We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge to your Saves list
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2102 Grand Avenue, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a nice and clean little motel. Our room had a frig and microwave. Little breakfast in morning-good enough, plus the pools/hot tub were wonderful. Bike/walk trail right across the street and the bus stops out front. Only cost $1.00 a day per person to ride it all day long.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary k, Manager at Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear ColoradoCyndy, thank you for staying at Cedar Lodge. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again next time you're visiting Glenwood Springs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    81
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
93
59
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in July. A few things other reviews don't mention that may matter to you: no smoking in the rooms, so the hotel has positioned chairs and ashtrays in the open-air hallways. Nice if you want to sit there and smoke, lousy if you want to sleep with your window open and don't want smoke in your room, or to be woken by loud, happy smokers. A group at the end of our hall pulled in extra lounge chairs and loveseats and had quite the smoking lounge going! Also, rooms in the front building are not quiet, as they are very close to the busy road. Whether that bothers you will depend on what you're used to, I guess. Also, as a decent relatively low priced option, this hotel seems to get quite a few construction crews, so we were woken by loud voices and revving diesel trucks just before breakfast opened. Nice outdoor pool, nice indoor pool, small hot tub, 3 pretty bbq/ picnic table areas to enjoy. Staff was a mix of depressing, harried, really nice, and pretty rude ( not all one person, although that would have been something to write about). Last comment: the room was so dark we had to bring in camp lanterns to see. Place needs to spring for some higher wattage bulbs.

Room Tip: Request a room in the rear building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary k, Manager at Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear muchan5, thank you for your feedback and review of the Cedar Lodge property. We strive to make all guests feel welcome and enjoy every aspect of their stay. We are sorry that you didn't have a good experience during your visit. While it is true that our property is located right on Grand Ave., only a couple of rooms actually face out to that road. The whole property is farther from the main street and boasts a quite environment. We do find that a lot of guests enjoy our central location as it puts them near all types of area activities. Here at Cedar Lodge, we do follow a 10 PM "noise policy." If we are made aware of any disruptions after that time, the staff takes the appropriate measures to alleviate the noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My sister and i have stayed at the Cedar Lodge Motel several times over the years. It's right on the main street of Glenwood Springs and only a 40 minute drive to Aspen. They have both outdoor and indoor swimming pools, flowers and picnic benches, chairs outside every door which encourages neighborly chatting with other tourists and, best of all, they have Mary. Mary is the heart of the place -leaves the breakfast room open for some hungry kids, directs the maids in fluent Spanish, and models a service-oriented approach that's hard to beat. While not the newest motel, the rooms are roomy, clean, and well equipped. The WiFi works well and the whole place seems well run. And the price is very good.

Room Tip: I was right next to the ice machine and stairs to the second floor with much traffic and chatting. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary k, Manager at Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Jeanne H, thank you for the great review. The best compliment we receive is seeing our guests return to stay with us year after year. We hope to see you and your sister again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was looking for a budget conscious place to stay for my entire family in Glenwood due to the loss of a family member. I found the Cedar Lodge on line and went with the reviews and its a good little place. Its pretty basic but its clean, the beds are comfortable and its quiet! The people who run it are very accommodating, especially with us due to the nature of the trip and the fluid nature of or plans, they helped out where they could. I would defiantly recommend the Cedar Lodge, its not a romantic get-away type of place but its a good place to crash.

Room Tip: It only has two floors, stay on the top if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary k, Manager at Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Jon R, we are sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your visit to Glenwood Springs. We appreciate you taking the time to review Cedar Lodge and are happy to hear about your positive experience with the staff. We do focus on providing clean and comfortable rooms at a value price and are glad to hear your feedback. Thank you again for staying with us, and hopefully you can visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Cedar Lodge is where our family chooses to stay every year when we do our getaway in Glenwood Springs, CO. With three teenage sons and one adult son, the suite rooms accommodate us perfectly! The lodge is simple in nature, which kept the price reasonable, but has everything we need, including indoor and outdoor pools, and it is within walking distance to the grocery store, park and family restaurants. It is a short drive from the lodge to the area attractions.

Room Tip: The Queen Suite has a full kitchen that includes dinnerware, silverware, coffee pot, toaster, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary k, Manager at Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Denise W, thank you for taking the time to review Cedar Lodge and offering such great insight about the property's amenities. We are delighted that you enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools and the fully-equipped kitchen in our kitchen suites. The Cedar Lodge staff appreciates your loyalty, and we are glad to see you come back year after year to visit us. We look forward to seeing you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

When we first arrived the bathtub drain didn't work but they fixed it immediately. The room was large: 1 room with 2 queen beds and 1 with 1 queen; 1 bathroom with an outside large sink area. Both rooms had tvs and we had a refrigerator. We were glad to have breakfast offered which adds to the value. We also used the guest laundry.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary k, Manager at Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear AnnetteFresno_CA, thank you for posting a review about Cedar Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to describe the room features and are glad you enjoyed staying in our Family Suite. It's great that you were able to utilize our on-site guest laundry. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband, daughter, and I spent three days at the Cedar Lodge Motel in July. The location was great, about 5 minutes driving to the hot springs pool and surrounded by grocery stores and fast food restaurants. The motel offers many choices in bed configurations. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds, a kitchen, and a pullout couch. However, daily housekeeping seemed questionable. I think that housekeeping did come to our room, because there were folded towels in the bathroom, however, our beds were never made up throughout our entire stay, which is something I have never encountered at a motel before. That seemed very odd to me. Given all of the other hotel/motel choices in Glenwood Springs, we will probably stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary k, Manager at Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear travelingal5, thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our kitchen unit and the location of our property. We do strive to provide clean and well-maintained rooms and are sorry about your experience. We wish you would have mentioned your concerns to us during your 3-day stay. Our staff would have been sure to address your concerns immediately. We hope that you will decide to give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge

Address: 2102 Grand Avenue, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.