We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect blend of summer camp and family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of C Lazy U Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
C Lazy U Ranch
Save
You added C Lazy U Ranch to your Saves list
3640 Colorado Hwy 125, Granby, CO 80446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Granby B&B and Inns
San Juan Capistrano, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect blend of summer camp and family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We just returned from our third visit to C Lazy U and we had a wonderful time. This is without a doubt my two girls favorite vacation spot.

Accommodations: Comfortable and homey. Loved the warmed tile floors in the bathroom. The rooms are stocked daily with munchies for after-ride hunger pangs.

Atmosphere: The ranch is done in the "old West" style so no phones or TVs in the room. Many families return to the ranch, including us. It was nice to meet with families went had met on previous trips, but we met many new families as well. Dinner attire is dressier than riding clothes, but nowhere near coat and tie. No need to bring high heels, but they aren't out of place if you like to dress for dinner.

Programs: My kids love the kids programs. This was the first year for my 13-yr-old to be in the teen program. The ranch does a great job of having additional activities for this active age - white water rafting, go karts, and campouts were well received. The younger play capture the flag, find the counselor and do skits for the talent show. My kids love the time with their new friends. The kids go on two rides each day with some downtime after lunch to recoup. On our first trip we wondered if we would have enough time with the girls, but there's plenty of time after the afternoon ride to swim in the pool, do archery, trap shooting, ropes course or go fishing in the stocked pond. You can also opt out of rides. Do as much or as little as you like. The Shodeo at the end of the week is a great way for the kids, and adults, to show off their new riding skills.

For the adults, two rides are offered daily. You can choose from, slow scenic, instructional, medium or fast rides depending on your skills and preferences. The scenery and terrain around the ranch are wonderful. You can also ride in the indoor arena if you just want to brush up on your riding skills in a more controlled environment. The ranch offers cattle pushing clinics - a total hoot.

Service: Connie, Paul, Bill, et al. do a spectacular job. Bill Fisher, the head wrangler, works hard to pair the right horse and rider. The staff is friendly. The kids loved all of their counselors. One of them was a college student who was a guest himself when he was a kid. The wranglers were knowledgable and competent. My daughters have been riding since they were little and Jaime, the head of kids programs, made sure they were on horses that matched their abilities.

A few times we had a special request with respect to a ride and Bill and Jamie did their best to accommodate us.

Food: Easy to gain weight on this trip! Breakfast is family style in the lodge. Lunches are on the patio with a salad bar, 2 entrees, multiple sides, house-made soup and dessert. The ice cream bar opens at 4 for scoops and shakes. Dinner is in the lodge or at the patio house. Wine pairing are always offered. The ranch features locally grown meats and produce. Meals are tasty and served family style - with plenty for seconds or thirds. Desserts are tasty.

Overall, this is a wonderful place for families. It's the perfect blend of summer camp (with horses!) and a family vacation. There's lots of family time as well as time to spend as a couple. Hang out with other families or just by yourselves. You can be we'll be back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Andrea P,

Thank you for your continued enthusiasm and support of the Ranch! We very much appreciate your feedback, and look forward to creating more memories with you and your family next year!

Best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    0
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
80
7
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, La
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wow !!! My first "Dude Ranch Experience." Now don't you skeptics wonder about me; I'm no tenderfoot. I've been everywhere too.
C Lazy U was truly one of the best family vacations EVER !
My wife and I, together with our two children, their spouses and four grand children( ages 2.5 years through 19years ) had a wonderful time. We knew ahead of time that the 2 year old would need extra help which we were prepared to handle since the organized activities begin at age 3 years.
There is something for every age group with the feeling of a true Western Ranch experience.
If you want a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons experience you are thinking dull. C Lazy U has been around since 1919. Some of the cabins are weathered, but each one is being systematically renovated. We slept well, and enjoyed our fireplace on cool mornings with fresh coffee. This place has all the comforts anyone would desire, however, you must remember it's a Ranch; a little dust in the air and real horses, donkey's, cattle, hay baling, and chipmunks. Also, an occasional Moose,or Deer on the trail. We also saw Bald Eagles, ducks, geese, and white pelicans soaring.
The staff was wonderful and did anything to please. If you are new to horseback riding never fear; the wranglers will teach you how to become one with your horse.
The food was gourmet, thanks to outstanding chefs. If you couldn't find food or beverage to fit your taste and dietary requirements you must be alien.
We enjoyed every activity C Lazy U had to offer, but at a pace that was never rushed. The timing of each days activities was perfect, whether horseback riding or fishing, white water rafting or hiking, archery or trap shooting. There was plenty of time to enjoy the activity of choice followed by a great mealtime and then plenty of time to relax until your next activity or no activity if you preferred. The pool and large hot pool/spa were relaxing for many. Bonfires at night were toasty for the chilled night air. We met many nice guests and their families from many different places.
Like Tony the Tiger says, "They're Great" at C Lazy U !!!
We definitely can't wait to return.
Tommy H.

Room Tip: If occasional early morning service truck noise bothers you, or you are a light sleeper, request a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Tommy H.,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent vacation at C Lazy U. We enjoyed having you and your family stay with us, and are glad you enjoyed all the activities we offer, while still indulging in a bit of relaxation! Looking forward to having you all back again soon!

Best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place is run down and does not deserve the 5 star rating. In fact, i'm sure i read on their site that they are now a self-rated 5 star due to not having televisions. I didn't miss TV as I don't watch much of it anyway. I'm convinced that C Lazy U's 5 star rating was taken away not because of the lack of TV but because it's simply run down and no longer a luxury ranch.

Rooms are dated, beds uncomfortable, facilities tired and worn out.

Scenery is nice but nothing special.

I was disappointed because at 5 star prices I received a 3 star experience. There are better ranches to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear TravelBunnySecret,

Thank you for your, and your husband, ‘evidentlydaniel’s, prior review. While I addressed many of your concerns in response to your husband’s review, I am happy to respond to those you’ve detailed. C Lazy U is one of Colorado’s original guest ranches, and as such, we provide our guests with an authentic experience that marries the luxuries of today with the history and traditions of the American West. As such, we continually renovate and update our property to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay (all rooms have new Simmons Beautyrest Beverly Hills Black Edition mattresses, new linens, updated décor, Molton + Brown bath products, iHome docking stations, etc.), but at the same time, work to maintain the aspects of our property which provide an authentic experience: We offer our guests ‘Five-Spur’ service – a term that encompasses modern amenities with the feel of a dude ranch – and by no means market ourselves as something other than that.

In regard to your questions about our Five Star rating, we did not have it taken away; in fact, over the course of our history, C Lazy U was the only guest ranch in North America to attain both the celebrated Five-Diamond and Five-Star ratings. As our website explains, we proactively elected to not be rated, as we did not want to incorporate certain commercial aspects that we felt went against the western, family atmosphere we strive to maintain, such as in-room televisions, phones, paved roads throughout the property, keyless entry, etc. That said, we continue to receive top awards for service and facilities from unbiased third parties, including top luxury travel editors (both in the U.S. and Europe) such as Conde Nast Traveler UK, Fodors, Financial Times, and many others.

As always, thank you for your review.

Best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Contrary to the previous review, we had a fabulous vacation during the same week (and in an adjacent room) at C Lazy U. Under the attentive direction of managers Dale and Connie, each and every staff member we met went out of their way to ensure to anticipate and meet our needs, whether serving dinner, choosing horses, riding trails, entertaining children/teens or suggesting mountain biking trails. The staff were all enthusiastic, friendly, warm and professional. The food was excellent, fresh and plentiful. The lunchtime soups were fabulous.

Bill and all the wranglers worked hard to ensure that everyone had fantastic trail rides twice a day. They truly cared about the details that would make each person's experience memorable and fun. If the saddle or horse is not a perfect match for you, they make a rapid exchange. Bill cares about everyone having a terrific ride. Varied terrain makes trail riding exciting and interesting. The horses were beautifully trained and fully capable of climbing ridge trails and loping through the meadows.

The ranch is in the process of being upgraded by the new owners, and the renovation of the rooms is nearly complete. I stayed in a renovated room identical to that of "Evidently Daniel". The pillow-top beds were superbly comfortable. I agree--the ranch should replace the uncomfortable foam pillows. There is electric heating and a thermostat in every room, as well as a working fireplace. Not sure how my neighbors missed that detail.

The Rocky Mountain setting is spectacular. Yes, beetles have decimated lodge pole pines all over the West. But there is so much more: the broad valley and mountains vistas, the night sky filled with stars, the myriad of wildflower meadows, the aspen groves with leaves fluttering in the wind, the aroma of sagebrush, the burbling creek, the grazing moose and deer, the rush of the wind as you lope across the meadows.

To finish your vacation properly, book a post-ride massage in the tented spa along the river. Follow that by a long, hot soak in a copper tub with the tent flap open to the broad valley view. After that decadent and relaxing finish, you eagerly will anticipate an imminent return.

Room Tip: Request a renovated cabin. Some have balconies with rockers and swings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear BurtonBlue,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of C lazy U – we are happy to hear that you found the Ranch to be luxurious, welcoming, comfortable and scenic. We will see what we can do about the pillows you found to be uncomfortable! We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The experience my family had was nothing short of the best! The Colorado rocky mountains are by far one of the best in North America. C Lazy U bent over backwards to make the experience perfect for EVERY member of our group. Being in the heart of a rough terrain, C Lazy U is the antithesis of the rocks themselves. The wranglers assured safety! Would I go again....NO DOUBT! In fact, I'd live there if my work could be done from Ganby, Colorado. Any negative reviews must be from those individuals that do not appreciate western United States. If you want a fun, exciting, and unique family focused vacation.....go no further than C Lazy U!!! We will return.

Room Tip: If u have kids under the age of 10, the Ridge cabin is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear ThomasHansbrough,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent vacation at C Lazy U. We enjoyed having you and your family stay with us (and if you can find a way to make it work with your job, would be happy to have you as a permanent guest!). Looking forward to having you all back again soon!

Best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed at C Lazy U late July into early August 2012 with our 3 children - all we can say is that it ranks as the best family vacation we have ever taken together! Beat Disney, cruises, and a Caribbean all-inclusive family resort when our family 'voted'. The amazing scenery encompasses you on arrival and any anxieties or concerns you may have about the week are immediately eased by the friendly faces and great attitudes of the experienced and passionate staff. We were not at all experienced horseback riders, but with the expert care of the wonderful wranglers and amazingly well-trained and cared for horses, we all had a fabulous time on the rides. The kids program was great - I think the "supervised/structured independence" for the 'Mustangs' (6-12) and teens (13-18) was perfect for our kids. Add in the nightly activities for them - "wild west" theater, talent show, carnival, "showdeo" - and they were ready for bed! Everyone felt as if they had not only vacationed, but accomplished something when the trip was done - riding, rafting, shooting, ropes climbing, fishing - all great experiences. Meals were excellent and great selection of beer/wines/spirits available, and the midweek visit with the sommelier was really fun! Making friends at the morning cowboy coffee, meals, and while riding was a delight - some individuals and families have been coming to the ranch annually for nearly 50 years (!) - and hearing the history of the ranch from them and the staff added to the depth of the experience. Additionally, the owners of the ranch make a point of mingling with the guests on multiple nights - they are gracious and clearly care about maintaining the high quality of the experience for everyone there. Accommodations were at the level of quality we expected and the fresh towels several times daily were needed after a hard day of riding! My wife enjoyed the spa massage services enormously as well.

Don, Connie, Bill, and all of the rest of the great management team and staff at the C Lazy U - thank you very much for a great week and wonderful memories!

Doug and Tiffany H. - Oklahoma City, OK

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Doug and Tiffany,

Thank you for your extremely kind review of the Ranch. We very much enjoyed having your family stay with us, and can’t wait to have you back again next year!
Best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

As Denver residents, we have typically visited the more common getaways of our state like Vail, the Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs and occassionally even the Brown Palace in downtown Denver. What a surprise it was to find the perfect 5 star experience only 2 hours from our doorstep in Granby Colorado. The sheer majesty of the setting is like nothing you will experience anywhere in the world...and the other guests for this ideal family adventure did come from everywhere in the world. We shared 5 star meals and exquisite service with other families from New York, Germany, Scotland and every destination in between. They had discovered this Colorado paradise long before we did and have been coming back yearly ever since.
Our family of 10, 4 kids 6-9 and the parents and we the grandparents from age 45-87 to a person were equally impressed. Nobody wanted to leave and the kids made us promise that we would bring them back. There was not a single moment without something superlative to do from horseback riding to skeet shooting to watching the guest Showdeo or dancing and being seranaded. Total relaxation around the pool or campfire was also an available option.
We are thrilled to recommend this exceptional experience to everyone. You will not find a finer more friendly staff or culinary experience anywhere.
Edie Marks, Englewood Colorado 80111
303-905-0744

Room Tip: We loved being closer to the Patio House with the pool because it is hard for Grandpa to get around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hi Edie,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We very much enjoyed having you and your family stay with us, and are looking forward to having you back again soon!

All the best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to C Lazy U Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C Lazy U Ranch

Address: 3640 Colorado Hwy 125, Granby, CO 80446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Granby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1919 The C Lazy U luxury guest ranch has been celebrated around the world for its rich history, rustic elegance, legendary cuisine and signature 5-Spur Service. There is something for everyone. Kids enjoy adventure & discovery while adults do everything they want, or nothing at all. Corporations & groups enjoy this all inclusive ranch as a simple and secluded retreat destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
c Lazy u Ranch Hotel Granby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C Lazy U Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.