We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17150 West Colfax Avenue, Golden, CO 80401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Golden
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Difficult to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is not actually located on W. Colfax Ave. You have to turn in on Inter-Plaza west and go past the Carpet Exchange Store. The hotel is across the street from Home Depot's parking lot.
Be advised, the hotel parking lot is small and on crowded nights, it's difficult to park. We stayed on July 2 and the lot was packed. Cars were parked in the drive-way and anyplace they could find a spot.
The hotel is about 14 years old but it's well maintained and clean. They have a nice breakfast area and a great staff to keep it stocked. We were told the hotel was built prior to all the other businesses and now it is almost impossible to see from Colfax. It would be very helpful if the hotel could place a Hampton Inn sign out on Colfax with a sign pointing where to turn.

Room Tip: The hotel is away from Colfax and Hwy 6 so you don't hear a lot of traffic noise, just loud peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Seaview69, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We all agree with you about the street sign, our hotel is hidden back in the back of all sorts of retail shops. The hotel was opened for business in 1998 and was recently renovated and is going on 5 years or so now. We take great pride in make sure the hotel is clean and fresh for all our guests to enjoy. As for the parking we have lots of construction going on all around us and this does make for finding a parking space a little difficult. Home Depot is nice enough to share some of their parking with us just outside the front of the hotel so we encourage our guest to use the parking there. If you happen to be in the Golden area again we hope you choose the Hampton Inn Golden as your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    103
    36
    13
    4
See reviews for
110
78
12
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent six nights at this hotel. The hotel staff was amazing and very helpful! The front desk helped us with map directions throughout our stay .Perfect location...easy drive to places in Denver. Breakfast was excellent and always fully stocked.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Elizabeth K, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to experience our breakfast each morning. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a great location if you are going to Red Rocks Ampitheater. The drive to the venue is about 10 minutes. The free breakfast is very complete with eggs, pancakes, cereals, bacon, yogurt, rolls. The rooms are quiet and the service is very good. Our fuzzy TV was immediately replaced with a new one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Abnan, the Hampton Inn Golden would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept our apology regarding the TV issue you experienced. We hope to see you again during your nest adventure to Red Rocks.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We got an awesome Groupon rate. Normally $140 a night, we got $60 off that rate, and they didn't put us in their worst room, which has happened to us before when we get a deal. We happened to be driving into Denver from the west, so it was perfectly on the way into the city just off the expressway.

The hotel is very nice. Inviting lobby and rooms. The breakfast was insane. Tons of people, one small area where the food was. But the selection was great. Waffles, oatmeal, ham and eggs, potatoes, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries. Something for everyone.

The kids swam in the outdoor pool which opens at 6am- they heat it. There was a group of partying adults drinking at 9am with a bottle if liquor on their table, but they were nice to the kids so no harm done.

The bathroom was a little dusty and could use a good cleaning, otherwise everything else was up to par.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Travelfoodbooze… thank you for reviewing the hotel, however this review should have gone to the Hampton Inn Lakewood / Federal Center. We have everything they have even better; we have an indoor pool and hot tub. Next time you’re in the area we hope you choose to stay with us the Hampton Inn Golden.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend recently, and found the room to be clean, and quite nice. The bathroom was tiny, but it was clean and servicable. While I only made it to the complimentary breakfast one of the mornings that we were there, my travelling companion went more often, and there seemed to be a good selection. As we were there to see a show at Red Rocks, this was a great location as it was a quick trip back from the concert, but it was a little further to find a restaurant. We will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear traveller38877, the Hampton Inn Golden would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As we understand the size of the bathroom is less than desirable, we are glad to hear you were overall please with our hotel. The Colorado Mills Mall is just about 4 miles away and there must be 30 plus restaurants there enough food options to satisfy just about any taste. There is even a room service company we work with that will deliver food to the room from 11a to 11p. We hope to see you for your next Red Rocks adventure.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, CO, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were in the area for a family wedding and had a fantastic stay. The staff is overly friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make the stay pleasant and enjoyable. One of the front desk employees actually handled the front desk, answered phone calls, made the Sunday breakfast, and cleaned the eating area by herself while another employee was on her break. A great place to stay, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Chris S, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We all take great pride in servicing our guests and making sure they are happy. If you’re ever in the Golden area again we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at this Hampton Inn location for two nights in late May. We were checked in promptly upon arrival and found our room to be exactly what we had booked a few months before. Everything appeared to be very clean including the large Jacuzzi tub. There were plenty of fresh towels, a microwave and mini fridge area. We ate breakfast both days in the lobby and found quite a nice selection of options for our meal including several types of juices and coffee. The staff were friendly and helpful.

My only complaint about this location is the size of the bathroom. We didn't spend much time in the bathroom but it was a tight squeeze with the door just barely clearing the toilet bowl when we open or shut the door. I can imagine that someone who is more than the average size would have some difficulty squeezing in, in front of the bathroom sink in order to manage closing the door to get into the shower or tub. I believe this is a newer location so I'm not exactly sure what happened with the floor plan to where this is an issue in some or all of the bathrooms.

Despite this, I would certainly stay at this location again. It is close to many shopping areas, restaurants and downtown Golden.

Room Tip: If a larger bathroom is needed you may want to request one that is ADA compliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Amyky2013, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Based on your review it sounded as though you have stayed with us more than once, thank you for returning. You are exactly right about the bathrooms, even regarding our accessible rooms having larger bathrooms. The hotel was built in 1998 so bathrooms didn’t seem to be a huge deal in the 90s as they are today. The hotel was renovated just over 4 years ago now, which is why it looks brand new. Bathrooms did not change with the renovation and have stayed the same since the hotel was built. It’s great to know you are happy with the service we offer as well as the overall hotel that you would return again. Thanks again, we hope to see you again in Golden.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden

Address: 17150 West Colfax Avenue, Golden, CO 80401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Golden
#3 Business Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden Hotel Golden
Hampton Inn Golden
Golden Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.