50, including tax.
2. The bed was comfortable and passed the bedbug inspection.
3. Nice flatscreen TV and lots of channels.
4. Overall it's pretty clean--a nice older motel with updated rooms.
5. Nice website that was about $7 cheaper than Expedia

For one night it was a good deal and we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were just passing through Grand Junction on our way to Utah and I booked this motel based on tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. It was probably the surprise of our trip, great value. It doesn't look like much from the road but the rooms seemed like they had just been updated. It was very clean and comfortable. The owners were super friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Not a great part of town, near the VA hospital... but this old-style motel was clean, comfortable and cheap.. with a real reading chair in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. I was on a solo motorcycle trip and it was perfect. But had my wife been along, we'd have probably looked for something a little more upscale.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I booked this motel because of Trip Advisor reports. Driving down the road I may have never stopped in as the road appearance is a little run down, but inside it was a very nice room at a great price. They have a great TV and they just added DirecTV. As one who has stayed in pet friendly motels where it smells like pet and there is the concern of flees, I was relieved that that don't allow pets. Great clean rooms, WiFi, good price, Thanks TA!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed in many places this road trip but this has been the best find so far. What a fantastic little motel. Easy check-in (credit cards only !!) - rooms are a good size and super clean, bed is very comfy and we have a large HDTV in our room. You can park just across from your room so it is easy to load and unload. We would stay here again in a heartbeat !!!!

Room Tip: Just stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a clean and friendly motel that offers real value for money. The staff couldn't be friendlier and despite being on a main road my room was quiet. Breakfast was basic but still offered good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Junction Palomino Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Junction Palomino Inn

Address: 2400 North Avenue, Grand Junction, CO 81501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Junction Palomino Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Junction Palomino Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Junction Palomino Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.