We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starlight Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Starlight Lodge to your Saves list
Starlight Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   121 West 6th Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Pleasantly surprised! We booked this motel a month ago traveling by train. I must say, after reading some reviews on Trip Advisor, I was more than skeptical about the stay. We decided to give it a try because of the convenient location and price. Our room was clean and cozy. The bed was comfortable and the location was two blocks from the hot springs pool and downtown. We are coming back with friends and family for a Christmas getaway!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I decided to take a last minute trip to Glenwood Springs for Labor Day weekend and we wanted to bring our dog. I read all of the previous reviews and was quite nervous about staying here but I was pleasantly surprised! I don't know why everyone is complaining so much, you definitely get what you pay for! The room was small with a decent bathroom and queen size bed. It was clean and the 2 foreign ladies who were there and running the place the whole weekend were very pleasant. I suppose if you are going to Glenwood Springs to spend a lot of time in your hotel room, then no, this is not the place. But if you are looking for a nice and decent place to stay while you visit Glenwood, then absolutely! And the location is perfect!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We didn't spend much time on the room but were basic. Rooms are outdated and have a musty odor but otherwise comfortable. Can't beat the location or the price. Staff very friendly

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The owner/employee acted like we were bothering her when we looked at the items she had for sale. We were coming back from a walk and she said why aren't you in bed to our 2 year old. It was 10pm. Not any of her business. We were out for a walk at that time because we couldn't get the dryer to dry our clothes. It took about 2 hours. We finally put it on high and prayed it didn't burn our clothes up. They had a sign saying laundry was closed at 9PM so we had to rush at the end of our 2 hours. When back from our walk we saw a man doing laundry at 10PM.

The air conditioning did not work and was very loud. The rooms were filthy. We had to spray febreeze in the room because it smelled of musty (like it hadn't been used in awhile). They displayed that they had HBO and breakfast. Not true they did not have either. We paid $87.95 which we regretted losing our money to these people. It is not worth that at all. They advertised on their sign rooms starting at $59, I would hate to see that room. The beds were really small (not queens as were told). I would say close to twins. The view was terrible, you could see a brick wall. Wouldn't recommend to anyone. Really run down.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Spent two nights at the motel. If it were not for the filth in the coffee maker, the broken shelving in the bathroom, and worst of all- the snake nest of cords plugged in under the vanity this would have been great. The people, the location and the price are wonderful, but they have done a very poor job trying to upgrade by adding a fridge and microwave in a room with no polarized or three prong outlets. The tiny extension cord plugged in the wall couldn't possible handle all the lamps, television, cable and coffee maker cords, much less the microwave and fridge. The coffee maker reservoir was full of mold and mildew. I unplugged most of the cords so I could sleep without worrying about the electrical hazard. The management didn't seem concerned, in fact they were quite proud of the "upgrades", This location is prime! The sheets and towels were clean, and there is laundry on site. If you aren't going to spend time in the room it makes sense, if you have small children and plan on eating your meals in the room, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We traveled with friends and family to Glenwood Springs two weeks ago, and we stayed at the Starlight Lodge. This is a very cute, well kept, clean little place, withing walking distance to the pool and the activities in downtown. The front desk was very helpful.
We will be back!

Room Tip: The suites are great for bigger families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I found this place , while planning a chick trip several yrs ago. Needless to say I have been back 3 other times, Last time was with a huge group. Andrew was nothing but kind. I enjoyed listening to his Mom tell stories. We are planning to be back up at the end of Jan with14 people. Again Andrew set us up to comfortable accommodations. Very conveinient to town, and eateries.
On my chick trip, the Amtrak was late and they allowed us to stay in the room until we needed to go to the station, because it was raining. :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Starlight Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Lodge

Address: 121 West 6th Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlight Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Starlight Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Hotel Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlight Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.