We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See how a real life Colorado fruit ranch operated 100 years ago!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Orchards Historic Site

Cross Orchards Historic Site
3073 F Road, Grand Junction, CO 81504
970 434 9814
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This restored turn of the century village where a thriving apple packing business once existed is now a historical site with docents dressed in period clothes who describe life at that time.
Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“See how a real life Colorado fruit ranch operated 100 years ago!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Cross Orchards Living History Farm is like a slice of sweet apple pie! It is a wonderful educational, agricultural, historical and cultural treasure of the Grand Valley! Mark this site as one of your destination "must see's" whether you are a tourist or a local. It's a unique place to rent for your office party, fundraising event, birthday or wedding. They are also the site for many special events for the Museum of Western Colorado.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palisade, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go back in time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Fun and educational, like visiting a real working farm from many years ago. Knowledgeable and friendly docents, beautiful site, enjoyable activities makes it a great family outing.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great historical museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We came to Cross Orchards on a day when, unfortunately, they weren't open for tours. But it was still reallly fun. They were kind enough to let us tour the grounds on our own and there was enough information to get a good idea of how things were done. They opened up the Uintah railroad cars for us and my kids had a blast climbing all around inside the caboose. They also really liked the old machines that were in the barn - they had fun guessing what they were used for before we told them. I really, really wish that we had time to come back for a proper tour, but unfortunately we didn't. But the next time we're in GJ, we're definitely stopping here again. Even without a real tour it was fun and informative and a great look into the past. We also bought some apple butter that they make right there at the orchard and it's really good!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“worth a visit and a return and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

great family place to visit ... great events and experiences to be had .... hope it stays around a long long time

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Amazing experience. The thing I remember most was picking fresh apples and juicing them with a juicer to make apple juice. It was the best apple juice i've ever had in my life!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Orchards Historic Site also viewed

Grand Junction, CO
Grand Junction, CO
 

Been to Cross Orchards Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Orchards Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.