We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vic's Route 6 Grillhouse

Vic's Route 6 Grillhouse
51701 Hwy 6 & 24, Glenwood Springs, CO
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: http://www.postindependent.com/article/20110519/VALLEYNEWS/110519866
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.postindependent.com/article/20110519/VALLEYNEWS/110519866
Windsor, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We traveled to Glenwood Springs by train. We were tired of the bland food and poor service downtown for dining that we could get to on foot. Vic's advertised that they would transport from local hotels. We are glad that we did that. The staff was super friendly. The service was awesome. The food was amazing. The atmosphere was great. And it was the best steak that we had had in years!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    15
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peyton, Colorado
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Was not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We ended up here because the place we wanted to go to was closed due to renovations. Wish we had gone back to the hotel and asked for other recommendations. The waitress was pleasant but the food was rather tasteless in my opinion. And I thought when we stopped that being a somewhat retro 50's-60's place that we'd at least be able to get a sandwich, but those were only available for lunch, as if they wanted you to have to order a dinner for the $$$$'s. The front desk clerk at our hotel agreed with us when I said that was our main disappointment with Glenwood Springs as to our choice of restaurants that evening.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“too expensive, not good enough, not again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Always like to try a local/privately owned place. Our visits to Village were always 100%, our visit to Vic's was a disappointingly 25%. We had eaten at Vic's once before and it was OK. Prices were and still are too high, food was not very good, place was dirty. The owner seemed like he had better things to do than run this business. According to his employee he also owns the Charburger place next door. I looked in the kitchen through the window in the door and was not pleased with what I observed (a rolling 6' cart with UNCOVERED meat and other items on it), VIOLATION doesn't anyone inspect these restaurants?

When we departed (yes we did finish our meal) I walked around the building. I went through the gate at the east end of the building and almost got sick with the condition of that area. I was very nervous we were going to all get sick (food poisoning?) but to my amazement we did not!
I was talking with a man in down town Glenwood Spring that evening and he told me he had a friend who worked there as a cook. His friend was let go, so an person of questionable work status (maybe illegal) could save the owner a few dollars an hour. I believe it!

Not another visit for my family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburg, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Prime Rib”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Nice, friendly local restaurant with great service. Enjoyed prime rib for dinner. Service was prompt and atmosphere was fun and comfortable. Modest prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average burger joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Food and service was fine. We both had hamburgers. No complaints about the place at all. Neat stuff to look at while you wait on your food, or after you are done eating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vic's Route 6 Grillhouse also viewed

 
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to Vic's Route 6 Grillhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vic's Route 6 Grillhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.