We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Mountain

Lookout Mountain
Golden, CO
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$45*
and up
Denver Mountain Parks with Optional Denver City...
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic mountain near Denver and home of the Buffalo Bill Cody gravesite and museum.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must see!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited on our honey moon. We went once during the day and were fortunate to see wild elk. We went once at night to see the view of the city's silhouette. This was beautiful but ruined by punks going up there with arm loads of booze. Disrespectful. Also encountered drag racers. And graffiti as someone previously mentioned. I am still glad we went up there though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    106
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice drive, lots of hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

There's a pit toilet at the car park. We only did a short hike but there were loads of other hikers further up the mountain (young and loud). Loved the wildflowers! Very wooded trail to keep out of sun when we were there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive outside Golden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wonderful drive starting out near the Buffalo Herd Overlook. Once you reach the top, you can stop at the Lookout Mountain park and then head up to Buffalo Bill Museum and gaze down toward Golden and Denver.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great History lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had a blast. My children did not want to go here at all. Once we went to Buffalo bills grave and muesem they thanked me for taking them, I would recommend to anybody. Just be careful of the tons of bicycle riders. The view from the top looking across Golden is nothing short of spectacular

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Drove to the top and found views of the snow topped Rockies, Golden Colorado and Denver. Mountains on one side and the plains on the other. Left downtown Denver it was 88F. Got to the top of Lookout Mountain and it was 73F! Not much parking in Lookout Mountain Park, but much more parking at Buffalo Bill gravesite right next to the park.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lookout Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.