We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go early to beat the heat in the summer.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doc Holliday's Grave

Doc Holliday's Grave
Linwood Cemetery, Glenwood Springs, CO
Improve this listing
Type: Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Lawton, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go early to beat the heat in the summer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The temperature would hit over 100 degrees that day, so we went here first thing...around 8:00 a.m. The trail is steep but there are a couple of benches on the way. We are glad we made the effort to see it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    52
    29
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A drink with a famous gunslinger & card player”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I'd been here ten years ago, when the monument looked incredibly different and with a more modern tombstone; was well pleased with the replacement of a more historically accurate tombstone of the era.

10 years ago, it was common practice for some locals and visitors to bring Doc some whiskey and a deck of cards, having hiked the trail several times in the past; this trip I decided to join in the tradition. We brought a couple of small whiskey bottles, poured one out for Doc and down'd the second ourselves.

All in all an interesting hike and will probably be back again at some point as the cemetery affords a very interesting night hike as well and some spectacular views of Glennwood Springs.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“cool to see, and we found a shortcut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We did this hike after the Hanging Lake Trail, so we were already pretty tired but still wanted to see this place before we had to leave. If you drive up and park at the top of Palmer Ave. by 12th St. and walk up the road past the gate there, it's still a steep hike but probably only half the distance of the trail--about 1/4 mile. Saves some time and energy, especially if you have other hikes and activities planned the same day!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice hike, good historical visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good hike/walk for the family, well maintained cemetary. Good historical lesson for all. Highly recommend. Great views on the trail!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“More of a hike than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Only had a little time in Glenwood Springs and thought that this would be a short trail to fill in an hour or so. It did, but on a very hot day, the hike was steeper than we expected! Still worth doing though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Holliday's Grave also viewed

Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to Doc Holliday's Grave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc Holliday's Grave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Doc Holliday's Grave to your Saves list