We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big mountain with excellent views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Mountain

Lookout Mountain
Golden, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Attractions in Golden
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic mountain near Denver and home of the Buffalo Bill Cody gravesite and museum.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Big mountain with excellent views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Visited Lookout Mountain and the Buffalo Bill museum/gravesite as part of our Denver vacation. The drive up the mountain (from 19th St. in Golden) was a breath taker! Every curve of the road brought another fantastic view of Golden and the more-distant landscape. Several hang gliders were using the mountain for some early Saturday morning flights and seeing them was an added bonus to this venture.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    72
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lookout Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Such a beautiful sight day or dusk.....if you are afraid of heights it can send your stomach into doing flips! We saw deer along side the road and just took our time. It is well worth the drive up to look, it is absolutely beautiful views!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous views a stones throw from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a regular place where we visit while living in Denver. We like to take the road up through Golden and enjoy watching the para sailers who take off at the top. Peaceful, easy to get to and a treasure for Denver.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The views are spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not quite the same views as from Rocky Mountain National Park, but this is a neat place with ample parking and beautiful, pristine views along a great drive. Visit the nearby Lookout Mountain Nature Center - you won't be disappointed. This is totally worth a day trip. I would like to go back again someday.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice stop IF you're in the area.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great view of golden and denver from the top and nice view of the front range from the road on the way up. Probably not worth a trip to Golden just for this lookout but if you're already there it's a nice photo op.
Be AWARE that this is a popular cyclist road and you MUST share the road which means that you will be driving slowly because it's a difficult road for them to ride fast and it's too narrow to pass. The view all the way along the road is nice so driving slowly was not an issue for me.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lookout Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.