We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Customer Service - Kudos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17150 West Colfax Avenue, Golden, CO 80401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early,Save up to 15%
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Golden
Layton, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Exceptional Customer Service - Kudos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I worked with their sales manager, Ryoko Potts to schedule a meeting room for a family reunion. Everything went so smoothly...... Any question or need we had was quickly taken care of via email before we arrived and then while we were there.
Kudos to the staff - our family of 13 had a great stay. thank you Hampton Inn Denver West/Golden. We highly recommend your Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Clayton3201, thank you kindly for the positive comment. We truly appreciate the time you took to write this on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure hosting your family reunion and we hope you choose the Hampton Inn Golden for future events.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    89
    31
    12
    3
See reviews for
91
63
8
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a step up from the usual Hampton inn experience, as every person I encountered from the maids to the front desk staff were very friendly. I also like the decoration in the room. Even though you can tell it was a renovated Hotel (as I stay in lots of different places) It still felt like a brand new hotel. I think that as a traveler of each week, the little things matter. The hotel is in a decent location on a couple of miles away and I would really recommend the pizza place that deliver there (brick oven pizza). If you are looking for very clean friendly place, this is the hotel for you

Room Tip: Elevator (2) are very quick so any floor works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear GerrodH, we truly thank you for taking the time to review our Hampton Inn Golden. We do our very best with make sure each and every guest is happy with our product and service. The next time you happen to be in Golden Colorado we hope you will choose the Hampton Inn Golden as your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have been staying at this Hampton for many years now, wouldn't be surprised if I have over a hundred nights here since it opened. I finally decided to post a review and it is close to being a •••••, but just a couple things need improving to get it there. I have no problem recommending this hotel. When I have had problems with the room in the past, the front desk had done a very good job taking care of things, so if you have a problem, let them know right away.

The rooms have all been remodeled, I believe a floor at a time. So, some rooms will have newer furniture, but all of the rooms have a nice bright modern feel to them. Large flat screen TV are in every room and I believe all rooms have a mini-fridge in them. The hotel has a small indoor pool and hot tub just off the lobby. There is a nice laundry room on the first floor and a small but private business center too. I have used all of these facilities at one time or another and found them all more than adequate. Although not something mentioned often in reviews, the vending machines and mini "store" are particularly nice if you get to the hotel late or just don't feel like leaving for a snack or meal. The breakfast area is large. has a very large long table with power plugs built in, nice for charging gadgets while having breakfast. The beds are very comfortable, the air/heat has a central thermostat that does a great job keeping the temp comfortable and the system is quiet. There are a few places to eat within a short walk from the parking lot.( a soup shop, a sandwich shop, and an Italian restaurant).

If all of that sounds appealing, it is. You know how when you find a place like this you want to keep it a secret? Well, the secret is out and that is where the problems come in. This hotel is on the short list of lodging for schools, weddings, family reunions, and corporate meetings. All of these are great for the groups listed, but not so great for the business or family traveler looking for a quiet place to spend some time in the area. The breakfast area gets inundated with hungry guests and try as they may, there is no possible way the staff can handle the demand. Twice during my recent stay, we gave up and instead took the bagged breakfast (a nice and necessary touch here) because there was not a single seat anywhere in the breakfast area or lobby to sit. There are trays, and some folks took food back to their room, but we didn't like that option. Also, because weddings/reunions are common here, the breakfast guests linger long after they have finished eating. I fault the hotel a little for this, they know when they are full and need to make some staffing adjustments to make breakfast go smoother when the hotel is heavily booked.

You will have the same problem with the hot tub (hold eight comfortably) on occasions because the groups love to use the pool and hot tub at night. Ditto with the parking, but there is a large parking lot at a shopping center nearby and the back lot is big. But, parking can be a nuisance if you get back to the hotel late.

Security is good with locking doors after dark (except for lobby) but the staff need to be more attentive to checking windows in between guests. Both rooms I had in my recent stay - the window was unlocked! One room the "security stop" was missing, the other room it was slid all the way back so anyone could have entered either of my ground floor rooms had I not checked the windows. Checking the windows and making sure they are locked (on the ground floor) should become a part of every room cleaning in between guests.

If you are in the area, give this hotel a try. The staff is wonderful, and if you can overlook the slight inconveniences of their success, you will likely have a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Paul C, thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Golden. It’s truly great to get such an honest review. We agree completely with your review and always try to make each guests stay a unique experience. Next time we hope you don’t wait years to review the hotel and during your next stay I would love to meet with you. Please feel free to let me know before you arrive so we might arrange a time to meet.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The room was beautiful. Very modern and clean and a nice size. The bathroom was well appointed and very modern. We had a small refrigerator. Wireless was free and breakfast too. When we were there it was oddly full and breakfast was a nightmare. I have never seen a Hampton breakfast so crazy. They were out of everything and the one girl just could not keep up with the demand. There was nowhere to sit or even to stand. It seems like the area is very large so I imagine it is usually not like this. Not sure what happened that day. Another oddity for us was finding the place. We GPSed it and ended up driving around. It sits back in the shopping area. It isn’t right on Colfax. I think maybe there was a Home Depot or something in that plaza. My husband and I arrived separately and both had trouble finding it. There was a pool and a laundry area which both looked nice but we didn’t get to use either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear HollyA, Thank you for reviewing the Hampton Inn Golden. We do appreciate you taking the time to do so. As for the directions you are correct. The Hampton Inn Golden does sit back off Colfax and Inter Plaza West is the actual street name where you turn into the hotel and shopping center. There is a Home Depot that is just east of the hotel which sometimes helps with locating us. If for some reason there is ever an issue finding us please give the hotel a call at 303-278-6600. We are experts in getting our guest here. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I went to Red Rocks and this hotel was located only 5 miles away. The staff at check-in were nice and quickly checked us in. Our room was clean and quite. The furniture and bathroom was showing some wear and could use a touch up. the bathtub did have a hard water/orange stain on it. Other than that the room was spotless. We were surprise how quite the hotel was even after the concert at the Red Rocks. The breakfast was your standard Hampton breakfast with coffee and hot tea. We will be back the next time we got to Red Rocks.

Room Tip: Not far from Red Rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Candace71, the Hampton Inn Golden would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you return the near future. But please don’t limit it to just your visit to Red Rocks, we would love to have you anytime you happen to be in the Golden area.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel was great for a quick weekend away. The front desk help was wonderfully polite and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed using the hot tub relaxing after a long day of hiking. I would highly recommend staying at the Hampton Inn-Golden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear 907momof3907, Thank you for the outstanding review of the Hampton Inn Golden. We truly appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We hope to see you again when you travel to Colorado to do some additional hiking.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel was so convenient to things we wanted to do in Golden, and we had a great time! Comfy beds, refrigerator, clean, quiet. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool, and breakfast had a lot of choices--hot and cold. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Traveling4Mom, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to you returning in the near future. If there is anything I can ever do to be of assistance please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden

Address: 17150 West Colfax Avenue, Golden, CO 80401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Golden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Golden
#3 Business Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden Hotel Golden
Hampton Inn Golden
Golden Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.