We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Denver to your Saves list
Hotel Denver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   402 Seventh Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We have now stayed at the Hotel Denver 2x and are planning another trip in January 2011. Clean, comfortable rooms and EXCELLENT service from everyone we come in contact with! Dog friendly and "go green" option which means a lot to us.
Great restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance...as in just blocks away and right nextdoor! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    124
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
107
257
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cshel08
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Overwealmingly positive reviews for this hotel are not surprising. They have a really good thing going and I hope that doesnt change anytime soon because we will definitely stay again. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, the young lady who took our reservation over the phone did a great job, she was also there at check-in and remembered taking our reservation and greeted us as such. Even though this is an older hotel and they do alow dogs ... I was suprised to find no mysterious odors or stains of any kind, which is highly unusual considering the circumstances. I was very impressed by this and how clean and well maintained the property is as a whole. The hotel has a great deal of character and a rich history, we enjoyed our dinner at the brew pub located adjacent to the hotel lobby, the food was better than most pub food you'll find elsewhere in the region. Glenwood is a gem of Colorado and is a must see. You can walk to everything from your hotel including the Train Station, Hot Springs Pool, Dinner / Breakfast, Ice Cream, Locally Owned Shops, World Class Hiking, Biking, Sightseeing and more. Be sure to ask for the "Room with a Brew" package!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010 via mobile

Hotel Denver is a beautiful hotel and a great location. A great experience. Rooms are small since hotel is historic. Also, you can hear guests in their rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We planned this stop as we traveled back to Calif on the CA Zephyr, as we thought a rest would be good for my 91 year old Mom. It was easy to get to from the train station, the staff was wonderful, the suite we had was well thought out and lovely. The brew pub downstairs was affordable and tasty and the service was great.

I got kuddos from the family for choosing this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

An older hotel with great staff, smaller than hotel chain room, but well appointed and spotlessly clean.
A real key, instead of the personal-information laden credit-card like key.
Two lounge areas with comfortable chairs...
AND...
an attached brew pub with excellent beer and great food.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We pass this hotel and the Glenwood Springs Pool every year on our annual trip to Aspen and have often wished we could stop and explore the town and pool. This year we did.
I booked the Hotel Denver by mistake, thinking it was the hotel next to the Pool complex. It is in fact across the river, a 5 minute walk over the footbridge. However, the hotel more than made up for the lack of proximity.
It seems to be a renovated warehouse that has been lovingly and beautifully turned into a very comfortable and different hotel.
Rather than your standard cookie cutter rooms (a la chain hotels) each room has been carefully decorated with period furniture that reflects the atmosphere of the building.
Our room on the second floor (there are only two floor of bedrooms) had two queen sleigh beds a huge dresser, a smaller dresser and two very large, comfortable relaxing chairs. There was a table and two chairs as well. THe large plasma TV was mounted on the wall facing one of the beds.
The bathroom was a little small, but spotlessly clean.
Our room overlooked the river and the pool.
Parking is across the street and you need to check in at the desk to find it.
There aren't facilities for breakfast but several places just around the corner. THere is a nice lounge and a glassed in TV lounge on the main floor, as well as a hair salon and shop.
The Brew pub is accessible through the lobby. We enjoyed a good meal there. (nothing fancy but huge portions and good service). If you like beer there are several to try and I recommend the sample platter of 10 four ounce samples for $10.
The staff at the hotel were very accommodating. We had a slight mix up with the room when we checked in but things were taken care of quickly. The king size room with sofa bed we saw looked absolutely lovely, but as we had two teens with us and each parent was going sleep with the child of the same gender, neither parent wanted the sofa bed and we had to move to a room with two queen beds.
The hotel will loan you towels for the mineral pools (well worth a walk over and a very relaxing soak) which saves you $3.50 per towel at the pool.
Overall, this was a very pleasant stay in a comfortable spacious room that beats most chain hotels hands down. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

Our room had hardwood floors and old-fashioned quilts on the beds. There was plenty of room in the 2 Queen bed room, a large table & chairs, plus two easy chairs. We liked it well enough to stay a 2nd night.The staff was friendly. I was happy that there were no porters, but the carts were available for us to use. Parking is off-site, about a block away.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Address: 402 Seventh Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#3 Business Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Denver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.