We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flood damage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Park

Apex Park
18301 West Colfax, Golden, CO 802401
303 271 5925
Improve this listing
Golden, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Flood damage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Currently the park is only partially open due to flood damage last year. It is scheduled to be fully open August 2014. The big problem with this park is the limited number of trails and the amount of use it gets due to how easy it is for all of Denver metro to access. There is also the downhill mountain biker issue. I ride my mountain bike regularly on this trail and always yield when appropriate so I feel I am qualified to speak to this issue. People need to learn trail etiquette and keep the peace. Unfortunately this issue is becoming quite severe at this park. If you can live with the chance of getting plowed into or you can visit during a quiet time the park is a nice little diversion from the city just a few minutes away. There is frequently deer and elk spotted here and has some great views.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Park close to Golden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice variety of trails right out Golden's back door! Great for bikers, hikers, and trail runners with beautful views of Golden and Denver.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I have run Apex trail maybe hundreds of times.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Besides rude mountain bikers, the views cannot be beat. Close and worth the uphill hike. Hike to the meadows at the top. You can see DIA 31 miles away on almost any day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Gets too much use”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This used to be one of my favorite rides; Enchanted Forest is a good descent, and if you want to do loops, you can make it a long ride. But this system gets too much use now. Some bikers don't know (or acknowledge) the right of way rules, so the hikers tend to get grumpy. I never ride here on weekends after 9:00am or during the week after 5:00pm - just too many people. But if you time your rides right, you can have a fun ride.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apex Park also viewed

 

Been to Apex Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.