We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply not up to the standards I would expect from a Marriott facility” 2 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Tabor Street, Golden, CO 80401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Golden
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Simply not up to the standards I would expect from a Marriott facility”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Room was not bad. Enjoy the small studio apartment like style. The desk area, where I had to do a lot of work, was very well lit and functional. The room is a little run-down, but not outside of tolerances.

Carpet in the common areas is dirty and damaged. Appear to be replacing some. Breakfast area is in the receptions area and they are apparently remodeling somewhere for that function.


The state of the "fitness facility" was particularly frustrating because there was late snow and I could not run outside. If that is a fitness facility, then my wife can open a gym in our basement because she had an eliptical machine, TV and a couple of hand weights. That's what they've got, an eliptical and a half-dozen hand weights shoved into a beat up guestroom. Presumably they will get some remodeling done and have something. I missed two days of exercise because they didn't even have a beat up treadmill.

I checked out a day early and found something else. There are probably currently better values in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
17
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

7:30a.m. Construction on the 3rd floor woke us up. I spoke with the manager and he said oh were remodeling the 3rd floor, my daughter was getting a fruit roll up and the manager said the fruit roll up is on me for your inconvenience. What a joke! We arrived at 1:00 a.m. The night manager was very good. Don't stay here unless your a construction worker or like fruit roll up's.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Everything is acceptable but the wifi speed. The internet connection is very slow and I don't recommend anyone staying here if you rely on a fast internet connection. The excuse for the slow speed is too many people on it at a time which other hotels I've stayed at don't have that problem. Snack store is over priced. Nothing wrong with the room, location is Decent...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Been here three weeks and have had cleaning issues from the start, have to keep asking for towels and garbage bags. Last week my $700 designer prescription glasses disappeared from the bathroom counter and they did nothing other than say "too bad"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotchkiss, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, the price was right. Nice to have a kitchen to cook in, we cooked a full dinner one night. Free Breakfast was O.K. , could have a few more items, maybe cream cheese for the bagels. Room was clean & nicely furnished. Hallways, hallway carpet and entry doors were fairly dirty. Parking was at a premium. Mapquest listed this as the closet hotel to Golden. We passed closer hotels on our way to Golden.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

There is nothing spectacular about this hotel. It is what you would expect of a suite hotel.

The kitchenette had a full size refrigerator/freezer, microwave, sink, stove, and cabinets filled with essential cooking items.

The seating area was spacious enough for 3-4 adults and the bed was comfortable.

The breakfast offered cereal, assorted bread with toaster, yogurt, and fruit as well as coffee, tea and juice.

The pool was very clean and also had a bin stocked with a few toys and plenty of flotation "noodles."

Our friends' room had a bit of a smokey smell.

We were able to bring our dog for a charge of $100 for our entire stay (flat fee with no stay duration limit).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plesant Prairie, WI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you know Comfort Inns, you know this place but it's not a Comfort Inn. It's a Marriott Towne Place Suites and what a misnomer the "suites" part is. The fun begins with entering the postage stamp size lobby with it's faux business center (one slow computer terminal and printer crammed into the corner of a very small room). Next door is a laundry room that doesn't even have a folding table or a wastebasket for dryer lint near the dryers (it's at the door). Getting to your room requires walking through hallways with garish lighting (nothing against those fluorescent replacement bulbs but they can get them in a normal color balance for the same price)m, stains on the walls that haven't been cleaned and painted and gouges in door frames, trim, etc. The hallways look a little trashy. Wouldn't take much to spiff it up if the management really cared about maintenance.

Now to the room. Spartan furnishings but clean. Shower worked well. Toiletries were there but partially empty. LCD TV on top of a piece of damaged furniture. No dresser. Tiny work desk with no telephone on the desk although there is an outlet for it. WiFi was OK. Stain on sofa.

I've been at TownePlace suites that were more attractive, better maintained and better furnished with a proper business center and community room. This place should be a Comfort Inn.

Staff was friendly but ownership and management needs change. Much of this place has a cheap, chintzy and run down appearance. With a proactive approach to clean up, paint up and fix up things might be at least a little better.

Note: my ratings are based by comparing this to the average Marriott brand property. This place wouldn't make even a basic Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center

Address: 800 Tabor Street, Golden, CO 80401
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Denver West/Federal Hotel Golden
Towneplace Suites Golden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.