We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but needs some updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of May Palace

May Palace
820 Grand Ave, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3404
970-945-0472
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good food but needs some updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Friendly owners and staff combined with good food overcame some areas of the restaurant that need updating. Lightning, restrooms, kitchen area and outside signage need some help

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing's changed, and that's a good thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nobody believes me when I say it, but this little place is some of the best Asian food I've ever eaten. Must be Grandma's recipes from the old country or something. I was shocked on my first visit 5 years ago. Just went back again, and nothing has changed. Fresh, flavorful, and ridiculously cheap... 2 appetizers, 2 soups, 2 drinks, and a split plate dinner for $25!!! Within easy walking distance of Hot Springs Lodge, Hotel Colorado, and Hotel Denver. It's a hole in the wall, but don't be turned off. May Palace is a "must-do" every time we go to Glenwood Springs... the best deal and the best meal in town!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went with 9 family members and we would have given the chef a standing ovation bytes were squeezed into their private little room near the kitchen. It is always fun to support a restaurant that goes the extra mile. We ordered so many different items and all came out fresh, hot and delicious. Fabulous food service and price!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of my favorites...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Don't let the 'dated' atmosphere steer you away--this place has an amazing menu (one of the few places outside of China that has lamb on the menu!). During the recession, the owners have had a discount going on all food items (50% two years ago, 40% this year), so the place is a real bargain. NOT a BUFFET.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

It is Spring Break and we were looking for a quiet place. The reason why this place is quiet is that it is not good: the tempura was fat and doughy, the rolls bland, the beef teryaki was a thin slice of chewy overcooked meat. Stay away.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May Palace also viewed

Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to May Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage May Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.