We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of C Lazy U Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
C Lazy U Ranch
Save
You added C Lazy U Ranch to your Saves list
3640 Colorado Hwy 125, Granby, CO 80446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Granby B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place is run down and does not deserve the 5 star rating. In fact, i'm sure i read on their site that they are now a self-rated 5 star due to not having televisions. I didn't miss TV as I don't watch much of it anyway. I'm convinced that C Lazy U's 5 star rating was taken away not because of the lack of TV but because it's simply run down and no longer a luxury ranch.

Rooms are dated, beds uncomfortable, facilities tired and worn out.

Scenery is nice but nothing special.

I was disappointed because at 5 star prices I received a 3 star experience. There are better ranches to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear TravelBunnySecret,

Thank you for your, and your husband, ‘evidentlydaniel’s, prior review. While I addressed many of your concerns in response to your husband’s review, I am happy to respond to those you’ve detailed. C Lazy U is one of Colorado’s original guest ranches, and as such, we provide our guests with an authentic experience that marries the luxuries of today with the history and traditions of the American West. As such, we continually renovate and update our property to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay (all rooms have new Simmons Beautyrest Beverly Hills Black Edition mattresses, new linens, updated décor, Molton + Brown bath products, iHome docking stations, etc.), but at the same time, work to maintain the aspects of our property which provide an authentic experience: We offer our guests ‘Five-Spur’ service – a term that encompasses modern amenities with the feel of a dude ranch – and by no means market ourselves as something other than that.

In regard to your questions about our Five Star rating, we did not have it taken away; in fact, over the course of our history, C Lazy U was the only guest ranch in North America to attain both the celebrated Five-Diamond and Five-Star ratings. As our website explains, we proactively elected to not be rated, as we did not want to incorporate certain commercial aspects that we felt went against the western, family atmosphere we strive to maintain, such as in-room televisions, phones, paved roads throughout the property, keyless entry, etc. That said, we continue to receive top awards for service and facilities from unbiased third parties, including top luxury travel editors (both in the U.S. and Europe) such as Conde Nast Traveler UK, Fodors, Financial Times, and many others.

As always, thank you for your review.

Best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    0
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
80
7
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Contrary to the previous review, we had a fabulous vacation during the same week (and in an adjacent room) at C Lazy U. Under the attentive direction of managers Dale and Connie, each and every staff member we met went out of their way to ensure to anticipate and meet our needs, whether serving dinner, choosing horses, riding trails, entertaining children/teens or suggesting mountain biking trails. The staff were all enthusiastic, friendly, warm and professional. The food was excellent, fresh and plentiful. The lunchtime soups were fabulous.

Bill and all the wranglers worked hard to ensure that everyone had fantastic trail rides twice a day. They truly cared about the details that would make each person's experience memorable and fun. If the saddle or horse is not a perfect match for you, they make a rapid exchange. Bill cares about everyone having a terrific ride. Varied terrain makes trail riding exciting and interesting. The horses were beautifully trained and fully capable of climbing ridge trails and loping through the meadows.

The ranch is in the process of being upgraded by the new owners, and the renovation of the rooms is nearly complete. I stayed in a renovated room identical to that of "Evidently Daniel". The pillow-top beds were superbly comfortable. I agree--the ranch should replace the uncomfortable foam pillows. There is electric heating and a thermostat in every room, as well as a working fireplace. Not sure how my neighbors missed that detail.

The Rocky Mountain setting is spectacular. Yes, beetles have decimated lodge pole pines all over the West. But there is so much more: the broad valley and mountains vistas, the night sky filled with stars, the myriad of wildflower meadows, the aspen groves with leaves fluttering in the wind, the aroma of sagebrush, the burbling creek, the grazing moose and deer, the rush of the wind as you lope across the meadows.

To finish your vacation properly, book a post-ride massage in the tented spa along the river. Follow that by a long, hot soak in a copper tub with the tent flap open to the broad valley view. After that decadent and relaxing finish, you eagerly will anticipate an imminent return.

Room Tip: Request a renovated cabin. Some have balconies with rockers and swings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear BurtonBlue,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of C lazy U – we are happy to hear that you found the Ranch to be luxurious, welcoming, comfortable and scenic. We will see what we can do about the pillows you found to be uncomfortable! We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The experience my family had was nothing short of the best! The Colorado rocky mountains are by far one of the best in North America. C Lazy U bent over backwards to make the experience perfect for EVERY member of our group. Being in the heart of a rough terrain, C Lazy U is the antithesis of the rocks themselves. The wranglers assured safety! Would I go again....NO DOUBT! In fact, I'd live there if my work could be done from Ganby, Colorado. Any negative reviews must be from those individuals that do not appreciate western United States. If you want a fun, exciting, and unique family focused vacation.....go no further than C Lazy U!!! We will return.

Room Tip: If u have kids under the age of 10, the Ridge cabin is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear ThomasHansbrough,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent vacation at C Lazy U. We enjoyed having you and your family stay with us (and if you can find a way to make it work with your job, would be happy to have you as a permanent guest!). Looking forward to having you all back again soon!

Best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed at C Lazy U late July into early August 2012 with our 3 children - all we can say is that it ranks as the best family vacation we have ever taken together! Beat Disney, cruises, and a Caribbean all-inclusive family resort when our family 'voted'. The amazing scenery encompasses you on arrival and any anxieties or concerns you may have about the week are immediately eased by the friendly faces and great attitudes of the experienced and passionate staff. We were not at all experienced horseback riders, but with the expert care of the wonderful wranglers and amazingly well-trained and cared for horses, we all had a fabulous time on the rides. The kids program was great - I think the "supervised/structured independence" for the 'Mustangs' (6-12) and teens (13-18) was perfect for our kids. Add in the nightly activities for them - "wild west" theater, talent show, carnival, "showdeo" - and they were ready for bed! Everyone felt as if they had not only vacationed, but accomplished something when the trip was done - riding, rafting, shooting, ropes climbing, fishing - all great experiences. Meals were excellent and great selection of beer/wines/spirits available, and the midweek visit with the sommelier was really fun! Making friends at the morning cowboy coffee, meals, and while riding was a delight - some individuals and families have been coming to the ranch annually for nearly 50 years (!) - and hearing the history of the ranch from them and the staff added to the depth of the experience. Additionally, the owners of the ranch make a point of mingling with the guests on multiple nights - they are gracious and clearly care about maintaining the high quality of the experience for everyone there. Accommodations were at the level of quality we expected and the fresh towels several times daily were needed after a hard day of riding! My wife enjoyed the spa massage services enormously as well.

Don, Connie, Bill, and all of the rest of the great management team and staff at the C Lazy U - thank you very much for a great week and wonderful memories!

Doug and Tiffany H. - Oklahoma City, OK

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Doug and Tiffany,

Thank you for your extremely kind review of the Ranch. We very much enjoyed having your family stay with us, and can’t wait to have you back again next year!
Best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

As Denver residents, we have typically visited the more common getaways of our state like Vail, the Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs and occassionally even the Brown Palace in downtown Denver. What a surprise it was to find the perfect 5 star experience only 2 hours from our doorstep in Granby Colorado. The sheer majesty of the setting is like nothing you will experience anywhere in the world...and the other guests for this ideal family adventure did come from everywhere in the world. We shared 5 star meals and exquisite service with other families from New York, Germany, Scotland and every destination in between. They had discovered this Colorado paradise long before we did and have been coming back yearly ever since.
Our family of 10, 4 kids 6-9 and the parents and we the grandparents from age 45-87 to a person were equally impressed. Nobody wanted to leave and the kids made us promise that we would bring them back. There was not a single moment without something superlative to do from horseback riding to skeet shooting to watching the guest Showdeo or dancing and being seranaded. Total relaxation around the pool or campfire was also an available option.
We are thrilled to recommend this exceptional experience to everyone. You will not find a finer more friendly staff or culinary experience anywhere.
Edie Marks, Englewood Colorado 80111
303-905-0744

Room Tip: We loved being closer to the Patio House with the pool because it is hard for Grandpa to get around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hi Edie,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We very much enjoyed having you and your family stay with us, and are looking forward to having you back again soon!

All the best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just returned from a great week at the C Lazy U. Comfy accomodations, beautiful scenery, delicious food, attentive staff, and fabulous horses. This place is almost magical. It's perfect for a family get away. My 10 year old daughter is already planning our next trip to the C Lazy U.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hi Julia M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We very much look forward to having you and your family as our guests again!

All the best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I LOVED this vacation! The staff is very focused on providing excellent customer service. They love working at C Lazy U and it filters into the way they treat their guests. The ranch is well managed from the top all the way down. The horses are beautiful and well cared for. (My husband never understand the attraction to horses and left saying he loved his horse.) The location is amazingly beautiful. There are lots of activities to choose from so you can do as much or as little as you want. I loved the family style seating at meals and getting to know other guests. Next time I will definitely bring the kids. Did I mention that the food is fantastic?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hi amy t,

Thank you for your kind words. We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Ranch, and look forward to having you return with your children!

All the best,

Connie Dorsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to C Lazy U Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C Lazy U Ranch

Address: 3640 Colorado Hwy 125, Granby, CO 80446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Granby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1919 The C Lazy U luxury guest ranch has been celebrated around the world for its rich history, rustic elegance, legendary cuisine and signature 5-Spur Service. There is something for everyone. Kids enjoy adventure & discovery while adults do everything they want, or nothing at all. Corporations & groups enjoy this all inclusive ranch as a simple and secluded retreat destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
c Lazy u Ranch Hotel Granby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C Lazy U Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.