We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice drive, lots of hiking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Mountain

Lookout Mountain
Golden, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 attractions in Golden
Type: Mountains
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic mountain near Denver and home of the Buffalo Bill Cody gravesite and museum.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice drive, lots of hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

There's a pit toilet at the car park. We only did a short hike but there were loads of other hikers further up the mountain (young and loud). Loved the wildflowers! Very wooded trail to keep out of sun when we were there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    56
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Henderson
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive outside Golden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wonderful drive starting out near the Buffalo Herd Overlook. Once you reach the top, you can stop at the Lookout Mountain park and then head up to Buffalo Bill Museum and gaze down toward Golden and Denver.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great History lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had a blast. My children did not want to go here at all. Once we went to Buffalo bills grave and muesem they thanked me for taking them, I would recommend to anybody. Just be careful of the tons of bicycle riders. The view from the top looking across Golden is nothing short of spectacular

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Drove to the top and found views of the snow topped Rockies, Golden Colorado and Denver. Mountains on one side and the plains on the other. Left downtown Denver it was 88F. Got to the top of Lookout Mountain and it was 73F! Not much parking in Lookout Mountain Park, but much more parking at Buffalo Bill gravesite right next to the park.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a great place to stop on our road trip thru Colorado. The visitor center has some interesting exhibits - don't miss the surveillance footage running on the big screen to see what animals frequent the property at night! The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Outside there are a few nice trails for walking around.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lookout Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lookout Mountain to your Saves list