We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doc Holliday's Grave

Doc Holliday's Grave
Linwood Cemetery, Glenwood Springs, CO
Improve this listing
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Syracuse, Utah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The climb was a bit much so wear good walking shoes and take water. The hike was not long just a good up hill walk. Once at the cemetary it was a fun experience. Not only is Doc Holliday somewhere in the cemetary, so is Kid Curry.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    63
    32
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
RIFLE, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Steep climb”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is not for the faint hearted. It's a steep, rock trail with little shade. We enjoyed the cemetery but felt disappointed that "Doc may be buried there" Liked it but felt like Mt. Rushmore and Grand Canyon when Chevy Chase does the little bounce and ok let's go.

On a cool day, I would do it again

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, England
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 239 cities Reviews in 239 cities
572 helpful votes 572 helpful votes
“Not for the infirm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The rouigh gravel steep route has to be walked , and I'd recommend suitable walking shoes if you fancy it.
I took adavantage of the two benches on the trail to regain my breath, and once you get there, the small hilly cemetery is unkempt and neglected.
It seems a bit of a cheat for the exact grave to be unknown, and the fenced marker is presumably a best guess.
I expected better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“History Mystery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

No telling where Doc Holliday is really buried but the gravestones reveal tales of young children and mothers deaths as well as those from either the civil war or World War One. Short hike up the mountain but may be hard on little ones or those with disabilities. Don't forget to bring a ribbon, pen and paper for the wishing tree.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raytown, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something to kill time...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I think this is one of those things you just simply 'do' while you're in the area. Honestly, in the off season there wasn't much to do so we added this to our day. There didn't appear to be an actual parking area, we just had to find a spot in the suburb this is located in.
The hike will make you huff and puff a bit and it's a reasonably steep grade getting to the cemetery so, if you're not in very good shape that is your disclaimer.There are 2 sitting areas on the way up if you need a break. Be careful going back down, most of the trail is loose gravel and rocks and could be easy to stumble down.
It was nice walking around the cemetery and taking in the history. We meandered over to the Potter's side as well that was just a little further uphill.
So, for a free, outdoor activity it wasn't bad.
Apparently there were multiple bear break-ins at homes around that area this last week we were there so, don't be silly and bring a bunch of food with you or leave trash around. Bad for everyone involved.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Holliday's Grave also viewed

 

Been to Doc Holliday's Grave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc Holliday's Grave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.