We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Mountain

Lookout Mountain
Golden, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Attractions in Golden
Type: Mountains, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic mountain near Denver and home of the Buffalo Bill Cody gravesite and museum.
Locust Grove, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Drove to the top and found views of the snow topped Rockies, Golden Colorado and Denver. Mountains on one side and the plains on the other. Left downtown Denver it was 88F. Got to the top of Lookout Mountain and it was 73F! Not much parking in Lookout Mountain Park, but much more parking at Buffalo Bill gravesite right next to the park.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    74
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pacific NW
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a great place to stop on our road trip thru Colorado. The visitor center has some interesting exhibits - don't miss the surveillance footage running on the big screen to see what animals frequent the property at night! The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Outside there are a few nice trails for walking around.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“White knuckler...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We needed to kill some time before our flight so drove up this scenic mountain. Lots of twists, turns, switchbacks, but what made it even more difficult of a drive was all the bicyclers! Had to keep stopping, waiting around the bends for them, it was crazy. I know that these folks are junkies for this stuff, but they should have a bike only day each week, to keep them and us safe. View was nice from the top.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Big mountain with excellent views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Visited Lookout Mountain and the Buffalo Bill museum/gravesite as part of our Denver vacation. The drive up the mountain (from 19th St. in Golden) was a breath taker! Every curve of the road brought another fantastic view of Golden and the more-distant landscape. Several hang gliders were using the mountain for some early Saturday morning flights and seeing them was an added bonus to this venture.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lookout Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Such a beautiful sight day or dusk.....if you are afraid of heights it can send your stomach into doing flips! We saw deer along side the road and just took our time. It is well worth the drive up to look, it is absolutely beautiful views!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lookout Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.