We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, value and rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Tabor Street, Golden, CO 80401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Golden
Hotchkiss, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great price, value and rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, the price was right. Nice to have a kitchen to cook in, we cooked a full dinner one night. Free Breakfast was O.K. , could have a few more items, maybe cream cheese for the bagels. Room was clean & nicely furnished. Hallways, hallway carpet and entry doors were fairly dirty. Parking was at a premium. Mapquest listed this as the closet hotel to Golden. We passed closer hotels on our way to Golden.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
17
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

There is nothing spectacular about this hotel. It is what you would expect of a suite hotel.

The kitchenette had a full size refrigerator/freezer, microwave, sink, stove, and cabinets filled with essential cooking items.

The seating area was spacious enough for 3-4 adults and the bed was comfortable.

The breakfast offered cereal, assorted bread with toaster, yogurt, and fruit as well as coffee, tea and juice.

The pool was very clean and also had a bin stocked with a few toys and plenty of flotation "noodles."

Our friends' room had a bit of a smokey smell.

We were able to bring our dog for a charge of $100 for our entire stay (flat fee with no stay duration limit).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plesant Prairie, WI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you know Comfort Inns, you know this place but it's not a Comfort Inn. It's a Marriott Towne Place Suites and what a misnomer the "suites" part is. The fun begins with entering the postage stamp size lobby with it's faux business center (one slow computer terminal and printer crammed into the corner of a very small room). Next door is a laundry room that doesn't even have a folding table or a wastebasket for dryer lint near the dryers (it's at the door). Getting to your room requires walking through hallways with garish lighting (nothing against those fluorescent replacement bulbs but they can get them in a normal color balance for the same price)m, stains on the walls that haven't been cleaned and painted and gouges in door frames, trim, etc. The hallways look a little trashy. Wouldn't take much to spiff it up if the management really cared about maintenance.

Now to the room. Spartan furnishings but clean. Shower worked well. Toiletries were there but partially empty. LCD TV on top of a piece of damaged furniture. No dresser. Tiny work desk with no telephone on the desk although there is an outlet for it. WiFi was OK. Stain on sofa.

I've been at TownePlace suites that were more attractive, better maintained and better furnished with a proper business center and community room. This place should be a Comfort Inn.

Staff was friendly but ownership and management needs change. Much of this place has a cheap, chintzy and run down appearance. With a proactive approach to clean up, paint up and fix up things might be at least a little better.

Note: my ratings are based by comparing this to the average Marriott brand property. This place wouldn't make even a basic Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Not horrible, but not good enough. Dirty comforter in my room and my friends, air conditioning not working, saggy couch cushions, dirty pool water (bugs), all coffee out for several minutes in breakfast area, waited patiently and reminded associate that we still didn't have coffee, politely said thank-you after finally getting coffee and received a snub. Price a little high for what I consider a 2.5 star rating, everything cheap in the place including structure. Was not and have never written a review before, but air-conditioning on a 100 degree day put me over the edge. Not even a real apology from the front desk.

Room Tip: Price too high for condition, not what I expect from the Marriott name
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife, daughter and granddaughter stayed here for almost a week. Left before week was up due to the staff being totally rude, room/bathroom being very dirty and not clean like a normal Marriott property. Absolutely do not recommend this property unless you are a business person and not paying personally.

Room Tip: Pass this one up if you are expecting a typical Marriott experience! They do not have a clue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed for a day and loction is fine but carpets are dirty and need cleaning. Overall rooms look old and need some cleaning. Marriott properties have better image than this hotel shows. Very noisy rooms from the traffic outside

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here twice because my company uses Marriott hotels and for the location. Since the first time and was not satisfied with cleanliness which is very poor. They use this concept of "Housekeeping services depending on length of stay" which ends up being minimum. Both times during my two weeks stay I got only one cleaning service and was very poor; only making the bed and changing towels. No real cleaning. Breakfast is grab and go and you can find regular stuff. The bad and worst part of my experience was that one daybreak I wanted to wear a wrist watch I have hidden in a plastic bag in the nightstand drawer and it was not there. A couple of times found a different stuff that have gone missing like the room card key or a magazine but I did not paid attention. But the watch was totally unnaceptable. It js so frustrating that you can not leave any little valuables because have gone missing. The hotel management did not do anything about it not even a simple apology. I only received an email from the Costumer Service of Marriott. It is too bad this place is by Marriott and I will never go back. My company also decided to find another hotel mean area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center

Address: 800 Tabor Street, Golden, CO 80401
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Denver West/Federal Hotel Golden
Towneplace Suites Golden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.