We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ponds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanging Lake Trail

Hanging Lake Trail
Hanging Lake, Glenwood Springs, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ponds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Beautiful falls and ponds at the top, but way to overcrowded.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    114
    15
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a great hike, but be in shape. The hike is a little more than a mile horizontally and about 1,100 feet vertically, i.e., an average grade of 20%. Take water and a camera with you.

Our age group ranged from a 6-year old to a 71-year old and all did well with a few stops, both going up and coming down.

Get there early because the parking is limited.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Best Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We live in Colorado in the summer and have done many hikes, and this has to be the best. We went on a week day in September and there were no crowds and the weather was perfect. It is a 1,000' elevation gain in a little over a mile, but anyone in reasonable health can do this. The lake and falls at the top are beautiful, they almost look tropical.
Just do it.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horace, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is worth the work. The hike is not an easy one, especially if you are not used to the altitude. Make sure to bring something to drink. We packed a picnic and ate it at the top. If you are scared of heights, don't look down.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A tough hike, but a true beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Make sure you get here EARLY!!! Parking is tough if you come late. Make sure you bring some water with you for this hike that is over a mile long. When they say 1.2 miles you think "that's not too bad", but when you actually do it, it feels LONGER!! (unless you are the avid hiker, which I am not ) You do "hike" up rough rocks and cross bridges and there are many places you can pull off to the side and rest ,you will almost always have someone right behind you trying to push you up faster along the way and that got kind of annoying!!! I don't know what the hurry is for some people, enjoy the beauty while you are there. The good thing is that you will find others that encourage you along the way up.When you get to the top you get a walk way that goes around the lake to the waterfalls . The water is so clear it's amazing! Take your camera and get a few great shots from behind the waterfall. When I was there and wanted to take a picture, I had the one idiot that thought he was so "cool" and had to walk out to the middle of the lake and dance around, basically ruining everyone's photo op. The hike down goes a lot faster, but be careful with the slick rocks. All in all I saw people of all ages, young and old doing this hike. My child is 2, and we were able to walk /carry him up and down the trail. Remember to wear good shoes, and just enjoy it.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanging Lake Trail also viewed

 
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to Hanging Lake Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanging Lake Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.