We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families with kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snow Mountain Ranch

Snow Mountain Ranch
Estes Park, CO, Granby, CO 80511
800-777-9622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 Attractions in Granby
Type: Ranchs, Ranch & Farm
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Five thousand acre ranch offering trails for cross-country skiers and snowshoers.
Houston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for families with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed for one week--six adults and four kids in a 4BR cabin and it was a bit tight. Rooms were small. That said, the kids had a blast--did lots of activities and attended the day camp for three days. Roller skating was a highlight, as was canoeing, climbing wall, and horseback riding. We had a black bear encounter right outside our cabin, and that was both exciting and alarming, He came by two or three times to check our garbage.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hiking, horseback riding, canoeing, they have everything outdoors.Gorgeous setting and perfect for the real Colorado experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great nordic center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I hadn't cross country skied in years, but really wanted to get out on the snow, as I can't downhill right now. Someone recommended this to me, and it was perfect. It's about a 15 minute drive from the Winter Park resort, and easy to find. I rented skis, boots, poles and an all day ski pass for $30. The trails are well marked, and groomed nicely. The staff was wonderful in getting me set up! There is a nice little snack shop upstairs that had good sandwiches and soup as well as beverages. I would definitely come back! Really enjoyed the day.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect day excursion from Inn at Silvercreek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Nordic skiing center caters to pros, families, has lessons for all ability levels, fully equipped ski rental shop, beautiful forested terrain, miles of trails from flat to hilly. It's just about five minutes from the Inn at SC.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Every morning, you look out the window and you're in the Rockies.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Imagine waking up in your room every morning, looking out the window and seeing the Rocky Mountains. It never gets old. So you get dressed and head off to breakfast. You're on a six week stay that includes three meals a day. It sounds good, but wouldn't that get expensive? How much would a six week stay like that cost? It's free.

You're at Snow Mountain Ranch and it's volunteerism at its finest. In exchange for 28 hours a week of labor, you are provided with free room and board. Last summer was our fourth and we plan on another trip to Snow Mountain Ranch next summer. But the area is mostly a winter ski area. In the winter, you can snowshoe or cross country ski at the ranch or downhill ski at Winter Park Resort, which is about ten miles away.

The ranch is comprised of 5,000 acres and has the summer activities you would expect -- from horseback riding to fly fishing to guided hikes in Rocky Mountain National Park, among many others. The program center shares space with a pro shop, where you can get fly fishing equipment and/or a good dirt bike, so no need to bring your own. The volunteers stay anywhere from two weeks to year round. Many are international students. Many others are seniors. It's a unique mix of staff. If you get tired of the cafeteria food, there are many good restaurants in the area, as well as galleries, shops, weekly events and Winter Park Resort, which is also open year round. During the summer, the ski trails at the resort are populated with dirt bikers wearing lots of heavy armor.

So try something completely different when it comes to vacation plans. We were trying to find a similar setup somewhere warm where we could go in the winter, but there isn't anything quite like the arrangement here.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snow Mountain Ranch also viewed

 
Granby, Grand County
 

Been to Snow Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow Mountain Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.