We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naggy McGee's Irish Restaurant and Pub - CLOSED

Naggy McGee's Irish Restaurant and Pub
359 Colorado Ave., Grand Junction, CO 81501 (Formerly Naggy McGee's Irish Pub)
970-424-5840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Featuring two great outdoor patios in this Grand Junction, Colorado historical building, Naggy McGee's is the place to go for great food, great friends and great atmosphere! Classic Irish & American favorites, 14 beers on tap, TV's for sports fans and a cozy dining room for a nice business lunch. Come as you are and enjoy some Irish hospitality!
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Really this review is a C-. It's been a long.....time since we visited Naggy's and with good reason. In spite of management/ownership changes which have improved things, sadly this potentially great venue misses the mark. We went yesterday for happy hour and ordered one appetizer to share. We had the smoked salmon and while the salmon was generous, the presentation totally failed. One of our pet peeves is when you get an appy that cannot support its mission. In this case, we had 3 tiny pieces of pre-toasted cold (SYSCO?) bread, Hardly enough onions/capers to support even those tiny morsels and a mountain of lettuce fluff which would have been better presented on a huge leaf. In addition, we had a waiter in training that didn't get that when one shares a plate, maybe separate smaller plates are in order. He spent a lot of time checking his phone + kibitzing with the bartender. We had to ask for extra tiny bread which when delivered what 2X+ original plating??? The bar patrons resembled a depressed Cheers crowd. Had not my wife won a gift card from a local radio station we would not have even considered. While we totally like the concept, It will be a long........time before we try Naggy's again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Scotch Eggs were wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A block off main, great pub atmosphere. Good Irish beer. Definitely need to try the Scotch Eggs. Really enjoyed the Shepards Pie.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Food was average at best. Beer is warm and the food was average but the prices were top dollar. The service was great and our drinks were always full.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This used to be one of our top 2 favorite restaurants - but no more. It was sold last winter and the new owner "updated" the menu by removing most of the traditional Irish dishes. We went there the week after reopening - no more homemade beef stew & soda bread, chicken potpie, real made-on-premesis corned beef for the reuben sandwiches & corned beef/cabbage. All I saw on the menu that was Irish was the bangers & mash, and the scotch eggs. And - my husband ordered the bangers & mash, very cold upon arriving. The homemade chips tasted stale. We made our feelings known to the server, and the owner/manager. Both of them said they had heard quite a few negative comments about the changes, and might be bringing some of the Irish dishes back.
If we want regular "fern bar" food, we can go to any one of the regular after-work places in town. We'll check in a few weeks & if they have heard us, we will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Good food, good with the kids. Have crayons, coloring pages etc. Waiters are friendly and attentive with one glitch. Service was good but when my wife's French fries came out cold, we asked for more. Those were forgotten. My son ordered Guacamole and chips, and that was also never brought. Benjamin was attentive and friendly. Restaurant is a bit dark inside for families. Our seat was in the back, near the entrance to the kitchen, so lots of traffic by the table and it was dark....otherwise good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naggy McGee's Irish Restaurant and Pub also viewed

Grand Junction, CO
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naggy McGee's Irish Restaurant and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.