We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mountainside at Silver Creek

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mountainside at Silver Creek
Save
You added The Mountainside at Silver Creek to your Saves list
PO Box 4222, Granby, CO 80446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Granby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
new england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent February vacation at the Mountainside. It was a great condo. It was our first time to Colorado and we couldn't have asked for a better vacation. Our family of 4 and my mom came out to ski. Sol Vista was a great ski area and a great place to begin. We drove to Steamboat Springs (about 1hr 45 min) for an overnight and also skied at Winter Park. The condo was well equipped and the staff at the Mountainside was very helpful. Even to the point of informing us and helping us get discounts at the various ski areas. Everything you need is close by. Knowing we wanted to explore around the area, the Mountainside was a great hub.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luling, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit for one week. There was a hot tub in the room which we enjoyed immensely. The view from our livingroom window was spectacular. I stared out at the valley and the far away mountains for hours. The condo itself was very nicely arranged. We were in one of the renovated ones. There is a full sized kitchen. Plus a nice sized table to eat at. There was a queen bed, a sleeper soafa, and a man and a half sleeper chair. The bed in the bedroom was comfortable. The bathroom was dirty when we got there, several hairs in the bathtub. I had bought bleach wipes on our way into town so I just cleaned it myself. There are lots of steps and stairs so if you have difficulty climbing stairs, you should not stay here. But over all, with the view and the hot tub if you are not looking for much else and can climb stairs, worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We had a great time at Mountainside! We had TWO 2-bedroom units for 11 people (mid-aged adults, young adult, college kids and even little ones)...1 unit was an RCI exchange, and the other we rented. Both were warm and cozy! They nicely decorated and equipped...we managed a big Thanksgiving dinner for everyone easily!!! The negative comment below could only have been made by someone who would not be happy no matter what...the office staff was extremely helpful and responded immediately to our request to add an extra day, and one question regarding internet connection (we did loose wireless signal sometimes...afterall, we are in the Rocky mountains...but that was easily fixed within minutes by refreshing the screen!). The fullsize hot tub was in the master bedroom which was different, (room was large to easily accommodate it) but was nice that because it was private and you didnt even have to go outside! It is within easy driving distance (we even had a blowing snow storm) of lots of activities, but not in the middle of a big commercial area. We went skiing, hiked in the Rocky Mountain National Park, went sledding right outside the door, took the kids to the lazy river and waterslide at the inside pool at the Fraser rec center, and even went dogsledding - everyone had a BLAST! Our one wish was that we had MORE time here!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We spent a week at The Mountainside as part of a 19-person family reunion. Our group had four 1-bedroom units (for the adult cousins and school-age through teenage second cousins) and one 2-bedroom unit (for the two sets of grandparents) and it worked out perfectly! Each of our 1-bedroom units had a queen in the bedroom, a queen sleeper sofa in the living room, and a twin sleeper sofa in the sitting area near the dining room.kitchen. The units are very spacious and beautifully decorated and updated with cozy, high-end ski lodge feel. We loved having a hot tub right in our unit and the views of the mountains were breathtaking!

The only reason I cannot give The Mountainside a 5 star rating is because the resort staff were not very knowledgeable, helpful, or available when we needed guidance or information about the resort or the activities in the area. We had questions about the local rodeo, the golf course at the resort, etc and when we called the office we either reached the answering service, got no answer at all, or reached a staff member who did not have answers to our questions.

Overall, this is a fantastic facility and your family will be very pleased with the quality of the accomodations. Just be sure to do your research about the area activities ahead of time!

Room Tip: request a mountain view unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My extended family and I have been to this resort every year for the past 5 years. We stay in a larger unit, it has the hot tub, and 2 bedroom/3 bath and loft area and fits us all (we'll have between 8-10 people there). We like it because we can ski right out onto the slope: this ski resort is a great place for beginner skiers, and the slopes are never crowded. (it is also very close to Winter Park, so the more experienced skiers can go there for the day).
We have always found the rooms to be clean and the staff friendly. If you're looking for no frills but all the necessities and easy access onto a great beginner ski slope, this is the place!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We traded points on RCI (timeshare) to stay here. We chose this location based on its alleged remodeled units and wireless high speed internet access. The internet access lasted about 1 hour for 2 of the 7 days we stayed. We complained at least twice a day to people who claimed to have no control over the situation because they outsourced the internet service and maintenance. The 24 hour technical support received a minimum of 2 phone calls from us per day and all we were ever able to do was leave a message. Once the property manager, Shelly, fixed the problem and even came to our unit but of course access was lost in an hour or so. I think they may have put new flooring in the units. Otherwise, I could not see where this place put the remodeling budget. There was a hug jacuzzi in the master bedroom which would have been acceptable except the jacuzzi was literally a foot away from the bed. It was weird. Overall, if you want to come here, plan to bring something to do. You are away from civilization. Shelly said, "If your life depends on [the internet] you can go to McDonalds." Yes, there is a McDonalds with wifi down the road and also a very well stocked and reasonably priced City Market (Kroger). If you need to work while you're here or you have people who like to have some connection to the outside world, you are best advised to look elsewhere. Also, don't make anyone sleep on the sofa beds, they are terribly uncomfortable.

My tip to Mountainside is to get your act together and be honest about your amenities and facilities. Do not raise expectations and then tell your employees to point fingers elsewhere. It makes them feel incompetent and leads to an unpleasant experience.

On the upside, the Rocky Mountains do not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Well, after reading a few of the more negative reviews, we went with a healthy skepticism. But I must say, we were pleasantly surprised! My husband and I spent two full days skiing powder right there at the SolVista Basin!
The room was a renovated room and was great! It's literally like having your own apartment for the week. If I just had to complain, the ONLY two things I would have to say are, 1) be careful on the stairs! No elevator and can be slippery, and 2) the place would be perfect with a much better mattress on a king-sized bed :-)
Overall, great experience! And don't miss the Seven Trails Grill at SolVista Basin - have fun!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mountainside at Silver Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountainside at Silver Creek

Address: PO Box 4222, Granby, CO 80446
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Granby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 340
Also Known As:
The Mountainside At Silver Creek Hotel Granby
Mountainside Silver Creek
Silver Creek Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mountainside at Silver Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.