We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of C Lazy U Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
C Lazy U Ranch
Save
You added C Lazy U Ranch to your Saves list
3640 Colorado Hwy 125, Granby, CO 80446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Granby B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing like this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

There is no other place on earth like this place. No better place to take your kids. Great surroundings and dining for adults, lots of great activities for the kids. You've got to go. I know this sounds a bit over the top - and I'm not an owner. Its just one of those places people like to rave about just because it's great.

Room Tip: They're all cabins except for the original lodge. No bad rooms. And, every evening around 5:00...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    0
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
80
7
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I was there at the end of May for a family reunion. We were warmly greeted upon arrival and immediately felt welcome. The food was great, scenery was amazing and the staff did everything to make sure our stay was enjoyable. You can't go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

C Lazy U provided a terrific experience for three generations, particularly the horse-crazy kids in our families. The counselor-led program beginning with six year olds is super. (Much less to do for under-sixes here.) And everything else about the place signals its many years of experience (and high prices!) The people are exceptionally nice. The accommodations, though not ritzy looking, are extremely comfortable. The food is really good. The scenery is to die for. And other amenities (e.g. pool) are just fine, too. If you're not into riding you won't have a heckuva lot to do--read books, take walks, swim, relax, eat, etc.--but if you are you couldn't find a better place for a summer week. Note, though, that a LOT of people are returnees and for newbies it could feel a bit like a club you are only a candidate to join. (We had enough in our own party that this didn't matter at all.)

Room Tip: You may not have a lot of choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I can't even begin to describe this place. Old-school, refined, elegance yet un-pretentious and comfortable in every way. Staff was exceptional - programs were amazing. Although I know every detail was very well planned - nothing felt contrived, this place is authentic. We rode horses, had spa treatments, fly fished, zip lined, played tennis. The kids programs were unbelievable - they took special interest in all kids to make sure that they all had a great time and a successful experience with the horses.

Room Tip: Book early! Ask about location if it's important to you to be close to main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

From the very first moment when we were welcomed to the ranch by the operations director and the ranch hands we felt truely at home at the C Lazy U. We have taken many vacations at "family friendly" places and have never felt as comfortable as we have here. The service staff is top notch, and ready to provide any thing you may need or desire at a moment's notice. The food and bar service is truely 5 spur rating, and you will never be hungry. Cabins are upgraded with very comfortable bedrooms, and provide a truely unique western living experience. But the best part of all is the riding program for both adults and children. The C Lazy U herd is a truely beautiful thing to see; healthy, happy, and well conditioned. The horses are superbly trained and comfortable even for riders with minimal experience. For riders with more experience, a more energetic horse is readily available. Our kids absolutely loved the childrens program. They were kept busy all day long with riding, swimming, outdoor games, and just about any other thing you could imagine. A truely perfect family vacation and one we will cherish the memories of for a life time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The whole experience was fantastic, which explains why the majority of guests have been coming for years. The staff / service is incredible. The riding is outstanding. The children's program keeps the kids busy all day from 9 - thru dinner. Although if you want to spend more time with them, you can take them fishing, zip lining, rock climbing, biking, hiking, or shooting instead of using the camp. The spa had an excellent massage therapist. It was an easy drive, but others took the train and loved it. The room was nicely decorated, the bath room had nice amenities, and they put new snacks and fruit in the room daily.

Best for us: the riding, the scenery, the resort, the camp, the other guests, and the staff.

Least: My husband was not really into riding, hiking, or biking. He was not motivated to find activities for himself. They do have someone who works with the guests to help keep them happy and occupied. After a few days, he met with the ranch concierge. They planned out his days. He met Wrangler Tony, who made a rider out of him. He started to love riding and ended up wining the guest Rodeo. (If you have a non-rider have them call the ranch and see what else they can do - there is great fishing, national parks, boating, golf, and other activities in the area.)

Other things to know:

They will lend you helmuts and boots, but it is first come first serve on the boots. We were the last guests in and we had no trouble getting boots.

Most lunch and dinners are adults only at group tables in the lodge. Be prepared to meet new friends.

There are no tv's in the rooms.

There are laundry machines in patio house - they supply soap. Machines and soap are free to use.

Room Tip: The rooms are all nice. If you want something quiet ask to be away from the patio house in a single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This is our second summer here at C Lazy U .... And I cannot imagine going anywhere else! Our children get the experience of going to sleep away camp except we all get to gather together in the evenings to share our stories of our daily adventures! My husband, an avid fly fisherman, looks forward to his fishing expeditions and I get to enjoy the trailrides. And then we get to have a great dinner at a 4 star restaurant!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to C Lazy U Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C Lazy U Ranch

Address: 3640 Colorado Hwy 125, Granby, CO 80446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Granby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1919 The C Lazy U luxury guest ranch has been celebrated around the world for its rich history, rustic elegance, legendary cuisine and signature 5-Spur Service. There is something for everyone. Kids enjoy adventure & discovery while adults do everything they want, or nothing at all. Corporations & groups enjoy this all inclusive ranch as a simple and secluded retreat destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
c Lazy u Ranch Hotel Granby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C Lazy U Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.