We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver to your Saves list
Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   15059 West Colfax Avenue, Golden, CO 80401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Golden
Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The room was clean, despite being at 100% capacity the hotel was quiet, security cameras all over the place made me feel confident about our car in the parking lot. No real issues other than the guy checking us in quizzing us about the information on our IDs at 1am when we just wanted to get in, unload and sleep. This was just annoying and unnecessary since we had booked ahead of time and called earlier that day to confirm but whatever. I dont understand all the negative reviews, our room was spotless and everything was functional, if you want to stay at a hotel with perfectly white towels, a top notch pool and a brand new TV then dont be a cheap skate and stay at a Days Inn. If you need somewhere decent to stay and you dont want to pay too much i highly recommend this place we had a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peerd54, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Jeff K:
I am sorry if you thought that the front desk was a bit over zealous regarding the checking of your IDs. They were simply trying to make sure that the ID was the same as the credit card used to hold/pay for the room.

We try to be meet our guests’ reasonable requests and keep the hotel (rooms and public areas) clean.

It was very good to read that you had a positive experience. I thank you very much for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    137
    113
    45
    35
See reviews for
124
91
44
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We checked into the Days Inn in Golden, Colorado on 7/5/2014 after spending the day at Golden car show and cruise. The young man at the desk was very cordial and quickly checked us into our room without any issues. As we had read some negative reviews with this hotel, we were a bit apprehensive prior to our arrival, however, were pleased to find the room was very comfortable and clean. Even though we did not use the swimming pool, we were located on the ground floor right next to it and the area appeared very clean, with all of the amenities one would expect at a hotel pool. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were great. Even though there was no continental breakfast, there is a nice little café on the premises at which we enjoyed the friendly staff and a really great breakfast with 10% off, since we were staying at the hotel. We understand that the hotel is currently updating so our only suggestion would be that, while in the process, the exterior doors be made accessible only with a room key for a bit more of added security. We will definitely return to this hotel the next time we're in Golden.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a king size bed - the room was very spacious and on the first floor next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peerd54, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks very much for the endorsement. The staff tries very hard to accommodate reasonable requests by our guests.

As I have mentioned a number of times, there never has been to my knowledge, a continental breakfast served, due to the existence of the restaurant; the brand requires one or the other.

Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

There was no work table/desk in the room.
Wi-Fi dropped signal about 20 feet from the room.
I guess with no computer connection they figured that a work table/desk was not needed.
The room was booked as a ADA accessible room, the shower was not up to ADA specifications. If I was taking a bath the grab bars in place would have been ok but I have not taken a bath in years only showers. There was no free breakfast just a 10% discount at the attached restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peerd54, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
If there was an issue with the Wi-Fi did you call ETS (they manage the network) or the front desk to have them call ETS? I have fiber and 10 Mbps. How crowded was the hotel? Was one of the other guests using a bit torrent server (which is strictly prohibited under the terms of use) which can use up most of the bandwidth? I have seen this and reported it to ETS and the guest is banned from the network as their Mac address is visible and it is blocked. It is really rather selfish but hey, that’s America today.

Our handicapped rooms all have grip bars and two of the rooms have roll in showers. I believe it complies.

There should be a desk and or work table in every room. If you did not have one my housekeeping department should have noticed it and informed maintenance. I apologize and will try to trace your room number.

Please see the other responses regarding the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nothing overly positive or negative to say here, just a decent place to spend the night. Room was clean and shower worked well. Was disappointed that pool didn't open til 10am and no continental breakfast. Tad expensive to have no breakfast provided but otherwise okay.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peerd54, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Please see the prior response regarding the optimal opening and closing of the pool and hot tub and the continental breakfast.

Please go to roomkey.com which gives you a down and dirty comparison of pricing and amenities for the 80401 zip code. Is my hotel still a “tad expensive” if you want this proximity to the various highways, Red Rocks, and Bandemeir Speedway? I am not comparing myself, by the way, to the mostly mid-scale and upscale properties you’ll find at that website. I am a simple, humble budget property.

Or put another way what does one want to pay for amenities such as “free” breakfast, service, location etc. as the main ingredients into the somewhat amorphous concept called “value”?

Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel has gone downhill, used to love it. The hot tub jets did not work, my room (with desk advertised) had no desk, there was no knob on the heater/ac and the heat never worked. The pool & hot tub don't open until 10am, checkout is 11am. Breakfast is available in an attached restaurant, only coffee is complimentary. I will not go back nor do i recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peerd54, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
I am sorry you were disappointed. Why would I be otherwise?

Did you receive my front desk manager’s inquiry, as I am very interested to know in what room you stayed. The only people from Loveland to stay in the last month were in a rooms that have either a desk and or a work table. The PTACs were also working with no missing knobs. Obviously if there is an issue I want it corrected.

What is the optimal time to open the pool and hot tub? We have used 10:00 AM as a compromise. When it was either an earlier opening and or a later closing there were noise complaints.

In the mornings it was children playing and screaming (which is what children generally do in and around a pool) or later at night where we usually had loud adults who weren’t particularly concerned about the tranquility of the other guests. You tell me!

The breakfast was never included at this hotel, as there is a restaurant on premise and the brand does not require both. I have stated and repeated this numerous times.

The hot tub jets work. I checked them myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We woke up with itchy eyes, stuffy noses and sore throats. Visible quarter inch of dust behind the beds. My husband's trachea was so irritated that a esophageal reflux exacerbation caused chest pains during our trip into the high mountains - symptoms of angina? Only a trip to the emergency room and a subsequently delayed trip home could resolve our fear. So, based on that; it wasn't a good hotel for us. I know dust (and who knows what else) is a problem for many hotels, but the days inn seemed to be one of the two worst hotels we ever slept at. And we always stay at hotels ranked 2-stars to 3- stars, as used by priceline.com.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peerd54, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I apologize for dust in the room. Dusting is part of the daily routine of the housekeepers. I will certainly show your comment to my housekeeping manager and supervisor to address any failures in execution.

I can’t comment on the about the correlation you were attempting to draw regarding dust, esophageal reflux exacerbation, and angina, as I have no medical qualifications. You intimated that your fear was resolved meaning there wasn’t a correlation?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver

Address: 15059 West Colfax Avenue, Golden, CO 80401
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites West/Golden Hotel Golden
Days Inn And Suites West/Golden
Days Inn Hotel West
Days Inn Golden
Golden Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn & Suites Golden / West Denver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.