We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home (if you live in a beautiful Victorian house!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender and Thyme B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender and Thyme B&B
802 Palmer Ave., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 (Formerly Lavender Swing)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
“A home away from home (if you live in a beautiful Victorian house!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We come up for one night from the Front Range to enjoy the hot springs and a day of skiing. Lavender and Thyme was a treasure! Peter greeted us warmly and showed us around. The house was built in 1905 and has been appointed with beautiful furniture and art work from around the world (thanks to Peter's passion for collecting and former work that took him to the far corners of the globe). And the clocks! Everywhere there are gorgeous antique cloaks (but no a lot of loud ticking, thankfully)! Our room was delightfully set up with a princess bed for mom and dad, and a kid's bed for our 6 year old daughter. We had a TV with DVD player but since were were there of just a night, we didn't bother with it.

Although, we could have walked to the hot springs pool - we estimate it would have taken about 15 minutes and involved using the pedestrian bridge over the river - we opted to head there by car after dinner. Peter had thoughtfully left us beach towels in our closet.

Breakfast the next morning was a feast for the eyes and the stomach! I have forgotten the proper name for the various dishes - a baked pear with fruit syrup, wonderful asparagus quiche among other treats. We visited at the breakfast table with a couple on a weekend getaway of their own and before we knew it, it was time to move on. A quick 20 minute drive to Sunlight and we were on the slopes and enjoying some of the best (and least expensive) skiing in Colorado. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    11
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed here over a cold and snowy new years, we were always cozy in doors. The breakfast was pampering, they even altered their menu to serve our children waffles instead of the more adult delicious items. We got some Dutch Specials being over the new years. They often offered an evening snack if we happened to be around.
It was in very easy walking distance to shops and restaurants and close to the hot springs.
The hosts were personable and, given the chance, happy to share the history of the house and it's unique furnishings. We will return again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

This was our second stay at the Lavender and Thyem B&B. We celebrated our Anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed our stay again. Everything was excellent. Innkeeper Peter, thank you so very much for a wonderful time, including all the "extras" like Anniversary Cards and Breakfast Anniversary pastry with the serenade.
You truly made us feel special, when all the while it is you who is special. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Bed and breakast was near downtown and in a cute quaint neighborhood. Really old house built in the 1800's. Innkeeper was nice and had information on everything to do in and around town. We stayed in columbine room and it wasn't as clean as I think hotels should be. The floor was dirty and wallpaper was pealing. Bed and sheets were clean which was a plus. Bathroom was dirty, toilet had not been cleaned, sink was dirty, and shower floor was dirty. Breakfast was okay. My husband found a hair in muffin and it made us both sick. Okay place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I've stayed at B&B's all over the world and this is the only one that has ever treated me rudely. My husband and I also learned that the couple who arrived the next night was treated in a similar fashion and we both decided we would call and inform the absentee owner. The manager, Linda, ruined the first day of our stay by her behavior. She wrote us a note of apology and then had the nerve to treat the next couple in the same manner! We will never stay there again and as long as Linda is the manager we suggest that guests would be treated better elsewhere. Candace Jenkins

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch_host, Owner at Lavender and Thyme B&B, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
Thank you for your stay at Lavender & Thyme B&B. We appreciate customer feedback and take our guests comments to heart, so that we can continue with what we do well and be aware of areas that may need attention. Lavender & Thyme, since its start, has worked for consistent service, value, hospitality, a unique experience in a one-of-a-kind Victorian home, and good communication with all of our guests, so we're sorry to learn that your stay fell short of your expectations. Fortunately, the dozens of positive comments about our hostess in our guest books and on tripadvisor.com helps me to frame that your experience was not typical. Our apologies for any inconvenience-- we hope you will return to try us again in Glenwood Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was always filling and they accomodated all our quirky requests. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at the comfort of the Lavender and Thyme BB. Although the rooms was a bit small for functionality it was beautifully decorated, very comfortable bed, clean and cool. The room was cooled by a window a/c unit which worked quite well especially considering the 100+ temperatures we were having.
Breakfast was a special treat each morning. We met some lovely people including Linda the InnKeeper. Breakfast was elegant with 3 courses (including desert!). Just the right amount per serving for an early morning breakfast. Each day was a different menu and wonderfully tasty.
It was a very special way to spend our 1st Anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lavender and Thyme B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender and Thyme B&B

Address: 802 Palmer Ave., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 (Formerly Lavender Swing)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctly different from a hotel, the Lavender and Thyme Bed & Breakfast in Glenwood Springs, Colorado gives you that personal attention and service you deserve so much. Built in 1903 and lovingly restored to its gracious Victorian style, our B&B is decorated with fine antiques from the 19th century bringing you back to that elegant era of comfortable and inviting guesthouses. Escape the world for some relaxation, pampering and delight with the personal attention, warm hospitality, and luxurious surroundings of our B&B as everyday life slips from your mind. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender and Thyme B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lavender and Thyme B&B to your Saves list