We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good meal before a movie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 13

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe 13
1301 Arapahoe St, Golden, CO 80401-1830
+1 303-278-2225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 136 Restaurants in Golden
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Cafe 13 is considered by many locals as being Golden's Living Room. We believe in the idea of the cafe as a social institution, a positive landmark in the community where work gets done, people connect, and ideas are shared. Our open, welcoming space is the ideal backdrop to any part of your day and we hope you feel the same. Finally but not least, we are proud to offer thoughtful, healthy breakfast and lunch items from our kitchen. Whether you are looking for a delicious sandwich, fresh salad, or just something sweet to nibble on, we've got you covered.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good meal before a movie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were looking for a quick "lite" meal before a movie, the service was friendly, informative, responsive.The food also was very good, tasty, and well preportioned. Coming from NYC the prove for 4 was amazing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, IL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wish it was Better Than it Was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stopped at Cafe 13 while bringing our daughter to Mines. We were looking for a quick, hearty, reasonably priced breakfast. Unfortunately Cafe 13 missed on a couple of these points. The price was fair and the breakfast choices were good for a predominantly coffee-focused establishment, but the portions were odd and the food inconsistent. My daughter's chocolate chip pancakes were well made, with a large stack of beautiful, evenly made cakes. My buttermilk pancakes, by contrast, while equally large, looked like a four-year-old made them. They were very weirdly shaped, like someone just randomly spilled batter on a grill top and the insides we mostly undercooked - even raw in parts. I did not send the order back because we did not have the time to wait at the counter to be helped and then to wait for a new order. My other daughter's egg platter was well made, and she said it was very tasty. But I could not help noticing the hashbrown portion looked like maybe two tablespoons of potatoes, if that. Are potatoes that expensive that tiny portions are required to keep the price reasonable? On the up side, the mocha lattes were very well received. Maybe Cafe 13 needs to stick to beverages and pastry until they gets the kinks worked out of their kitchen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Local Spot to Sip & Chat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you're looking for a cozy spot to sip coffee, nibble one of their incredible cinnamon buns (share it with a friend!) and bump in to the locals, Cafe 13 is the place. It's just off Washington Ave and there are several little spaces where you can meet your committee, chat with a friend, or just enjoy a cup of coffee and a moment of solitude. I always take home a chocolate chip cookie for later!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, CO
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Skip the Starbucks habit, have the best expresso in town at Cafe 13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Anytime we are in Golden (which is a lot for both personal and professional travel) Cafe 13 is the first place we go in the morning. The expresso drinks are the best in town and both the breakfast and lunch offerings are terrific. Why have Starbucks B- to B+ coffee when you could have it A+ at Cafe 13?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 13 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 13, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.