We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed this time around!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   895 Tabor Street, Golden, CO 80401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointed this time around!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

After a long flight from the east coast, we got to there @ 12:30am and my crew and I were looking forward to enjoy a restful night's sleep. It didn't happen. The room they had assigned to us was full of cat's hair everywhere. I mean really bad; on the pillows, on the bed's skirt, and all over the rug! And in addition, the cleaning staff had forgotten to change the bed sheets so the bed was packed with black human hairs!!! Very yummy! Completely unacceptable. The manager did refund my upgrade charge of $140 for one of the two suites i booked for a week's stay, but i think that with the situation they should have refunded way more than that. On the upside the front desk staff was very nice and helpful. But please address this cleaning staff problem asap!!! I stayed at this location many times throughout the years and it's always been fine, but this time had such a disgusting and disappointing start to our stay...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear K1000MTL,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review of our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the staff. Most importantly, I do apologize that your experience was not what you expected. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
18
33
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
414 reviews 414 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

First time here and was not impressed!!!

The ladies at the front desk were very nice but I can't blame them for our 2 dirty rooms!!! Lots of hair, dirty sheets and very disappointed... They offer us an handicap room that was as dirty and inconvenient then since they were full book we had to take a smoking room that was ok...

We were very quiet and got a call this morning accusing us to make too much noise!!! It felt so wrong!!!

It's a nice hotel for wifi and kitchen with nice large counter and kitchen... But should be much cleaner and respectful...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife has an internship in Lakewood for the summer and we were looking for a hotel for her to stay in. We flew out to Lakewood a few days before and booked the Candlewood in Lake wood to see if this hotel would be what we wanted. It had good reviews but you are never sure about a place until you get there. I stayed with her for 3 nights and I liked how close this was to the Federal center for her, and also to downtown Denver as well as a shopping mall. The room had nothing to distinguish it from any other regular hotel room, old 20 something tube tv, dvd/vcr combo attached to it, nice desk and a decent kitchen. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was very clean. There was free wifi and free laundry for people who are staying long term. A on site pool would have need nice but they are partnered with a health club 4 blocks away and you can use their pool if you so choose. The people at the front desk were very helpful and knowledgeable whenever we had questions about the area. The most important part for me was that my wife felt comfortable and safe at this hotel and as a result we have booked the rest of her 9 week stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I booked three rooms for participants in a nearby business meeting, got a good price through Priceline bid. All the rooms were clean, comfortable and well-appointed. Free internet was via hardwired ethernet - wifi may have been available too I didn't try. No complaints.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I felt comfortable there.

We stayed there for 2 1/2 months. Room was very clean, really nice housekeeping staff. They seem to care about their hotel and about doing a good job. Bed was comfy. Room needs updating in furniture and the kitchen cabinets need updating also. People staying there were very nice, all job related stays.

The location I felt was secure. It was far enough and away from Colfax, and just north of a nice area to find lots of eats. It was very quiet. However, cell phone service was sketchy if you don't have the newest cell on the market. Also, the landlines were crackly with lots of white noise. Hopefully they will be replacing these in the renovation.

Kitchen needs updating, fridge froze the food no matter what setting. But GREAT pots and pans! Best I have found in any extended stay hotel (yah, I know its a weird comment, but for someone that actually wants to use the kitchen, you need decent cookware).

Laundry was ok. They need replacing, but they work very good. Dryers have no timers on them but you don't have to pay for them! Nice area to wait for your laundry. I used their gym (next door to the laundry room) a few times, had many things that one might want. Most of the equipment was updated.

They were painting the outside when we left. A contractor came in and measured the room and they said they would be soon renovating the entire hotel.

Even with all the comments I've said, I would definitely stay here again. And I'm picky about hotels.

Room Tip: I admit, the few times I used the elevator, there was a smoke smell. I avoided this by using the ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear ADKGRL,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. We hope to see you again once we complete our renovations.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We recently stayed in a standard suite on the second floor at this hotel. While the size of the room was great, everything else about our stay was terrible. The elevator always smelled like smoke (there was smoking on the third floor). The hallways had a terrible odor. Apparently there is no turn-down service because our bed was never made and we never received fresh towels or toiletries (we stayed three nights). Also, one night we had a drunk guest violently yelling and kicking on our door trying to break into our room at 1:30am. He had thought our room was supposed to be his (even though his room was on the floor above us). We called the front desk and informed them that someone was trying to kick in our door and told them to call the police. The drunk man eventually left and checked into his room directly above us. We continued to hear loud banging and yelling in his room. The front desk never called the police and they never apoligized for our experience. So needless to stay...this hotel had smelly hallways, dirty rooms, and drunken guests. I WILL NOT be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Lisa C,

Thank you for your stay with us and leaving feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations and service received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo, Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have used other long stay places in the area that are a little cheaper but nothing compares to this place. Friendly staff, very clean, washers and dryers that work, well appointed kitchens with a dishwasher. Bed comfortable. Good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood

Address: 895 Tabor Street, Golden, CO 80401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Denver-Lakewood, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big, built for comfort or extended stay, it is the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. This setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. Located 1 mile from the Denver Federal Center, 3 miles from Historic Downtown Golden, 10 miles from Downtown Denver and only 1 hour away from the nearest ski resort. Pets allowed with a non refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 For 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite, must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood Hotel Golden
Candlewood Suites Golden
Candlewood Golden
Golden Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.