We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer hotel, clean rooms, nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenwood Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Glenwood Suites to your Saves list
Glenwood Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2625 Gilstrap Court, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Newer hotel, clean rooms, nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Nice, clean and modern rooms. Location about a mile from downtown, but I prefered it that way as it was quiet. Next to the river rafting school. Friendly staff and decent breakfast.

The kids loved the bunk beds.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    81
    36
    7
    8
See reviews for
103
85
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

When we arrived Christen was working at the front desk. When the room we were given did not meet with my wife’s approval she gladly upgraded our room. Excellent customer service a clean room, comfortable bed and good breakfast what more can you ask for. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have found. We didn’t partake in the free drink in the evening but did enjoy the breakfast. They provide an actual buffet breakfast not just coffee, rolls and cereal. They also had waffles with strawberries scrambled eggs, sausage juice and milk. If you aren’t happy here I suggest you stay home. I have stayed on almost every continent and this is about as good as it gets.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Our whole family loved our stay for one night here. Overall, a very clean room. Breakfast was from 6-9:30 and was pretty good: cereal, yogurt, juice, fruit, waffles, eggs & sausage, even a coffee bar (not free, unfortunately). They even offered a free alcoholic beverage between 5-7 PM every night (which we missed, sadly.)

We had a little trouble making the TVs work, but I went to the front desk and the nice manager came down to the room to show us how--apparently the buttons on the sides of the flat screen TVs get pushed by accident when they clean the rooms, so you have to reset them.

We cranked the air conditioner on when we first checked in since it was 92 degrees outside and quite warm inside, but after a few hours it hadn't cooled it off much, so we lowered the temperature, which I think stressed out the unit because it stopped cooling it off at all. My husband took the front off the unit and noticed it was frozen and really dirty so we gave up and some time in the middle of the night, it finally decided to start working.

The shower was really slippery and I suggested to the manager that they invest in some of those sticky grippy things for the bottom. We also had a problem with the drain not stopping the water from draining during kids' bath time, but we just gave them quick baths to solve the problem.

There is no pool here, but they own the hotel right across the street, so we went there and enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

Our room was on the first floor with the bunk beds for the kids and they always love the bunk beds. We did have some noisy people right above us, but we were so worn out we slept anyway.

The front desk employees were very helpful, even the young lady getting trained. They gave us honest opinions on where to eat and attractions nearby. All in all, a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Excellent hotel, confortable,clean, very good service at Front desk; very good free breakfast.
We got a room with 2 separate spaces: 1 with a queen bed, other with bunk beds for our 14 and 17 kids; they loved it!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We had a king room and it was faultless. Very clean, excellent bedding, very good bathroom, flat-screen TV with ample choice, thermostat-controlled a/c.

Our check-in was friendly enough but the staff was unimpressive. They were consistently unfriendly or disinterested. The breakfast room was fairly small but you could also sit outside. The choice was good, though more savoury bakery items would be better and you had to be quick with any fruit other than apples or it was gone.

We liked the underground car park. We didn't like the manager's reception. Our first sight of the hotel as we pulled in was a bunch of scruffy men sitting outside with their feet up on the tables and chairs, swigging back the bevvies. We almost left before we'd got there.

On our way back we stayed at their partner hotel, the Quality Inn, next door, which we preferred.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights (1 adult and 1 teenager). The room was lovely - the 2 queen size beds were incredibly comfortable. There was a sofa which was also a sofa bed, desk, wireless internet which worked well, fridge, microwave and digital TV with free movies. The complimentary breakfast included cereal, things to toast, pastires, waffles, eggs, sausage and was served in the coffee shop by a very hard working lady. There was always coffee available in the lobby. The staff on reception were incredibly helpful. The guest laundry was reasonably priced and easy to use. There was one computer with printing facilities in the lobby which I used quite a bit. This was often quite busy and sometimes a queue developed.
The only slight drawback is that the hotel is at the west end of Glenwood Springs so you need to drive to the centre for restaurants, bike rentals and rafting offices - we found parking in the centre quite difficult. There is a rafting office across the street but most trips did not start/end there though we did manage to get a lift from them one day.
An outdoor pool would have been the icing on the cake though we did get pretty wet on the river. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

We booked a reservation at Glenwood Suites because our favorite B&B was unavailable for the weekend. We are so glad we did because Glenwood Suites was fabulous! We will definitely stay there again.

We had a little mix-up with the reservation but the manager, Paul Knapp, corrected it quickly and courteously. Any issue we had (there was a small one with the shower closure) was handled with the same courtesy. Paul was great!

We booked a two-bedroom suite and the room was outfitted a bit better than the standard hotel. There were flatscreen HDTVs in each bedroom and one in the living/dining area. The beds were incredibly comfortable pillow top mattresses with down comforters and lots of pillows! So luxurious.

Breakfast was complimentary and was a nice spread. Waffles, eggs, sausages, cold and hot cereal, fruit, yogurt, pastries, coffee, tea, etc. were all available in the east end cafe.

Another bonus about this hotel is the later checkout. We are used to 10 am check-outs but check-out is at noon at Glenwood Suites which allows one to sleep in and enjoy a leisurely breakfast before heading home.

The only small complaint is I wish both bedrooms had a bathroom but the one big bathroom the suite had was huge. The shower was big enough for two people. The jacuzzi tub was roman style and part of the master suite which allowed privacy for couples traveling with children.

A couple of recommendations to the hotel owner is to install a safety mirror in the underground parking garage so cars exiting can see any cars entering the garage at the same time. Also, DVD players in the room would be great for people who bring their own movies but On Demand programming is a nice substitute.

  • Liked — Comfortable Beds
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#4 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwo...
#6 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Suites

Address: 2625 Gilstrap Court, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenwood Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glenwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hotel Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Hotel Springs
Clarion Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenwood Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.