We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trashy Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Antlers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Antlers to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Antlers
171 West Sixth Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trashy Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

The first impression of this hotel was awful. It was a bad experience with my wife and two children. The staff was not helpful in checking in. The rooms are small and cleanliness is not high on the list. The hotel manager/owner was not cooperative in the matter, and I mentioned I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — The staff/rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    143
    49
    14
    11
See reviews for
139
164
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, OH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2006

Guidebooks raved about this place. Actually though, the room looked very ho-hum. Off and on, the toilet ran, just enough to disturb my sleep. Continental breakfast was not that great. The price was good and the hotel is in a quiet area of town, convenient to restaurants and such. Desk staff seemed very preoccupied and didn't bother to ask me how my stay was. I forgot to leave a note about the stupid toilet.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2005

We just spent three nights over Thanksgiving week-end at the Glenwood Springs at the Best Western Antlers. While the price was right, next time I will spend a little more to get a better experience. Let me explain myself.

We opened our room door to find an older but comforting room. But what we found out as we walked around the room in our socks was that they chose great carpets to hide the dirt. The bottom of our kids and our socks turned black from all the dirt left on the floor! Needless to say, we didn't feel comfortable with our toddler crawling around on the floors. The next morning we found that the faucet on the shower was broken and had to be carfully worked or the handle would fall off. The best we could manage to get was a trickel out of the shower.

On our last night, the heater on our room failed to turn on. When I called the front desk they noted that they had calls from six other units in the same building with the same problem. Their solution: offer additional blankets. After noting that the temperatures were to drop into the teens that night, they finally offered a new room to us. So, at around 9:00pm, my wife, returning from the spa expecting to have a relaxing night, instead returned to packing and moving all our bags to another room - in another building clear accross the hotel campus. This move of course woke our children and the enjoyable evening turned into a far less than enjoyable one.

When sharing our experience and expressing the impression that the experience their decisions left on us, all they could do is express a less than sincere "These things happen...we're sorry...would you like to keep your bill on your charge card?"

Glenwood Springs is a great place to visit and we do this quite frequently since it is a great short vacation from our home in Denver area. However, next time I think I will pay the extra $20 or so a night for the Comfort Inn. A place where we had stayed before and enjoyed.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2005

Glenwood Springs was recommended to us as a place to stop on the way from Denver to Las Vegas. The ambience seems to deteriorate as you head west on I-70. Vail was excellent, although I'm sure pricy. We stopped there for lunch. Glenwood Springs is in a scenic canyon with the Colorado river running by, but is not as lush as higher mountain towns. Once you get to Grand Junction you know you are in the Great Basin.

The Best Western Antlers was acceptable and the staff was nice. Nothing to rave about. On the internet it seemed more like a resort, but it is actually pretty standard. Just OK continental breakfast. We were up and out the door on our way across the desert by 8:00 am. The room was quiet and the pool nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2005

I arrived in Glenwood Springs while the X-Games were in Aspen - the town was crowded. My reservation was at a place that turned out to be a dump, we did not stay there. We found the Antlers - it was a pleasant surprise. they gave us a nice quite room (in the adults-only building, we call it the Grandma & Grandpa wing). the room was delightful, the staff was most helpful, understanding and friendly. the Free breakfast was better then expected, although not like the ones you get in Scandanavia! The Room is full of trophies (hence the name) and was able to accomodate the X-gamers and the Grandma's just fine. I will go back. . . .

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2004

Very comfortable. Handy for the Interstate.
The only downside to this hotel is the lack of a restaurant however, it is close to a good selection in the town itself. The hotel recommended "Juicy Lucy's" which was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2004

We really liked this place. We were upgraded to a spacious room with three queen beds, which was ideal for our family (and the beds were the most comfortable motel beds I've slept on). The staff was very friendly, breakfast was fine and the motel is an easy walk from the Springs. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Antlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Antlers

Address: 171 West Sixth Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Antlers is situated on five acres at the mouth of the Roaring Fork Valley in Glenwood Springs, Colorado. Located across the street from the Iron Mountain Tramway, the only entrance to the popular Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, this hotel property is the largest by land size in Glenwood Springs. Spacious 5 building, 2 story hotel is blocks from the world's largest outdoor mineral pool, the Glenwood Hot Springs, and the historic Yampa Spa & Vapor Caves. These century old natural wonders are just a few of the historic attractions that makes this a year round Colorado destination. Our downtown location at the convergence of the world famous Colorado River with the Roaring Fork River surrounds our unique community with world class recreation, hunting, and fishing opportunities. Our central Rocky Mountain location also means we are surrounded by popular resorts like Aspen, Aspen Highlands, Buttermilk, Snowmass, Vail, Beaver Creek and Sunlight Mountain all accessible in less then 1 hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Antlers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Antlers Hotel Glenwood Springs
Best Western Hotel Antlers
Best Western Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Springs Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Antlers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.