We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt a Little Ripped Off” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glenwood Canyon Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenwood Canyon Resort
Save
You added Glenwood Canyon Resort to your Saves list
1308 County Road 129, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 (Formerly Rock Gardens Campground)   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Felt a Little Ripped Off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Months ago I spoke with a very friendly person over the phone as we had to book in somewhere as the place our event was going was full. The website looked good and we booked a large family cabin. It was a bit pricey, but it's Colorado on Labor Day, so we figured oh well. When we arrived, we noticed that all of the campsites and cabins were very close together, but our larger cabin (it was a new doublewide basically) had a little more breathing room. Would not have wanted to camp there as there was a train that came by probably 6-8 times a day and blew it's horn (and in the night). Check in person was not familiar with customer service and gave me a list of rules like I was a 14 year old. asked if the list of rules was in the cabin, they said no. Asked for a copy so I could be sure to follow-no. Fines for lost keys, late check, were in the $100+!! Didn't set a stellar mood. The place itself was nice enough. Had most of what you needed (full kitchen, bathrooms, lovely view) just when looking at the bottom line and how rudely the check in folks were (my husband tried to make a copy of a map and then said they were too busy) I felt like I was really getting ripped off.
On a GOOD note, the little bar/restaurant was kind of cool to have. Debbie the bartender and Kevin, who I think managed the whole area (pity he's not at the front desk) were absolutely friendly, helpful, and made up for some of the negative. Not sure if I would go back though. I think I would opt for something in Glenwood Springs proper so one could walk to things, etc. And maybe they'd be happy to have me there. Guys, work on that service, seriously.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    62
    42
    28
    64
See reviews for
191
55
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Glenwood Canyon Resort was perfect. We went up to do some hiking and rafting and couldnt have asked for more. First off the deluxe cabin was an amazing value. Very spacious, clean and had everything you could need. The location was awesome as well. Only a few miles from hanging lake trail and just a couple minute drive into town and the hot springs. Would recommend this any day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Compared with other RV parks/campgrounds we've stayed at, this one is just okay. The roads are gravel and there isn't any grass on any of the spaces, just rocks - and there aren't any fire pits. I think the best spots are down by the river, but there aren't full hook-ups for RVs. Yes, the trains are loud and made a wierd squealing sound (maybe the brakes?). We also agree with other reviews about the goofy set-ups with the sewer at the front and electric in the back - kind of frustrating. And we really didn't see too many people walking around (besides the specific activities) which was kind of wierd.

However, the location is nice because it is right off the interstate and close to the city of Glenwood Springs which was convenient. Also Glenwood Canyon is absolutely amazing and one of the most spectacularly scenic places we've experienced. Wow!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

For a Class A RV this is no place to go. Trailer Life needs to get a life as they overrate it. Unfriendly - we arrived at 1:55 and were told we could not enter until 2:00. We were blown off when we complained about the poor internet. Sites are unlevel, dirty, noisy, crowded and sewer connections remote. Save yourself the trouble and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for a little family vacation, even though we live about 1 hour away. I tell you- after two full days, my kids didn't want to leave! The activities at this resort are plentiful and fun. Be cautious though, they can be strict on zip line weight requirements. However, the activities check-in lady was the nicest, most helpful person and got us taken care of quickly and effectively. We did have a minor problem with our RV, but that was taken care of in a quick, efficient manner. The staff was so friendly, and the grounds are beautiful. The bar and grill seemed to be closed off to the public, so it was never busy and the food was delicious! We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Staying in a tent, camper cabin or other cabin at the Glenwood Canyon Resort, you will be surrounded by the beauty of the area! We stayed in a camper cabin for 3 nights. It was a great location to enjoy the hiking and water sports of the area, but also close enough to town to head in for lunch or dinner. We'd love to go again!

It would be helpful for the staff to place several hooks in the camper cabins to allow guests to hang items instead of just using the floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonetree, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great location, but that's about it. Overpriced, loud trains, cramped spaces, no pull throughs, no fire rings unless you are by the river. Bring about 30 feet of sewer line because the sewer hookups are at the curb at the very front of the site - about 50 feet from the electric at the back. After paying over $100 for my children to go across the river and back on their zip line, I was reprimanded for taking pictures of my own kids, even though I left the zip line facility and found a spot along the river to take my pictures. When they saw me on the river bank taking pictures they chased me like I was some kind of criminal, and falsely accused me of shouting profanities. Ultimately, I guess they have a right to set their own rules, just like I have a right to share my opinions on the Internet and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenwood Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Canyon Resort

Address: 1308 County Road 129, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 (Formerly Rock Gardens Campground)
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Glenwood Springs
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Glenwood Canyon Resort in majestic Glenwood Canyon, Colorado. Offering cozy accommodations, including Canyon Club Suites, Family Cabins, Deluxe Resort Cabins, RV sites, Camper Cabins, and riverfront tent sites, Glenwood Canyon Resort has ALL of your resting and relaxing needs met. Not to mention, while you stay here with us on the mighty Colorado River, enjoy some of our other amenities offered by the Colorado Adventure Center, such as whitewater rafting trips, zipline tours, high ropes challenge course, climbing walls, self-guided and guided biking tours. After a full day of activities, come on down to our very own on-site bar and grill and enjoy some delicious food and luscious libations on the deck of the No Name Bar and Grill. We look forward to your company and serving you and your family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenwood Canyon Hotel Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenwood Canyon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.