We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenwood Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Glenwood Suites to your Saves list
Glenwood Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2625 Gilstrap Court, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

For a long trip, definitely consider one of the executive suites. They are essentially one bedroom apartments with very comfortable living area, extremely comfortable bed and a nice big bathroom. We have a spa suite so we also have a jacuzzi tub, one of those little luxuries that I am willing to pay some extra bucks for since I can't get one into my own home. The kitchen has a full-size frig and oven along with plates, glasses, etc. Really nice cable offerings as well, along with DVR that works! First time I've seen that in any hotel anywhere. The hotel is a little off the beaten track but small price to pay for such nice accommodations at a very reasonable price considering what you get. Plus, right across the road is the Colorado Tiver with a nice walking path. And although this hotel is next to the interstate, it's very quiet in the rooms.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I am writing this to say thank you for your compliments and your stay. We have several of the suites you are referring to and even larger ones for families or groups traveling together. We are currently working on putting several packages together which include local attractions and events. Please consider staying with us again on your next trip through Glenwood Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    69
    30
    6
    7
See reviews for
90
70
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

When going to bed that evening around 10p I did the bedbug check (I know I should of did it at check-in) and found some LIVE small worm like things. I brought this down to the front desk and was told they are 'larva". The clerks were very apologetic. One of the clerks contacted the manger who suggest they go up and vacuum out our bed and explain they are harmless. Maybe so but........... at that point I'm not sleeping in a bed with live worms, harmless to them or not. The clerk attempted to call around but was unable to find another room as everything in the area was full. After much back and forth with front desk staff was decided they would get us two roll-a-ways and we would sleep on them in our room. When we took the sheet off the roll-a-way there was actually a bunch of food and crumbs on the mattress, which also was thread bare. Now who would put a sheet over a dirty mattress. Was just so gross. Slept in our car.............. was a long night. Oh and when we went into the garage to get our car thier was three kids smoking pot in the garage. The clerks were apologetic and did what they can to help. The manager I don't believe cared at all and was disappointed with his attitude.

Room Tip: Stay some where else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Regional Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
On behalf of our entire team please accept our apology. You can see by our other reviews this is not a common experience. We consider this unacceptable and would like the opportunity to make things right with you. The entire team on duty during your stay has been contacted in regards to your comments. Please contact me directly at 720-495-2762. I do travel frequently but check voicemail daily and will return your call if I'm unable to accept as you ring. Measures have been taken on site and we'd now like to address them with you personally if you will give us another chance. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Sincerely,
Tina Long
Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed one night at the Glenwood Suites and it was a nice clean place, seemed pretty new and had a friendly staff. Just across the street from the river and about a 5 minute drive into downtown Glenwood Springs. The young woman at the frt. desk gave us good directions and also recommended a couple of places for dinner (The Grind was great). Beds in the room were comfortable and there was a free breakfast in the morning, that was very good

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Regional Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and encourage you to check our specials and packages any time you come through the area. We have lots of activities year round and can always help you find great things to do should you need any guidance.

Happy travels!
Tina Long
Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I can’t even describe how disappointed we were with our stay. We have stayed here on two previous visits to Glenwood so we thought staying here for four nights would be a good idea- we were wrong.
(Day One) On our first night we noticed the parking lot was completely full with Union Pacific vehicles and other commercial vehicles so we had to park underground which has no security cameras so we felt uncomfortable with that. No one was at the front desk to greet us or check us in and when we finally found someone he was not friendly at all! We looked around for the baggage (dolly) to retrieve our luggage from the car and were told from the front desk gentleman “it’s around here somewhere you will have to go and look for it”. So far, not getting a warm fuzzy feeling at all.
Later on in the same evening around 9PM we heard yelling and screaming coming from the parking lot outside our window, I opened up the door to find approx. eight men fist fighting each other, one had a crowbar and was hitting another man with it and there was blood all over the parking lot and sidewalks. Another person was throwing up all over the landscaping and they all seemed drunk. We had seen all of these men at the Manager’s Reception where they serve alcohol for free (one drink) then you can purchase as much as you want. They were all from Union Pacific Railroad working in Glenwood Springs. (They all had also taken all of the outdoor tables and were congregating there earlier in the evening). I immediately called the front desk and the one person staff went outside and told them to break it up, these “gentlemen” continued to fist fight with each other and the police and ambulance were called. It was quite a sight to see.
After everyone was taken away either in handcuffs or an ambulance at 11pm we decided to go to bed, we were offered an apology from the front desk person that evening, but the manager never called us. The front desk staff told us that the Union Pacific workers were staying there on an ongoing basis (way to ruin a decent hotel.) **Warning**- the Comfort Inn across the street also owned by the same company had a lot of company trucks in their parking lot.
(Day Two)
We decided to go to the “free” breakfast- had it not been free I would not have paid for it. Cold everything- the coffee was really bad, the area where the breakfast food was very dirty, the tables all needed cleaned, the funny thing was all of the housekeepers were in there eating and not one was cleaning-Suggestion: I would take bananas with you because there wasn’t any fruit in sight except old outdated apples. This freebie was a pass. We returned to our room only to have it filled up with cigarette smoke coming from below- I opened the door to see there was a bench right below our patio and a smoking area- drifting right into our room- I went to the front desk and insisted they move the bench so smoke wouldn’t be blowing in our door and windows, they did do this, but it was moved back by the time we checked out- if you don’t want cigarette smoke blowing in your room all day DO NOT get room #251.
(Day Three)
We were gone most of the day sightseeing and when we returned our room was very hot, we had left the A/C running but it was still hot, we called the front desk and they had someone come to check it out. The A/C was frozen over and was full of ice, the worker told us this always happens with this A/C unit. So we sat there for the next two hours while he picked ice from it and got it running again. We also noticed no drinking water was left in our room, no lotion left in the bathroom, and it looked like the bathroom had not been cleaned.
(Day Four)
We checked out a day early!! YEA!! Deciding this wasn’t worth the $$ and we went somewhere else for our last night.
All in all we will never stay here again or recommend it. The first thing I will do is ask a SMALL hotel BEFORE booking a room is, do you rent out rooms to corporations? If they say yes, I would look somewhere else. Second, even though it’s a non smoking hotel, is the smoking area close to the room we have? And thirdly, if it looks like a lemon on the first day of vacation- MOVE that day, chances are it won’t get better, only worse.

Room Tip: Do not get room #251 unless you like cigarette smoke blowing into your room all day and night. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Regional Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I want to start by thanking you for your business. Your opinions are very important to us. Due to the nature of your comments, research and inquiry to the events was needed. Because there are several incidents you are citing, I'd prefer to discuss anything I can do to earn your business back personally. Our corporate business is quite valued and security is important to all of the companies that lodge with us. We continually exceed their expectations and this is in fact a one-of-a -kind incident. Proper channels were taken to address the situation. You had mentioned you stayed with us twice previously, which is why you came back. I hope you will be willing to give us another chance, knowing that is was not our normal level of service. I can be reached at 720-495-2762. Thank you for your consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The staff could have been friendlier. Everyone was "ok", but certainly did not act like they were glad to have us there. Even at the "manager's reception", the lady getting the drinks acted like she was being put upon to do so. I've definitely seen cleaner rooms, but it wasn't disgusting. All in all, our stay was "BLAH".
One thing I do wish to comment on separately was the quality of the breakfast. It has been many, many years since I have seen a breakfast offering that was that bad. Stale English muffins, cold cereal, and weak coffee do not make for a very appetizing breakfast bar.

Room Tip: Look for a different place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Regional Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Your comments are appreciated. Customer service is very important to us and we take your comments seriously. At our recent staff meeting we individually addressed comments made on all of the online review sites. Staff awareness and growth are at the core of our company mission, and we have in fact been titled a Gold property by Choice hotels which put us in the top percentile. This is a tradition we plan to continue and it's guests such as yourself that help us drive our property to that level. Thank you for helping management by voicing your opinions, we will continue to work towards a great experience for every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Probably the best value I have experienced in extensive travel in the US and Europe.The room was very well furnished, full size appliances, excellent ammenities, great linens and towels, river walk and very strong wifi

Room Tip: The two bedroom king unit was extremely spacious, well equiped and ery well appointed--gret bed, lin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Regional Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Your compliments are appreciated and will be shared with the whole team. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel staff was very accommodating of our various requests, including changing room to one with a balcony. Front desk, housekeeping, and service staff were exceptionally courteous. The hotel was clean, breakfast service was superior for a hotel in this price range, and our mattress was one of the best we experience, and we have stayed an numerous five star hotels. In fact, this is my first review of any hotel over 30 years of business and leisure travel.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a balcony away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Suites

Address: 2625 Gilstrap Court, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenwood Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Glenwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hotel Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Hotel Springs
Clarion Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenwood Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.