We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Denver/Wheat Ridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17150 West Colfax Avenue, Golden, CO 80401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early,Save up to 15%
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Golden
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Denver/Wheat Ridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The facility was clean, the employees were friendly and helpful. I've stayed at other places where they are all business but no personality. This was very different and very nice. Gave me the warm fuzzies! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Estella K, the warm fuzzies is what we strive for! Thank you for reviewing our hotel. The next time you happen to be in the Golden area we wish to be your home away from home. We love having you here!

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    98
    36
    12
    4
See reviews for
101
74
10
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My stay there was fantastic. The personnel and cleanliness and entire facility are superbly maintained. I felt welcome and they went out of their way to meet my needs. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear ZenOswald, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate it. We can’t wait to see you again in Golden, Colorado.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I'm sorry, I don't recall her name, but she was in training, wore braces and I never saw her not smiling at the clientele.
She even seemed disappointed we were leaving on Friday!
The rooms were clean, quiet and the beds are always so comfy, I sleep like a baby!
However, there was some type of jackhammering/compressor cycling sound coming from down the hall intermittently. Did seem to be a bit pricy for the location; afterall, we were in Golden, not Denver!!!

Anyway, enjoyed my snowy stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear MoMoHick, we truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. The girl you were speaking about is Ashley and she is in the process of training for the Front Desk, she has been our breakfast host the past year. We are lucky to have Ashley as part of our team. Please except our apology for the jack hammering, we never want to disturb our guests. We sure hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Not much to say about this hotel, it is just a typical Hampton Inn property. If you are a loyal Hilton traveler this is your only option if you want to stay at a HHonors property. It was pricy but that is what happens when choices are limited. The room was clean, breakfast was average, and the internet was slow. If you looking to stay in Golden and are weighing your options this is a safe choice but you are not missing anything if you pass up on this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear DanielD85, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We know there are other options for you out there and we appreciate you choosing the Hampton Inn Golden. If there is anything I can ever do to personally assist in making you feel more confident in choosing the Hampton Inn Golden, I would be more than obliged to assist.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This Hampton Inn could be a gem with a bit more care from the house keeping staff. I stayed here for a week on business in near by Golden, CO. It's about 5 miles outside Golden and not close to the downtown area or walking distance to Colorado Mills mall. If these are important to you, do not stay here. The hotel has been renovated within the past few years. Staff is friendly and helpful. I had difficulties getting a hot shower and could only get warm water at best. When I contacted the front desk, they mentioned that there must be a high demand on the hot water at the time and offered to move rooms. Also, the walls are thin, so if your neighbor is waking up at 4am, you will be too. I remedied this by turning on the fan to drown out the noise but attended my morning meeting a little less awake than expected. The room needs a good cleaning and a little more care each day during the staffs visits. I can tell what the previous guests ate by the crumbs around the room. This is not typical for the other Hilton properties I've stayed at and quite gross. I left a message for the room staff and didn't receive any improvement when I returned that evening. Also, the housekeeping left sticky notes that the beds have been changed. Odd. It's that typical? I hope so! The workout area is small and well used. Make sure you get there before 6 am, otherwise you are likely to not get on a treadmill. Again, needs a good cleaning like the rest if the hotel. All in all, not a bad place. It just needs management to oversee the cleaning staff and provide more attention to cleanliness.

Room Tip: High floor and ask for a room away from other travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Coloradotrigirl, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The Hampton Inn Golden is just a short drive 3.90 miles into the heart of Downtown Golden and 2.25 miles to the Colorado Mills Mall. We are conveniently located near Interstate I70, HWY 6th Ave and C470 which allows easy access to all areas of the city. I do apologize for the hotel being less than perfect; we take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, including guest rooms, public areas including the fitness center. The fitness center has 2 treadmills, stationary bike and elliptical including a stretching machine dumbbells and bench. The Hampton Inn started the Post It notes back in 2012 as we wanted to make sure our guest knew about our clean and fresh beds. Is has been such a hit the concept has even snagged media attention, including a feature in USA Today. If there is anything I can do to assist in the future please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodburn, KY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend trip to Golden to visit the Colorado School of Mines. A snowstorm delayed our return and we needed to make some special arrangements. All of the staff were extremely helpful. Shaun, one of the night clerks, was extremely patient and helpful as we worked out our plan changes. The hotel is clean, well cared for and we would stay there again. Our only complaints would be lumpy pillows and a wifi connection that was not consistent on one of two phones.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Tinab829, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please except our apologies for the lumpy pillows and inconsistent wifi connection. Our beds all consist of two different types of pillows one being synthetic and the other being feather. As for the wifi inconsistency this may have been due to the 24 hours snow storm Golden had last weekend.

We hope to be your home away from home during your Colorado School of Mines future visits. Please keep in mind we are here to assist in any way possible. We are more than happy to get on the phone with tech support regarding wifi to help correct any issues and more than happy to help find a pillow comfortable enough to ensure a restful night’s sleep.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our recent annual visit to Colorado for a skiing vacation started with us staying at the Hampton Inn Golden. For visitors who have just had a long haul flight from the UK or Europe we Have found this stop off ideal as it is only an easy 40 min drive from Denver Airport and if you are heading for Breckenridge or Vail the next morning you are only a further 1 hr 30 min leisurely drive when you are refreshed after a good nights sleep on the most comfortable beds you will find anywhere. The complimentary breakfast is excellent and has an extensive selection including some hot dishes.
One of the best features is the friendly staff who will go out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay
This is our fourth stay at this hotel and I am pleased to say that they have maintained a FIRST CLASS STANDARD - WELL DONE
John Davenport - Liverpool, England

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear JRD02, the Hampton Inn Golden would like to thank you for your outstanding review. This is exactly what we stride for with each and every guest. We are currently working on additional breakfast items to add to our already extensive selections. It’s our goal to have something tasty for all to enjoy. I sure hope to meet you the next time you happen to be in this corner of the world. If there is anything I can ever do to be of assistance please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden

Address: 17150 West Colfax Avenue, Golden, CO 80401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Golden
#3 Family Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden Hotel Golden
Hampton Inn Golden
Golden Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.