We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Mexican Restaurant

El Dorado Mexican Restaurant
720 Arapahoe St, Golden, CO 80401-1031
303-278-4644
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 136 Restaurants in Golden
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Denver, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We've been here about 10 times now and it seems better every time. I don't know if they changed menu items, different cooks or what, but the food is really good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best Carnitas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I try to get to Eldorado as often as we can, their food is wonderful, their margaritas (always 2 for 1) are delicious. The staff is very friendly and attentive. If you're thinking about trying this place I highly recommend that you do!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Terrific food and very pleasant service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After a week of traveling around the Denver area I was craving Mexican food. This place hit the spot. I found the place comfortable and clean. The bathroom was exceptionally clean which can often be an indication about the rest of the place. The staff there were extremely helpful, friendly and responsive. I asked to move to a table near an electrical outlet as the GPS on my phone had nearly wiped out my battery. They were very accomodating and helped me make the transition. My enchiladas were spectacular and my flan was great, too. A great experience and one I'd repeat if ever in that area again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant out of the way surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

While out sightseeing on a Saturday afternoon we looked for a place to stop and have some dinner. We came across El Dorado in Golden. It was tucked back in a neighborhood off the main street and looked inviting. We stopped and had a good dinner with very good service. The portions were large and plentiful and tasty. If you are in the mood of a quiet, tasty dinner, this is the place to go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“-10 if I could”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Really, come on, Really. A group of 10, including one child and a pregnant women visited this terrible establishment after a wonderful day on clear creek, frisbee throwing, paddling and such. A nice dinner and drink on the patio to follow ... NOPE, no mas, I don't think so. The owner was so rude, place dirty, atmosphere like a basement or more like I would imagine hell would be like. We left before the food was served, with this said 2 things will be noted.

1. The people I was with are some of the most beautiful souls in the world, they say a negative word about no one.

2. the salsa wasn't half bad.

recommendation; Go to Golden City Brewery and be yourself, save yourself the stress and write the city of Golden a letter to close the place down.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Dorado Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Dorado Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.