We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice view from the trail!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doc Holliday's Grave

Doc Holliday's Grave
Linwood Cemetery, Glenwood Springs, CO
Improve this listing
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A nice view from the trail!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband & I arrived in Glenwood Springs about two hours before our hotel would let us check in, so we decided to visit Doc Holliday's Grave. It is a steep walk, but there are benches to rest on and it has beautiful views of the city. I found some of the other graves interesting as some of them even told how they had died.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    63
    32
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Great views of Glenwood Springs from Linwood Cemetery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I took the 1 mile round trip trail to the Linwood Cemetery, Glenwood Springs, CO. Doc Holliday and Kid Curry are two of the most famous persons buried there. The cemetery is on top of a hill and the trail is a little steeper than moderate. The great views of Glenwood Springs near the top of the hill are well worth the trip.There are signs in the cemetery to help you find Holliday’s and Curry’s markers. Holliday’s marker may not be located exactly where he is buried but it is close.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Be prepared for a hike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

0.5 mile hike each way. Not too strenuous, but be prepared for going up hill on a dusty path. The preserved cemetery is nice to see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senlis, France
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“For "Tombstone" Fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you loved the movie "Tombstone" and Val Kilmer as Doc Holliday, then you really should go up the hike to the cemetery. I went late afternoon, which meant the short hike (15 min) to the top was easier, less heat, and there was only one other family there. The cemetery is perched high above the city of Glenwood Springs, so there is a magnificent view below. It is dusty and deserted, just what you would expect of a western graveyard. Kid Curry is also here (he rode with the Sundance Kid). Since Doc H died pretty much a pauper, his actual gravesite is unknown but there is a mémorial to him. People have left little whiskey bottles and cigarettes behind as well as coins in memory of this hard-drinking, hard-playing figure of the Wild West.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“He may not be right under the marker, but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nice hike up the hill, a warm day and great views made the cemetery a good addition to any trip here. Lots of birds flitting through the brush, old and newer headstones to watch as you wonder who these folks might've been, Kid Curry up in Potter's Field, and John Henry (somewhere up here) with a new sign/information. Quiet and scenic.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Holliday's Grave also viewed

 

Been to Doc Holliday's Grave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc Holliday's Grave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.