We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly; Charming; Helpful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Denver to your Saves list
Hotel Denver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   402 Seventh Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Friendly; Charming; Helpful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great find!! It is very unique, and a great location. The room was incredibly clean, and the furnishings were quite nice. The in-house restaurant has been a favorite of ours for quite some time. The lady at the front desk, Anna, was cheerful and courteous! We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    134
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
117
272
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I spent 5 nights here and was blown away! The hotel has beautiful charm yet while in the room, I was not bothered by other guests noises like most historic hotels. My room was so spacious with unique and modern furniture and decor. I loved the view of the Colorado river and mountains. The staff was always smiling and friendly. The offer free laundry detergent and bounce which is great. They also offer a "green" program if you stay extended, I recieved $5 per night towards the brewpub next door when I opted out of room housekeeping. I can't wait to return to this great hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing the river have wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took Amtrak to Glenwood Springs and walked across the street to check-in at the Hotel Denver. The staff, at any hour of the day or night, could not be more polite or helpful and one young woman was interested in history and provided all kinds of interesting information for us. We had a room that overlooked the hot springs and the mountains - just lovely. The lobby area is large and carefully decorated to be charming as well as functional. A complimentary breakfast of fruit, coffee and granola is available daily. Each room is different and ours featured a faded quilt on the foot of the bed - perfect. The town is easy to navigate without a car and we walked to the hot springs, restaurants and shops. We would definitely recommend Hotel Denver and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: A view of the mountains is perfect in a snowstorm, as we experienced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location right near several good restaurants and bars. Roxie at the front desk was awesome and the remodeled rooms mixed old world charm with modern conveniences. The lobby was a complete surprise-beautiful. A walking bridge connects to the hot springs if that's your thing. I wont stay anywhere else in Glenwood from now on! Colorado rooms=gorgeous!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I travel, a lot, like over 50% of the time. That being said, I know quite a bit about quite a few hotels. The location is excellent, right in what could be considered downtown. Internet access is above average, suitable for business use even though I've repeatedly had some wifi issues. Linens are average, the bed is below average but similar to surrounding hotels. My dog (pittbull) loves it there and the gals at the front desk think he's great too.

Room Tip: If train noise is a problem, make sure to let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at this place for two nights. The location is fantastic as it is next to some great dinner spots (Pullman, Juicy Lucy's, and Riviera) and over a pedestrian walk to the hot springs. We stayed in the Cupola room, which worked out well for the three of us. The desk was immense and would serve well as a work space. Internet seemed solid as well.

The staff at the front desk were awesome. We got a warm reception from Mackela (sp?) and she went out of her way to make us feel at home. She even took the time to discuss the local attractions as well. We worked with two other women as well and they were great too.

This is an older mountain hotel, so don't expect modern decor. While still in theme, this place delivered. Wood floors, art work, furniture, etc.

Only two minor suggestions from our stay: the bed in the main room of the Cupola needs to be a king as there is plenty of room for it. Rooms need a safe for smaller valuables (cameras, iPads, jewelry, etc).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

WE love staying here. It is always an aesthetic pleasure. The rooms are very beautiful and comfortable. The beds are heavenly, with down blankets in between two top sheets, and a quilt to top it all off. The whole hotel is furnished with lovely antiques. You can walk through the hotel lobby to a great brewpub/restaurant, and the best restaurants are within a half block.

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms have an interior view, or are above the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Address: 402 Seventh Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Denver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.