We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience with a wonderful hostess!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pansy's Parlor Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pansy's Parlor Bed & Breakfast
906 12th Street, Golden, CO 80401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Golden B&B and Inns
Salida, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A lovely experience with a wonderful hostess!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Judy - We want to thank you again for providing us such a lovely experience during our visit to Golden. Your hospitality is extraordinary! Pansy's room was very comfortable and the sheets on the bed were a special treat - nice! I know you can't control this aspect, but even the other guests were thoughtful and interesting folk with whom it was enjoyable to share the evenings in the common area of Pansy's Parlor. We all especially liked the warm and inviting atmosphere in front of the fireplace. Your breakfasts, of course, are impressive and the special candlelit dinner you prepared for our anniversary was sumptuous. The whole house was kept comfortably warm and it was extra nice to have access to the microwave and refrigerator. We both used the wireless internet service to keep up with our businesses while we were there. Your little jewel of a place is situated perfectly in the town of Golden as well : we walked to a couple great hiking trails, enjoyed the paved walking trails along the river, walked around town at night and had the best lunch at the Nepalese Sherpa House. What a SUPER trip this was!! Thanks again, Brenda and Mark

Room Tip: We've stayed in two of the four rooms (two separate trips) and both were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Fork, Colorado, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here one night for a School of Mines tour. We ended up having the house to ourselves and played several games of Chinese checkers. Judy recommended a cute consignment shop just a couple blocks away which we would highly recommend and then went to a great mexican food restaurant that Judy recommended also. The location was perfect, the place quant, and Judy accommodated my gluten sensitivity with some wonderful muffins along with a history of the town and house.
We stayed in the Alice room. We thought it served our needs quit well. Someone else on here reviewed it as small. It is a historic house with a bath added. It is typical of a house turned into a B&B. We really enjoyed it. The only problem we had was figuring out how the front door key worked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here for three nights at the end of a touring holiday. The B&B is in a very central location only a short distance from Golden main street, despite this it is in a quiet neighbourhood and we were never bothered with noise. The house is very old with an extremely interesting history and Judy your hostess tells many tales of those that used to live there. We stayed in Alice's Room. It is on the ground floor just inside the main door. It was a reasonable size but rather crammed with furniture leaving little space for luggage. The accommodation is furnished in keeping with its history and has all the basic amenities although the bathroom was very small with only room for a shower and toilet - the wash hand basin was in the main room. Overall it was however rather tired and perhaps not as clean as it could be: the woodwork needed repainting, the rugs were rather grubby and the floor needed a good clean especially under the bed and other furniture (ugg!). The bedding and bathroom were however clean and acceptable. Breakfast was very pleasant but not a special as is usually served up in historic bed and breakfasts. Judy was however a very gracious hostess however whilst this is an OK place to stay it is not a good as the Dove Inn, which is only a few streets away and where we stayed at the start of our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

A group of four colleagues stayed at Pansy's Parlor for a conference. We were given the run of the house so it was an incredibly comfortable stay - not at all like staying in someone else's house. Judy is a lovely and warm hostess. Accommodating all our requests ahead of time such as decaf coffee, diet coke for breakfast and gluten free menu. Her breakfasts which are elegant presentations of apple fritters, fruit parfaits, eggs benedict etc. are incredibly delicious and are included in the fee! Each morning she greeted us with coffee, warm breads followed by fruit and juice and then the main breakfast food. More enchanting were her stories about the house and its historical inhabitants. It is centrally located - moments from everything. The rooms are comfortable and charming. I intend to bring my family back!! Excellent stay!

Room Tip: There are some rooms with their own bath and others with a shared bath. No big deal - the shared ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My fiance and I had our wedding festivities in downtown Golden and rented out the house for members of our bridal and grooms party. It was a great way for everyone to be in one place and served as an excellent home base for our out of town friends. The proprietor cooked a delicious breakfast and was very accommodating.

Room Tip: The bedrooms downstairs are bigger and have their own bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Wonderful host! We enjoyed our stay in Alice's room on the main level. Around the corner from downtown Golden historic area makes for a perfect location (home is from 1879). Breakfast was delicious with breads, juices, tea, eggs, and even a fruit smoothie! Enjoy a bit of history with a basket of artifacts including a bullet casing from Buffalo Bill. Affordable and best place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Bottom floor is larger with en-suite bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Located in the historic district, a block and a half from the main street and restaurants. The proprietor was accommodating, eager to please, and enjoyed sharing the rich history of the house. We stayed in the Buffalo Bill room upstairs, but I did not care for the narrow bathroom it shared with another room. I would recommend one of the rooms downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pansy's Parlor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pansy's Parlor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 906 12th Street, Golden, CO 80401
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Golden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pansy's Parlor Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pansy's Parlor Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list