We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel - Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Antlers

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Antlers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com BestWestern.com
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Antlers
171 West Sixth Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Motel - Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have stayed at this motel several times, good size rooms, with good facilities, better than average motel buffet breakfast. Easy walk into the town. Rooms beginning to look a little tired. Set in nice grounds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    103
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
92
94
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were driving through the Rockies on a top-down, convertible trip and drove into Glenwood Springs having little idea of what our motel actually would be like. Website photos don't always provide a reliable assessment of a property. However, we were very pleasantly surprised by both this motel's excellent location and its lovely setting. The desk clerk was quite courteous even though she was dealing with a difficult computer system.

We had reserved a spa room with fireplace and were pleased to find the room cozy and comfortable with the largest gas fireplace we've ever seen in a hotel room. The over-sized, mirror-surrounded tub was a welcome site to two weary travelers. For those of you who don't know, driving all day in an open convertible leaves you feeling much like spending all day on an open boat: physically wrung out.

However, there were some irritations which could be easily remedied by management. First, the gas fireplace, while charming and comforting, has only an on/off setting and "on" is "full on" with a huge blaze that must be turned off frequently to keep the room from overheating. This puts a large dent in the room's ambiance. Second, the large tub has no access/safety bars and is quite difficult to get into and out of, especially when all surfaces are wet. There's a slip and fall lawsuit waiting to happen. Lastly, the closest ice machine to our room was a hefty walk all the way around the pool and spa area involving multiple stairways. I'd hate to make that walk in inclement weather. Surely a closer ice machine is not beyond their budget.

Overall, a lovely place needing some attention to details...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eckert, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped here on a business trip, at the spur of the moment. The place is decorated well enough, and the room we had was clean. The beds were nice and comfy. This is a nice property and it is arranged nicely, hot tub was ok. The windows have shutters on them as we'll as heavy blackout drape,s which is nice of you get to sleep in. The staff was very nice and helped us with all of our need,s.the breakfast was your standard waffles, and cereal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stopped here with our dog on a trip through the area to Aspen and beyond. The room was a pretty pricey at about $130 with the dog fee. The room was fairly dated and could use some upgrading, which is not exactly a rare occurrence. What we found most unappealing was when we went to do our standard bedbug check before bringing anything of ours into the room (everyone should be doing this in my opinion) and got the sheets pulled back to see the mattress, the mattress was covered in little brown stains all around the sides. I mean covered. As in, this wasn't an opps, coffee got spilled incident. We saw no bugs on the bed, but what the heck was on the mattress at one time?? Thinking maybe it was a fluke, we tried the other bed in the room and found the same thing! We were now pretty concerned and when we looked up bedbug stains on the computer the pictures looked an awful lot like what we were looking at. We talked to the woman at the front desk who was extremely apologetic and offered to have us to take a look at another room, which we did. The room appeared a bit newer and more updated at first glance. But after getting the sheets pulled back on this bed, we found giant stains that looked like someone wet the bed in several spots on both the top and bottom of the mattress. We tried the other bed...same issue. I have no idea what is going on with this place and the mattresses, but this was a 2 week trip we took and stayed in ALOT of hotels and this was the first time we encountered this issue. Many hotels now have mattress protectors to protect against bedbugs and stains and general ickyness. Or they have mattresses that look almost brand new. These mattresses were old and dirty. They need to spend a little money to at least get new mattresses at this hotel so people don't feel like they are sleeping on someone elses filth. We went to the front desk again, feeling really icked out at this point and the woman offered to let us out of the room rental and did not charge our card so we could go somewhere else to stay. She was very apologetic over the whole thing. As she was the only employee we really encountered we felt she did an excellent job of trying to fix our issue with another room, but there was nothing more she could really do. But we would not recommend this hotel at this point. It wasn't worth the chance of encountering bedbugs or sleeping on a dirty mattress for us.

Room Tip: Check your mattress first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The good ... the room was very large and nicely decorated with wooden bed frames, comfortable mattresses, and high ceilings. Interesting layout of the hotel with several different buildings. One word of caution, if you are on the second floor there is no elevator. Not a problem for us but may be for other travelers. Nice town with lots of dining options and a park with walking/biking paths. The not so good ... breakfast substandard. Tried 2 different cereals both of which were stale. Same with the bread. The hot food options are toast or waffles. The coffee is weak. Some fresh drinking water would have been great. Never once saw a staff member attending to the breakfast area. As far as the room, although it was fine to look at, the cooling system was useless. It ran on and off all night and never cooled the room. This is in October, it was cooler outside than inside. The shower head was "stuck" between two different cycles. The electrical outlets were sparse and very loose. The Internet varied from okay to dismally slow. Probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very comfortable room,clean,beautiful area,well maintained property. The breakfast was good,usual waffles, hot and cold cereal, several breads and pastries, fruit and yogurt. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent value, would definitely go back if we were in the area again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just returned from a two-night stay at the BW Antlers and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Three adults and three children - we were worried about having enough space in our room but we stayed in a suite with three queen beds and it was perfect! The room was very clean and they even provided cleaning service. The breakfast was great - the kids really liked making their own waffles. This hotel is close enough to all of the restaurants and we walked to the Adventure Park!

Front desk staff very friendly and helpful - I highly recommend the BW Antlers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Antlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Antlers

Also Known As:
Best Western Antlers Hotel Glenwood Springs
Best Western Antlers Hotel
Best Western Hotel Antlers
Best Western Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Springs Best Western
Address: 171 West Sixth Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Antlers is situated on five acres at the mouth of the Roaring Fork Valley in Glenwood Springs, Colorado. Located across the street from the Iron Mountain Tramway, the only entrance to the popular Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, this hotel property is the largest by land size in Glenwood Springs. Spacious 5 building, 2 story hotel is blocks from the world's largest outdoor mineral pool, the Glenwood Hot Springs, and the historic Yampa Spa & Vapor Caves. These century old natural wonders are just a few of the historic attractions that makes this a year round Colorado destination. Our downtown location at the convergence of the world famous Colorado River with the Roaring Fork River surrounds our unique community with world class recreation, hunting, and fishing opportunities. Our central Rocky Mountain location also means we are surrounded by popular resorts like Aspen, Aspen Highlands, Buttermilk, Snowmass, Vail, Beaver Creek and Sunlight Mountain all accessible in less then 1 hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Antlers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Antlers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.