We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget motel, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Spruce Motel

Silver Spruce Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Spruce Motel to your Saves list
Silver Spruce Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 West Sixth Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Washington DC area
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent budget motel, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We have stayed at the Silver Spruce several times over the years. Our stays have been for one night in January on our way to Aspen. The staff could not be more accommodating. If you come in on Amtrak they will meet you at the train station. On our last visit in January 2012, they even upgraded us to a larger room because we had a lot of luggage. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean and well equipped with a microwave, fridge and coffee pot. The breakfast is the best I have ever had at a budget motel--wonderful sausage gravy and biscuits, waffles, cereal and sweets. The location is great--only a short walk downtown and to the Hot Springs. We have stayed at other places in Glenwood Springs and paid a lot more money for less. We will be returning to the Silver Spruce!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    22
    10
    19
See reviews for
38
40
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Nice hotel with big rooms (for the price). Close to tram, springs and downtown.
Breakfast was good and stuff was nice and helpfull. Hotel was clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed there for one night. Arrived close to 2am the night before and the front desk was opened. The room was very spacious for what we paid. My friend complained that the bed was hard but I slept like a pig. I thought it was alright. Great breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Great clean rooms, great breakfast, great value, very frendly and helpfully staff, easy and ample parking, can walk to downtown in 10 minute.
Just to best motel in Glenwood Springs, we will stay again.

Check out Rib City and the Glenwood Canyon Brewing Company, both on 7th street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was our second time in a few years staying at the Silver Spruce Motel. I have to say that this is an instance where you get what you paid for and believe me it was not much. After this last experience we won't return. We are thinking about paying a bit more and possibly staying at the Best Western across the street.

During this last stay, we felt like the place went downhill since our last visit. Our room was ok but we couldn't easily get connected to their free Wi-Fi and the breakfast in the morning was less than exciting (no yogurt) bagles, instant oatmeal I don't think they had fruits and the coffee not so good. We did not eat breakfast there on Sunday and went to Rosie's bavarian Inn and restaurant across the street for brunch and had a GREAT meal.

Also it seems like a lot of people were smoking and the people who stayed at the motel were louder and stayed up outside their room at night.

The rooms have not been updated and in our room we could feel the vibrations of the washing machine which was located on the floor below us. We had a second floor room.

The two people we dealt with at the front desk were nice enough but not enough to make us return. It is too bad as this motel is very well located and as potential.

Room Tip: Possibly second fllor away from stairs and not above guest laundry room - also away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for a week. Beds are firmer than my personal preference--but still quite comfortable. Room was cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. Breakfast was good--biscuits and gravy, cereal, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, pastry, waffles and bagels. The staff was helpful and attentive--excellent service. We stayed in a double room with fridge and microwave. A friend had the "pent house" which was like a small apartment--two bedrooms, living/dining area, full kitchen and fireplace. They greatly enjoyed their stay as well. Several restaurants are located within a 10 minute walk. The Glenwood Springs pool and access to the tram to Adventure park are also close by.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

My children and 2 of their friends stayed her 7/18-20 because of it's low rates and ability to accomodate 5 people with a kitchen. When I made my reservation and told the person that there would be 1 adult and 4 children in the room, her response was "who did that to you". When I called a few days before to verify the accomodations and asked how many the unit slept, her response was "I hate that question." When we arrived I mentioned that I detected the smell of cigarette smoke in the Lobby and wanted to make sure our room was non-smoking. Her response was "no one smokes in the office, except for 1 person and she's off for the the next 2 days and isn't even that heavy a smoker." Our unit had 2 small bedrooms without nightstand or any drawers and no closet doors and a living room/kitchen combo with a sofa sleeper. It was extremely hot in the unit at 6:30 pm, as it was in the 90's that day, however none of the windows had screens and some of them didn't open and the small air conditioner never cooled down the bedrooms. I was assured that the kitchen was "fully stocked" with pots, pans, silverware, etc. There was a single frying pan, no bowls, no pots and enough silverware for 3 people. The refrigerator was set at 1 when we arrived and was finally cool enough to put our food in when we left. The hairdryer was broken, the toilet didn't flush consistently, we were given 3 towels for 5 people and not all of them were clean, there were screws sticking out of the floor, there were cigarette burns in the sofa, the sofabed mattress was torn and so thin you may as well slept of the bare metal. All these things were discovered after the office was closed. When I checked out, I gave the front desk person a list of the repairs and wasn't offered an apology let alone a discount. I was so flustered that it didn't occur to me that I never received a receipt for the room charge. I orginally thought it was a good deal, but that wasn't the case.

Room Tip: Front of hotel faces busy street and back faces highway. Not all the windows open and none of them h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#10 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#4 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Spruce Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Spruce Motel

Address: 162 West Sixth Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Spruce Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Spruce Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Spruce Hotel Glenwood Springs
Silver Spruce Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Spruce Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.