We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Guest Ranch
Save
You added Shadow Mountain Guest Ranch to your Saves list
5043 Highway 125, Granby, CO 80446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Granby
Westminster, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have lived in Denver for the last 22 years and frequently visit the mountains 1-2 hours from Denver. Always trying new places. This is by far my favorite. The setting is beautiful, close to Winter Park and Grand Lake. The owner Jim adds to the charm. I feel as though I am at my favorite Uncles home. He makes a delicious breakfast in the main house. The cabins are clean, charming and decorated in a theme. Perfect for family reunions. Shopping, golf, fly fishing and boating all near by. The fire that Jim makes at nice is just perfect for ending the day with family. Our nieces and nephews enjoyed the swing set on the property. I loved the common room with 60 inch television and decorated in Christmas theme.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here after touring the west side of Rocky Mountain National Park. These cabins are truly meant for those willing to self-cater, but if you're the independent type, they are perfect!

ROOM: We stayed in Grandma's Cabin, which was more than enough space for two. The cabin has a king size bed, a loft with mattress for two (just a mattress on the floor, not a full bed), and a futon that could also fit two kids or smaller adults. There's not a lot of privacy between sleeping spaces, so keep that in mind if you're sharing the cabin with someone you're not close with.

The cabin also included a small but full kitchen with refrigerator, oven, microwave, coffeemaker, and a decent assortment of cookware, serving dishes, and utensils. It wasn't a complete set of pots and pans, but there was definitely enough that you'd be able to find a substitution for any basic cooking. No food was included, with the exception of salt and pepper, so stop at the grocery store before you arrive (the closest one we saw was a Safeway 15 minutes away).

The deck out back had a picnic table, propane grill (propane included), and two wooden chairs.

The bathroom was perfect and included basic toiletries. You'll want to bring your own if you're staying long or have 6 people in and out, since I'm not sure they're replaced daily. This is definitely more of a vacation rental than a hotel. No bathtub, but a pretty big shower.

The living room was cozy and also had a dining table with seating for four. It looked like there was a leaf to the table to expand it for larger parties, though we didn't experiment since there were only two of us. The fireplace was great for a chilly evening, and there was stocked firewood ready to go. Everything was thought of, with matches nearby and even some starting kindling. There is a small (13 inch?) TV and DVD player, and a large library of DVDs to borrow in the main building. There's also a large flat-screen in the main building you are free to use and an assortment of board games to play there or take back to your cabin.

All the furniture and woodwork throughout our cabin was handmade, a nice touch.

REST: The bed was comfortable and we slept soundly. It's quiet with no traffic noise. The cabins were practically deserted during our visit, but the cabins are solid construction so I wouldn't expect noise from your neighbors.

CLEANLINESS: We have no complaints - our room was spotless!

SERVICE: Jim is a friendly guy, willing to sit down and chat with you over a drink when you check in. He really went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay.

LOCATION: You're simultaneously out in the middle of nowhere and close enough to attractions to have a good time; it's the perfect combination. It's about a 30-minute drive to the west entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park or the ski areas in Sol Vista / Winter Park. It's close to Shadow Mountain Lake as well as areas for fishing or hunting. However, there's not really "town" anywhere nearby. Granby is small, with a few small cafes, a grocery store, a gas station, and not much else from our quick look around. If you like the outdoors, stargazing, and a place to get away, you'll be all set.

PARKING: Parking is free in a gravel parking lot.

BREAKFAST: Jim may be friendly, but he's not an early riser. Complimentary breakfast is served 5 mornings a night, at 9am. We didn't stick around to try it, since we were up early and found it easier to fend for ourselves. In a cabin, it's easy enough to prepare your own morning meal if needed.

WI-FI: There is a wi-fi connection in the main building, but not the cabins. We didn't try it.

BOTTOM LINE: I can't say this is an area we'll return to often, but we did really enjoy the west side of the national park and would enjoy hiking there again. Snowmobiling down toward Winter Park also seemed popular and would be a draw! If we return, we'd definitely stay at Shadow Mountain Ranch again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The perfect get away. Love and care has been put into this delightful ranch. Our host,Jim, has created peaceful bliss. The cabins are well cared for with attention to detail. Exceptionally clean, in a perfect mountain setting. The common room has Christmas 365 days, and features a huge big screen. The dinning table is beautifully polished and will accommodate room for all guests. The breakfast is splendid. The sound of the river and the birds chirping is very peaceful. This ranch is created for all, it includes a huge fire pit for socializing, hammocks, a play ground set under the pine trees for children and a out door hot tub. It is pet friendly, and I love Lucy, Jims best gal pet pal. Jim and Laura

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We had a great time!! The staff was so kind and laid back and the property itself was beautiful and very well kept. This location is great because it is less than 30 minutes from Lake Granby, Shadown Mtn, etc but out of the way of the hustle and bustle of the more touristy areas. Great staff! Great place! Great time!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadow Mountain Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Guest Ranch

Address: 5043 Highway 125, Granby, CO 80446
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Granby
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Guest Ranch boasts 7 Rocky Mountain guest cabins on 40 rustic acres. The Main Lodge is complete with a large living room, 16-seat dining room, outdoor spa, and fire ring. In addition, the Trading Post is a building on the North end of the property near Willow Creek, reserved for events such as family reunions, private parties and weddings. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.