We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"pet friendly"?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Tabor Street, Golden, CO 80401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“"pet friendly"?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I booked a room via Expedia from a list of "pet friendly" motels. When I arrived and informed them that I have a pet I was told that there is an additional charge of $100 for all pets. That is on top of the room charge. We had quite a discussion. I told them that a $100 charge for a pet makes them decidedly pet unfriendly so they are false advertising. Yes, the charge is listed on their web site but only where they get into the specifics of their policies. Not near where they list themselves as "pet friendly". Our recent travels have had charges from zero up to $15 for pets. Sites like Expedia only list motels as "pet friendly" or not and do not mention any specifics. I cannot rate anything else about the motel as I canceled the reservation and went to Candlewood Suites (right next door) for a similar room and rate but with a $15 pet fee

Room Tip: If booking thru Expedia, Price Line, etc make sure you check the motel web site to see if their &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
17
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We originally booked two nights here as a base location for exploring some area attractions. After one very noisy night, we cancelled the second night and headed for the hills! Our fondest memory of this establishment was the sight of it in our rear-view mirror. Now remember, this was just our experience...many probably have had pleasant stays here. Just make sure your room is in the same building as the front desk and you should be fine. Our room was about 15-20 feet from a busy highway and that (along with a few noisy guests) accounted for our lack of sleep. In all fairness to the staff, we did not call and complain nor ask for a different room, so they were not given the opportunity to deal with the situation. We were staying on points, so decided to stick it out for the one night.
The room was nice enough, clean and well-equipped with a full kitchen. The bed was very comfortable. We did take advantage of the laundry facilities so even though we left with bags under our eyes, at least we left with bags of clean clothes, too!

Room Tip: Get a room in the building where front desk is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Room was not bad. Enjoy the small studio apartment like style. The desk area, where I had to do a lot of work, was very well lit and functional. The room is a little run-down, but not outside of tolerances.

Carpet in the common areas is dirty and damaged. Appear to be replacing some. Breakfast area is in the receptions area and they are apparently remodeling somewhere for that function.


The state of the "fitness facility" was particularly frustrating because there was late snow and I could not run outside. If that is a fitness facility, then my wife can open a gym in our basement because she had an eliptical machine, TV and a couple of hand weights. That's what they've got, an eliptical and a half-dozen hand weights shoved into a beat up guestroom. Presumably they will get some remodeling done and have something. I missed two days of exercise because they didn't even have a beat up treadmill.

I checked out a day early and found something else. There are probably currently better values in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

7:30a.m. Construction on the 3rd floor woke us up. I spoke with the manager and he said oh were remodeling the 3rd floor, my daughter was getting a fruit roll up and the manager said the fruit roll up is on me for your inconvenience. What a joke! We arrived at 1:00 a.m. The night manager was very good. Don't stay here unless your a construction worker or like fruit roll up's.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything is acceptable but the wifi speed. The internet connection is very slow and I don't recommend anyone staying here if you rely on a fast internet connection. The excuse for the slow speed is too many people on it at a time which other hotels I've stayed at don't have that problem. Snack store is over priced. Nothing wrong with the room, location is Decent...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Been here three weeks and have had cleaning issues from the start, have to keep asking for towels and garbage bags. Last week my $700 designer prescription glasses disappeared from the bathroom counter and they did nothing other than say "too bad"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotchkiss, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, the price was right. Nice to have a kitchen to cook in, we cooked a full dinner one night. Free Breakfast was O.K. , could have a few more items, maybe cream cheese for the bagels. Room was clean & nicely furnished. Hallways, hallway carpet and entry doors were fairly dirty. Parking was at a premium. Mapquest listed this as the closet hotel to Golden. We passed closer hotels on our way to Golden.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center

Address: 800 Tabor Street, Golden, CO 80401
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home to The TownePlace Suites by Marriott where your comfort & enjoyment are our #1 priority. We are the ideal choice for your group accommodations, corporate housing, family vacations, & business travel. Enjoy waking up to the spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains while being conveniently located to Denver's best cultural, entertainment & sporting venues with easy access to Colorado's great outdoors. We are conveniently located to major thorough-fares & are at the pulse of Jefferson's County's economic development center. Our 24-hour trained staff is here to greet you & provide you with a quick check-in & helpful information to insure your stay with us is most enjoyable. Our all suite hotel features spacious studio, one & two bedroom suites each with fully equipped kitchens & separate living areas. Enjoy extended stay conveniences such as our 24/7 guest laundry facility, daily breakfast, full-service business center, outdoor pool & our on-site 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Denver West/Federal Hotel Golden
Towneplace Suites Golden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.