We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Camp or Glamp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snow Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snow Mountain Ranch
Save
You added Snow Mountain Ranch to your Saves list
1101 County Road 53, Granby, CO 80446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Granby
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Place to Camp or Glamp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went on a 'camping' trip here with 10 other families. We were the only ones who choose to stay in a lodge. We had an accessible lodge room in Indian Peaks for two nights. Thank goodness because all the other campers ended up both nights hanging out with us up here due to the rain.

Simply put, this is just a great place to have a family reunion or friends camping trip. Staff is so friendly and accommodating and there is so much for kids to do. It's just one of those places you will return to year after year.

That said, this is camping, not the Ritz. Beds and lodge rooms are comfortable but the rooms do have indoor/outdoor carpeting. Just know what you are going into and you will completely enjoy. The rooms have small fridges and the lobby common rooms are great for hanging out at night and they have fresh coffee in the morning. For 'camping', I'll take Indian Peaks any day!

Wheelchair access is pretty easy in most parts of the campgrounds but this place is HUGE and you need to plan a vehicle just to get around the campgrounds. Most of the roads are dirt so wheeling after the usual summer afternoon rain storm is muddy and a little sticky.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    68
    20
    10
    10
See reviews for
139
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you have ever wanted to experience a night (or more) in a yurt - this is your place! The yurts at Snow Mountain Ranch are pretty much brand new. They are made by the Colorado Yurt Company and are very sturdy and actually quite luxurious when it comes to yurts! The floors are hardwood, the full size bed is very comfy (Denver Mattress), the interior is extremely spacious for a group of 2 to 4 people, and the bath house is extremely nice. You will find a small refrigerator and microwave in the yurt along with many electrical outlets and excellent interior lighting. Since we stayed in August, bedding was provided and waiting in the yurt for us upon our arrival. Bedding included sheets for all beds, a heavy blanket for each bed, pillows and pillowcases. Wood was provided near the bathhouse for the fire pit located near the yurt (each yurt has their own fire pit). There was also a picnic table, tent pad (in case you have a lot of people), charcoal grill, and plastic chairs for use inside or outside of the yurt. The fire pit was also very nice with permanent log benches around the pit. We really enjoyed our stay and wish that we could have stayed longer. It was chilly at night -- we used more than just one blanket! The bathhouse had 5 or 6 individual bathrooms which were accessed by a key card which was hanging inside of the yurt upon arrival -- the bathhouse was probably 50 feet slightly uphill from our yurt. Each individual bathroom has a toilet in a stall, a sink, a tub/shower combo and a baby changing station. Really nice facilities! Supposedly there was a washer/dryer and deep sink in the bathhouse as well - although I never scoped it out. I really recommend staying here if you are curious about yurt living and can rough it just a bit. This is definitely not camping -- more like glamping!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Black Bear Yurt - but all of them were the same - only difference would be the loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in Silver Sage Lodge. We all loved our stay here. Not everyone will enjoy it though. It was not fancy or new, but it was peaceful and in a beautiful location. The building was a little older and no one could sneak up on you with the squeaks in the floor, but we had 2 bunk beds for the kids and a queen bed for us. Although we were expected camp comfort level for the beds, we were very pleased with the beds. We all thought they were comfortable. We also had a nice table and 2 chairs in the room.
There were plenty of towels for everyone. We have had problems with other hotels only put 3 towels in a room for 4 people.
Again, we were worried about Internet here, but we had faster and more reliable Internet connectivity (wireless of course) here than most of our other hotel stays this trip.
Everyone we met working there was super friendly and helpful. They have a long list of both free and lost cost activities as well. I wish we had more time to stay and explore.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, or are having a hard time adjusting to being at 8,000 ft above sea lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I have very different ideas about "camping". He likes to tent camp out away from everyone and everything. I prefer the luxury of being able to access a toilet without hauling a flashlight, a gun, a shovel and a roll of TP with me after sunset. When he told me to find a campsite where we could take our seldom used pop-up camper for a few days, I figured I'd have a rough time finding anything that would meet his approval. Lucky for me a friend suggested Snow Mt. Ranch at the YMCA of the Rockies. The campsites are large, so you don't feel like you are in a parking lot. We were there from Sunday afternoon through Tues (after the weekend crowds) and I believe there were only 3 other campers in the campground that had been filled over the weekend. The views are beautiful and the site is very well maintained with flowers and wood chip trails. The friendly and informative staff provide a large range of activities that are either free or very affordable. My 7 year old daughter really enjoyed the crafts and hiking to the waterfall. My 10 year old son's favorite activity was zooming down the zip line and climbing the "aqua wall" in the indoor swimming pool. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. My husband was so impressed that he wants to go back next weekend! This is amazing find for a family that's not easy to please.

Room Tip: We stayed in Hopi Campground C which provides electrical hook ups only. Didn't even need a wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was the photographer for a nephew's wedding. With the Rockies as a backdrop for their outdoor wedding, I got some great photos of their happy moment. Wish I had time to take advantage of the many things you can do at the ranch. My grandson (actually my son-in-law) played putt putt golf and went swimming in the pool. We all went on the hay ride and breakfast. We could easily have spent another week on top of the four days we spent there.

Hope to volunteer there and at Estes Park Center when we retire in the next year or so.

Room Tip: Rooms at the lodges includes meals at the cafeteria. Cabins don't include meals but they have k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We went there for a wedding in August. It was gorgeous!!! Very rustic and relaxed, the exact setting the bride and groom were looking for. The room was huge as the Indian Peaks Lodge really is meant for large families or groups (sleeps 6). For us, the balcony was worth the extra money. You get exactly what you think you are going to get in this remote setting. Beautiful landscape, lots of activities to do, and for the most part, comfy beds. I would go back again and stay longer so we could do the zip-line and biking. Tennis and 24 hour mini golf was awesome. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, Texas, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

As part of a week in Colorado, we stayed at SMR in June, staying for 3 nights, so we had only 2 days to do activities. We should have allowed at least 3 days to get all the activities that we wanted. Some of the activities were already filled up for the two days. I recommend going to the activity reservation center to sign up for scheduled activities as soon as you can. Then in your free time, plan to do things like fishing, the craft shop, the swimming pool, and many others. There were a few activities that we could not do at all during our two days because a group had reserved the Kiva. The website says the Kiva may be reserved by groups, but we didn't expect that would be true for consecutive days. You would think that on those days that they could allow a couple of hours that it is open to the public, but they don't. When making your reservation, ask if there is anything that will not be available to you. There are a few programs that take place only on certain days of the week, as shown on the online schedule.

We stayed at the Indian Peaks Lodge, after reading recommendations here. It is pretty basic, but if all you want is a place to spend your evenings and nights and don't need much luxury, it works fine. The scheduled activities end fairly early in the evening, so you might spend evenings in your room. There are no TVs in the rooms but there is a common area with a TV. Each room has a balcony or patio facing the back of the building. There is some noise in the evening, with everyone's balcony facing the same direction, and kids playing outside. Keep this in mind if you crave peace and quiet. There is a sign in the hallways that there are certain hours overnight that "quiet time" is enforced. Our floor creaked very loudly in the sink/closet area heading to the toilet/shower area, I'm guessing from snow tracked in during the winter over the years, so if you are a very light sleeper and have roommates who will get up during the night, you might be concerned about this.

We had a room with 2 queen beds and a sofabed. My 5-foot-tall 12-year-old could not sleep on the sofabed because it was so uncomfortable, and could not sleep on it as a sofa because it was too short. A small child might be able to sleep on it. We had brought a twin airbed along just in case, and there was plenty of room on the floor for it. My 12-year-old and my teenager have trouble sharing a bed without one of them kicking, so we try to find rooms with 3 beds and always bring along an airbed in case a sofabed is too uncomfortable!

I highly recommend this resort, and we will probably return. Next time, we would bring a fish hook remover (it's a catch and release lake but the a couple of the fish we caught swallowed the hook too far for us to get it out, and they died after we threw them back, which was sad since this was my kids' first experience at fishing). We would also bring bike locks (we wanted to rent bikes for the evening, but that would be an overnight rental and there was no secure place to store the bikes at the lodge). The combination bike shop and fishing shop didn't have either of these items.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snow Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Mountain Ranch

Address: 1101 County Road 53, Granby, CO 80446
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Granby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Snow Mountain Ranch is Colorado’s affordable family resort & conference center. Enjoy 8,000 acres of activities, hikes, history and a wide variety of lodging options including cabins and lodge rooms. Meals available on site. Enjoy many free activities including an indoor pool, family programs, fishing, hiking, disc golf, mini-golf and much more. During the winter, enjoy our Winter Fun Park with XC skiing, snowshoeing, an ice skating pavilion and sledding/tubing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snow Mountain Ranch Hotel Granby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow Mountain Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.