We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Mountain

Lookout Mountain
Golden, CO
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$45*
and up
Denver Mountain Parks with Optional Denver City...
Ranked #1 of 49 things to do in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic mountain near Denver and home of the Buffalo Bill Cody gravesite and museum.
Pacific NW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a great place to stop on our road trip thru Colorado. The visitor center has some interesting exhibits - don't miss the surveillance footage running on the big screen to see what animals frequent the property at night! The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Outside there are a few nice trails for walking around.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zippy-zappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“White knuckler...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We needed to kill some time before our flight so drove up this scenic mountain. Lots of twists, turns, switchbacks, but what made it even more difficult of a drive was all the bicyclers! Had to keep stopping, waiting around the bends for them, it was crazy. I know that these folks are junkies for this stuff, but they should have a bike only day each week, to keep them and us safe. View was nice from the top.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank okietravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Big mountain with excellent views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Visited Lookout Mountain and the Buffalo Bill museum/gravesite as part of our Denver vacation. The drive up the mountain (from 19th St. in Golden) was a breath taker! Every curve of the road brought another fantastic view of Golden and the more-distant landscape. Several hang gliders were using the mountain for some early Saturday morning flights and seeing them was an added bonus to this venture.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lookout Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Such a beautiful sight day or dusk.....if you are afraid of heights it can send your stomach into doing flips! We saw deer along side the road and just took our time. It is well worth the drive up to look, it is absolutely beautiful views!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous views a stones throw from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a regular place where we visit while living in Denver. We like to take the road up through Golden and enjoy watching the para sailers who take off at the top. Peaceful, easy to get to and a treasure for Denver.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SRCinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lookout Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing