We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Good Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Denver

Save Saved
You added Hotel Denver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Denver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   402 Seventh Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Always a Good Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We live near Denver and often times need a break by going up into the mountains. We've stayed in Summit County, Vail and the Winter Park Area. But, we always think the stays at the Hotel Denver are the best ones. First, we bring our dogs and they don't charge us a fee. Most of the rooms are dog rooms. Recently we stayed on a second floor. Next Summer we'll stay on the third floor with a better view and a similar price.
But, what makes this place so enjoyable is the staff. They're so professional and can't help you enough. The women behind the counter are so friendly. They make you feel like you've known them for a long time. But, a big reason to stay is that they have air-conditioning in the rooms. That's a big PLUS!

Room Tip: Stay in a Colorado Room with great views out their huge windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    93
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
79
198
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wondervu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Hotel Denver staff couldn't be more service oriented if they tried. From the bottomless hot coffee in the lobby every morning to the neat little cloth bags with bath towels and bottled water they pack up for you for the hot springs pool, they were just wonderful. Facility was clean and beautiful. Will defintely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Denver before and loved it! This was no exception! We stayed 3 nights in the Penthouse. Which has a separate bedroom, living area, table and comfortable seating. The staff at this hotel are so accommodating and friendly. They will go out of their way to assure you have a stress free and relaxing stay! Love the free bottled water and apples at the front desk!

The best part of this spacious suite is the outdoor patio area. There is a private hot tub and a very nice seating area with an umbrella. The view is gorgeous from this patio! We had friends that were spending time with us in Glenwood Springs as well. It was lovely to sit out side, have a glass of wine and relax.

It is a short walk across a walking bridge to the Spa of the Rockies (which is newly remodeled) and the Glenwood Hot Springs Pool. All of the best dining (which is very good) is on the Hotel Denver side of the river. All within easy walking distance. Shopping is mainly off of Grand Ave. There are plenty of watering holes to wet your whistle or grab a coffee. If you like old fashioned charm...I highly recommend a weekend trip to this spot!

Room Tip: Penthouse and The Cupola are the largest, both have private hot tubs. Any of the rooms are comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staplehurst, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stay at the Hotel Denver at least twice a year. We've stayed in many of the unique rooms. We love having a view of the Colorado River and the train station. The proximity to the the Station is wonderful as we arrive on Amtrak. An unexpected benefit is the "dog friendly" aspect. We don't have a pooch but love them. So we get to visit with them in the lobby but never are disturbed by them. The staff is the BEST!!!!! And a very good value.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk. They are attentive to YOUR needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice hotel with a staff that goes the extra mile. My wife and I wanted a nice three-day weekend and it started at the Hotel Denver which right off the bat made us feel welcomed. We didn't take the train from Denver to Glenwood Springs but I think we will next time even though the train ride takes over four hours and a car will get you there in a little over two hours. Nice location to explore downtown and eat. Front desk folks were always upbeat and helpful!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper get a room that is not above the brew pub but further back of the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you're taking the train to or from Glenwood Springs then this is the place to stay. It's directly across from the train station, so the location is perfect. In addition, the main drag with all of the great restaurants and bars is one block over. It's very close or attached to many of the choice spots in Glenwood Springs.

I stayed in room 300 and I was told it had been renovated within the last year. It was far removed from the rest of the busy hotel, and I had peace and quiet. It wasn't a very big room, but I was comfortable. It had hardwood floors with a nice, big rug. The central air worked well. Everything was very clean.

The only drawback I found was the fact that I could only see the top few inches of my head in the bathroom mirror. The mirror is set very high on the wall and I'm 5'3". I was glad I packed another mirror. Other than that, the room had everything I needed and I was very pleased. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are pet free and others are not. All rooms are very clean, but if you're in the pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very welcoming. Beautiful hotel and close to the restaurants and pools. I would stay again and recommend this hotel to friends and family. They provide courtesy towels so no need to pack them! Parking is available in the lots or the street. Saturday and Sunday you can park on the street all day but weekday is two hour parking so park in the lots provided.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs
Address: 402 Seventh Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#6 Business Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Denver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.