We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly, clean, place to stay in Glenwood Springs, CO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanging Lake Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hanging Lake Inn to your Saves list
Hanging Lake Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   51871 Highway 6 and 24, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Cabanas Potosi
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great, friendly, clean, place to stay in Glenwood Springs, CO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The American Hanging Lake Inn in Glenwwod Springs is a great place to stay. Th family that owns the hotel are very friendly and make you feel like a special welcome guest. The motel rooms are extremely clean and the beds are very comfortable. All the rooms face the Red Mountains and the location, a lttle out of the center of town, is very quite but close to all the attractions like the amusement park at the top of a nearby mountain and the Glenwood Hot Springs, which are open from 7 AM until 10 PM, where the water is up to 104 degrees. What a great place to relax or enjoy the surrounding area. Also, close to Vail. Plus the Rocky Mountain drive from Denver to get there takes you through some very beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Red Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    51
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
67
118
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were traveling through Glenwood Springs on our way to Utah. My 84 year-old mother was also with us. We just happen to pick this motel to stay in and were very, very pleased with our choice. Very clean and comfortable rooms and bed. Mike was so friendly when we checked in and again in the morning when we discovered, after being on the road for l l/2 hours, that mom left her coat in the closet. I called back to the motel and Mike offered to mail it to us at no charge. How gracious is that?!!!
He's as kind as a family member. This motel is privately owned and because of that, they genuinely care about the sevice and the condition of their motel. I would recommend this motel to even the fussiest traveler. It was a wonderful experience and you can bet that we will be staying there the next time we travel through Colorado. Mike....you are the BEST !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, CO
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Mike and Monica run a great place to stay! They are so hospitable and make you feel at home. We stayed in a room with a king bed. The room was immaculate and decorated nicely. It had everything you needed---a micro wave, refrigerator, coffee maker, large TV and a good location. It isn't in walking distance of the hot springs pool or the downtown area but is nice to be away from all the traffic and noise. We also liked how the bathroom had a tub shower, toilet and vanity with a sink. Then there was another vanity with another sink out in the room. We live in the mountains and love to go to Glenwood Springs. It's the only place to stay there, and we've tried most of them! Give it a try. You will be pleased!

Room Tip: No room is a bad one here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I can't speak for the accommodations. The inn keeper never answered the door even though the vacancy light was on and the billboard stated 24 hours. Don't expect to get a room here after 11 PM. The motel is located and advertised on the interstate, and we arrived at 1:30 AM.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is by far the cleanest motel I have ever stayed in . Been on the road for 36 years and a comfortable bed is the most important thing for me. The beds are exceptional and linens very
clean. If your in Glenwood Springs, remember look into this motel the rooms Rival any 5 star
I have stayed in. Owners very helpful . I will be back this is my third time to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A friend and I made reservations for just one night on October 2, 2012. She had recommended the motel for its cleanliness and price. In that one night, we were very satisfied with the motel, sleeping soundly on the high and unusually comfortable beds. However, what stands out the most for me was the memory of the warm welcome and helpfulness of the proprietors. For instance, my friend had some difficulty with the ignition in her vehicle, and they were quick to help us get it started. Moreover, I absentmindedly left two tops I had just purchased in the closet when I left. And when I called, they not only located them, but offered to mail them free. I thought that kind of service was over the top.

Room Tip: Stay on the bottom so you won't have to climb the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We made reservations in August of 2012 for one night, September 21, 2012. Using our AARP card for a dicount. When we arrived we received a room on the second floor, with no elevator.
Lifting a 25 lb. suitcase was NOT an easy chore up a long flite of steps. You would think that a manager would select a room on the first floor with someone who is using a AARP card. My husband and I are in our late sixties, and are NOT as adgil as we were.

The rooms were exceptionally clean, and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanging Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Lake Inn

Address: 51871 Highway 6 and 24, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanging Lake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hanging Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanging Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.