We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious cookies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 W. 1st St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Montrose, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious cookies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Nice, clean, good breakfast. Pretty much what I expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Pool is quite small, as was our room, but all in all was a very good stay. Don't miss the fresh evening cookies!!! Trip advisor is forcing me to make this longer so that's all.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the outdoor pool - our guests are loving that this summer! And, of course, the cookies - guests love those - great snack after a busy day of having fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    57
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
67
54
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The GroupOn was for two nights lodging for a total cost of $137.76, can't beat that. The room was clean with two nice beds with several comfortable pillows. There was a small empty refrigerator that was nice to keep water bottles, wine and leftovers. Very nice shower with big round spray head that I like. The breakfast was very nice, biscuits and gravy, pancake machine, scrambled eggs with turkey sausage or ham, fresh baked cinnamon rolls, coffee juice, etc. In the late afternoon around 6:30 there were fresh baked chocolate chip cookies in the lobby. Out room was above the outside pool that was full of kids so a little loud.

What really struck me was the plastic. We recycle and compost at home, they had neither. In the room there were plastic glasses wrapped in plastic, styrofoam cups wrapped in plastic, soap wrapped in plastic. The breakfast was plastic plates and plastic utensils and the fresh cinnamon rolls were in plastic. Everything was heaped into overflowing trash containers. People come to Glenwood Springs to enjoy the outdoors not trash the environment.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear "David B": Thank you so much for the detailed review of our hotel, we appreciate you taking your time to write the review! The breakfast is a very nice breakfast, a lot of good items to choose from. And, the cookies, ahh.. we are glad you enjoyed them, all of our guests love them! Thank you for the comments about the plastics, this is something we will have the appropriate management team address. And yes, the trash during our peak season is somewhat difficult to keep up on, but we will definitely take care of it! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, Usa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

While the hotel is in a great town and a nice location the hotel seems to be getting dirtier or more run down. The rooms are okay but there is nothing special about this hotel. Breakfast is served in a very small dinning area and is very limited, be wary of the "omletts". The pool is located outside so it is closed during the wrong times of year but if you are staying in Glenwood Springs then you are missing out if you don't go to the hot springs pool anyways.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear "Derek S": Yes, our hotel is definitely in a great location. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. Good news! - We are right now in the middle of some upgrades to the hotel - new carpet throughout the hotel and in the rooms, upgrades to the breakfast area, and upgrades to both the pool and the spa and the pool area. Our outdoor pool is open seasonal, usually opening around Memorial day (depending on our mountain weather). We sure appreciate you taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor - we hope with our changes you will choose to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Glenwood Springs several times over the last few years. Up to now, the motel has been a typical Holiday Inn Express motel - not fancy but acceptable for an overnight stay. This last time it was different. The room and the elevator looked as if it had not been cleaned for several days. The first room they assigned us did not have a made up bed at 6:00 PM.

I do not know if this was an aberration but we do not plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear "donaldsc": We appreciate you having stayed with us in the past, and appreciate your last visit as well. We'd like to apologize for your most recent stay. This was definitely out of the ordinary for our hotel. We are in the middle of making some big changes to improve the condition of our hotel, such as recarpeting all of the guest rooms, elevator, and public areas; as well as other major improvements. The cleanliness issues you encountered are already in the process of being addressed by our housekeeping manager. We are excited for our new changes, and we hope that you do change your mind and will visit us again! Thank you so much for your honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
80241
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stay in Glenwood about 3 times a year, and this place is just great for all your needs. Close walking proximity to Hot Springs,(about 15 minutes) restaurants, and Adventure Park Gondolas right in back of the hotel. Also, the walking bridge right behind the hotel, takes you to Two Rivers Park. There is a fantastic walking trail along the Colorado River to Roaring Fork River and great playground for the kids. Hotel has fantastic service. We stayed on Memorial Day weekend and the place was jammed full of people and kids for a soccer tournament. The staff was on top of every need, plenty of food at the free breakfast (and even has a push button pancake machine) and fresh baked cookies at 4p. The manager even went to the new doughnut shop in town and brought a bunch back for everyone one busy weekend morning at breakfast. The property was built in 1998 and still in great condition. At present time, they were installing new carpet on 2nd and 3rd floors. In fact, I always ask for a room on the top floor, and it had just gotten fresh carpet, what a treat. Great beds,nice pool area, great ventilation system in the rooms and you don't even hear the cars on I-70 Interstate right by the property. Stay on upper levels, floor 2 or 3 the back side of hotel so you can watch the trams go up the mountain.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor, (some 2nd floor, on south end) backside of hotel facing west have nice view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear "Janko": We so much appreciate your detailed review of our hotel, thank you! The donuts were a nice surprise to have for all of our guests. And, yes we are so excited about our new carpet! We are close to finishing the laying of the new carpet throughout all of our guest rooms as well as all of the public areas. The next time we see you, you will notice the lobby carpet, as it was not done yet when you were here. We really do thank you again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is within walking distance, I think, of the hot springs. Bonus for me is the Mexican food place on the way. This Holiday Inn is like most others. I like the beds, pillows, rooms, staff, breakfast, and hotel in general. We appreciated the parking, parked the motorcycles in front under the canopy and were given no trouble. The pool was closed, but looked nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear "Erin N": We are so glad you liked our hotel. Holiday Inns are pretty consistent, which makes guests really happy. Our hotel is definitely in a great central location, and we are also glad you enjoyed the Mexican Restaurant just down the street from us. We hope you will return soon - great place to ride motorcycles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent three nights there. The hotel is within walking distance to the Hot Springs Pool (10-15 minute) and close to shops and restaurants at downtown, Hotel offer free continental breakfast which is eggs, coffee, juices, sausage, bananas, muffins, pancakes, toast, and cinnamon roll. (In my opinion It will be good to add ham or bacon)
The rooms ( king bed ) are good sizes, with a nice size refrigerator, a micro wave also the hotel offers free WI-Fi. Sink is separate from the shower section. Prices for the hotels is the cheaper in the area. They have an excellent customer service. We have some problems one day but Manager was very helpful and resolve the problem.
The hotel is a good place to stay. I highly recommend that hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you RobDora for your feedback,

Thank you for staying with us, we will make sure to serve ham and bacon more regularly. Have a nice day and come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs

Address: 501 W. 1st St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenwood Springs (Aspen Area). Whether traveling on business or on pleasure, this Glenwood Springs Hotel is the perfect choice offering free Smart Hot Buffet Breakfast, free Complimentary Wireless High-Speed Internet and the best hotel value in the Glenwood Springs / Aspen area! Convenient location just four blocks from the famous Hot Springs Pool. Adjacent to the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, Glenwood Springs newest area attraction open year around . Conveniently located near Ski Sunlight Resort or enjoy Aspen / Snowmass Ski Resort just 40 minutes from the hotel. Many restaurants and entertainment venues within a few blocks of the hotel. Ask about our packages! Group room rates also available by calling the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs
Holiday Inn Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.