We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Denver to your Saves list
Hotel Denver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   402 Seventh Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Pine, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I love the history this hotel evokes. The rooms are elegant but simple and comfortable. Beds are very good. I like that the windows open for fresh air. Rooms facing side streets are quieter than ones facing the train station but both got quiet at night. Service is very friendly. Liked the walk to the hot springs. Visits there are not free but good for all day.

Room Tip: Some rooms are internal and do not have outdoor window views. I would not like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    139
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
122
280
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

July 8 overnight. Received a warm reception when we checked in. In fact, all the staff was so nice. The hotel is on a corner with the parking lot diagonally across from it. Since we were driving Charlotte, our yellow 1930 Model A Ford, we were given a special parking spot. The hotel's history may go back a ways, but the spacious rooms have been renovated and furnished with antique furniture. Everything was clean and the bed comfortable. Keurig coffee in the room! Mmmm. From our room, which faced the front of the hotel, we could see the river with occasional rafters; the old Colorado Hotel; the colorful mountains; the lifts going up to the amusement park. Eateries of all types are close by. No breakfast served in the hotel, so we ate in a café a block away. Part of the enjoyment of staying at The Hotel Denver is being able to walk around, to the shops. Old hotels are fun to stay in; old pictures and written history.

Room Tip: Front-facing rooms have a view of the mountains and part of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and 2 kids stayed over last weekend. From the original reservation to the "over stayed granted" late checkout we had an excellent time. The room was spacious enough for my wife and I, two 11 year old kids and a great dane of 175 pounds. The reception desk offered waters and apples, discounted tickets to the Hot Springs (an easy 5 minute walk), discounted tickets to the Adventure Park, excellent advise on tickets and dinning. Extremely dog friendly. We had an emergency phone call and over stayed the checkout time and was granted a late checkout. They had someone waiting to check in and still accommodated us. Highly recommend and will stay there again. We were going to stay at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs and had a more enjoyable stay at the Hotel Denver for a fraction of the room cost.

By the way, there isn't a hotel directly connected to the Hot Springs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Denver's top notch employees' sensitivity and care drenched us in oh so "happy" feelings July 4 as well as July 13. From our first walk to the desk after a drive of many hours, throughout the stay responding to our needs, and upon checkout - rewards of old fashioned charm and memories were ours for keeps. Uniquely decorated and spotlessly clean rooms (of which we've stayed in several) dot hallways. Conveniently located, smack-dab in the midst of inviting dining and shops, there's very little to complain about. So, if you aren't a "dog person" just ask for assistance because at Hotel Denver everyone plays
nice!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is loaded with charm, employs an excellent staff and has a unique decor loaded with great antiques. The room was spacious and clean. I was really satisfied until it was time to retire. The bed was lumpy and soft and the pillows were miserable. Tossed and turned for hours. What a shame. I wanted to love, love this Hotel.

Room Tip: If you are riding Amtrak, whose station is across the street, call and check status. Our train was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace C, Manager at Hotel Denver, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you "smurfnmoms" for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to The Hotel Denver!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff, sleeping rooms, ambiance, and charm!
Our goal is to always provide a top-notch experience in a truly unique environment.

We are sad to hear our bed and pillows didn't meet your expectations.
Please contact me directly so that I can determine the room you were in and evaluate the bed for improvement. A restful night is an important part of your visit and we want to do all we can to ensure that. Keep in mind that our Front Desk is always happy to assist in any way and if you do not find your accommodations fully satisfying, we will work hard to change that.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and become your home away from home in Glenwood Springs!

At your service,
Candace Carnahan
Assistant General Manager
The Hotel Denver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Found this hotel earlier in the day . Used Trip Advisor advice to help us decide . Was very interested in the Colorado but it reviewed poorly . Really glad we stayed at the Denver . The staff is wonderful and the hotel clean , bright and pleasant . Our room was remodeled and had hard wood floors ( I don't think it was laminate) . I wish more hotels would go the hard wood floor route since it just feels cleaner ( and is cleaner ) without carpet. It was a large room that was quite bright and airy. Antiques mixed with reproductions really worked in the room.
Love the dog friendliness of Colorado hotels ! Wish we would have brought our dog .
I would highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have stayed many times at the Hotel Denver and each and every time the staff goes above and beyond to make us feel like we are returning family, as well as providing excellent service. The rooms are very nicely appointed making it feel like you are in a picture perfect western Colorado town and not just another hotel. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable. We have stayed in the Penthouse (private deck and hot tub), the Cupola ( 2 story spacious and beautiful views) as well as several other rooms. They are with walking distance to most local places of interest. I can't imagine visiting Glenwood Springs and NOT staying there. See you again and Thanks again! David and Rochelle S.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Address: 402 Seventh Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Denver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.